Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Satellite tv without a dish!

    Hi Guys,
    Is it possible to watch satellite tv channels without satellite dish? Cheers

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,087
    Thanks
    651
    Thanked 268 Times in 252 Posts
    I would say yes with Iptv via internet.

  3. #3
    V.I.P satmanbasil's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SouthEast UK
    Posts
    883
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 275 Times in 197 Posts

    without a dish

    Quote Originally Posted by newtosat View Post
    Hi Guys,
    Is it possible to watch satellite tv channels without satellite dish? Cheers
    Hi mate

    Sky are moving in that direction not sure if they have completed setting up maybe worth a call,
    you can with sky q with the main box connected with dish have a second mini box connected via
    your network by wifi or ethernet cable which does not need the dish and sky have reported that
    in the near future they will be using the internet to feed channels the same way without the
    need for the dish

  4. #4
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,840
    Thanks
    622
    Thanked 1,589 Times in 1,230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satmanbasil View Post
    Hi mate

    Sky are moving in that direction not sure if they have completed setting up maybe worth a call,
    you can with sky q with the main box connected with dish have a second mini box connected via
    your network by wifi or ethernet cable which does not need the dish and sky have reported that
    in the near future they will be using the internet to feed channels the same way without the
    need for the dish
    Probably double the installation cost for this innovative feature!
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W)
    Edision Osmio 4K using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Octagon SF8008 DVB-S2X tuner using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K
    Zgemma H9Combo legacy ports on multiswitches
    Dinobot Mini 4K
    Multibox

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    dsayers (08-06-19)

  6. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,469
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 545 Times in 478 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Probably double the installation cost for this innovative feature!
    But still legal, I guess.

  7. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,049
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 316 Times in 254 Posts
    It would hardly be satellite TV without the satellite bit? IPTV maybe
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenViIX 5.2, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    Sony 40BX400 TV, Onkyo TX-SR607 Amp, Sony BDP-S3700 Bluray & an android box.

  8. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Cheers guys, i will look into Iptv and read about it.
    I've always thought sat dish is needed for sat tv channels till someone at work said he's watching sky and world tv without sat dish

  9. #8
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,087
    Thanks
    651
    Thanked 268 Times in 252 Posts
    Years ago when one had old boxes and sats on the wall outside boxes did not have lan so where fixed streams from line of sight.
    I would imagine latest iptv and android boxes gets their feeds from unknown sources all by lan cable.

  10. #9
    V.I.P satmanbasil's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SouthEast UK
    Posts
    883
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 275 Times in 197 Posts

    re no dish

    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Probably double the installation cost for this innovative feature!
    Hi m8

    Don't recall having to pay any installation cost for this being a sky customer but will say some cost involved in having
    the main sky q box and extra cost for the mini q box. As for saving sky will not have to spend time installing the dish
    just set up q box to the customers network, depending if a wired connection is required over wifi some cost could be
    incurred but basic plug n play so reducing cost

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.