Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Login requirement changed

  1. #1
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts

    Login requirement changed

    Is it just me?

    For the last week or so I've had to login anew to the website every 2 or 3 days.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  2. #2
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,658
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 657 Times in 513 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Is it just me?

    For the last week or so I've had to login anew to the website every 2 or 3 days.
    So far not a problem for me.

    Are you deleting World of satellite.com cookies?
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  3. #3
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    Are you deleting World of satellite.com cookies?
    I haven't changed anything.
    Well, not strictly true, but if I were I'd expect to have to login every time, not just every 2/3 days.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  4. #4
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts
    When I look I see that I have a set of Personal Context cookies as well as Default Context.
    So I've deleted them.
    No idea what they are, but they expire in a few days - the Default ones live longer.
    (and they don't seem to come back when I shutdown/restart Firefox).
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  5. #5

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    684
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 237 Times in 164 Posts
    I find that after the mandatory password change, I need to fully logout and then log back in but then I remain logged in until the next password change. I'm using Firefox.

  6. #6
    bellejt's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,737
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 318 Times in 274 Posts
    same here and you can just use same password
    VU+ DUO2 quad tuner with HDD 1 TB + Latest Openvix and VU+ DUO2 FB tuner + Octagon SF8008 FB tuner
    Triax 88 cm rotor single LNB 30 E- 40 W
    1 Gibertini 1.00 m fixed - 3 quad LNB 19E-23.5E-28.2E

  7. #7
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lincsat View Post
    I find that after the mandatory password change, I need to fully logout and then log back in but then I remain logged in until the next password change. I'm using Firefox.
    Ah, yes. That sounds familiar now.
    Or I can just edit the cookie validity date and see what happens....
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  8. #8
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,658
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 657 Times in 513 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lincsat View Post
    I find that after the mandatory password change, I need to fully logout and then log back in but then I remain logged in until the next password change. I'm using Firefox.
    Exactly what I do, and I also just make my new password the same as the old password.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  9. #9
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts
    I'm now being asked to login every day.
    When I check the cookies being set they are set to expire just after they are set.
    I am checking the box to keep me logged in each time.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  10. #10
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    4,124
    Thanks
    1,279
    Thanked 1,126 Times in 888 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    I'm now being asked to login every day.
    When I check the cookies being set they are set to expire just after they are set.
    I am checking the box to keep me logged in each time.
    That's most odd. I'm using Firefox (on linux Mint) with the default strict tracking protection set. I have been logged in for weeks now without being prompted for a fresh login.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  11. #11
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    4,124
    Thanks
    1,279
    Thanked 1,126 Times in 888 Posts
    I checked the cookie expiration - other than the session cookies, the long term cookies expire in August 2024.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  12. #12
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,829
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 1,309 Posts
    FYI:

    It seems to be related to uMatrix blocking some domains.
    Although I hadn't changed anything and if it works when I reset my password, why does it forget the next day?

    Anyway, at least I know what to look for should it happen again.

    EDIT: I was wrong.
    All I actually need to do is reload the page!!!
    So possibly a timing issue somewhere?
    But not a Vix issue....
    Last edited by birdman; 07-05-24 at 03:12.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  13. #13
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    4,124
    Thanks
    1,279
    Thanked 1,126 Times in 888 Posts
    I use uBlock Origin on Firefox, but I have it disabled for my favourite website(s).
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.