Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Stutter and pixelation on recorded playback?

    Hi, can anybody please advise. When I play back a recording, every couple of minutes there is a flash of pixelation and the recording jumps forward a second or so. Not much to go on, I am not a techy, but here's hoping. Thanks in anticipation.

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2,710
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 567 Times in 487 Posts
    If you rewind the recording does it do it again in exactly the same place?
    If it does can you try a recording and change channels every 30 seconds or so, if anything else is connected to your lnb try changing channels on them as well.
    If you can then confirm that the channel changing matches the recording glitch, then you may have a cable short, probably up at the lnb, or even a faulty lnb.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K 3TB, 1x Twin DVBS-2 FBC / 1x DVB-C FBC/ 1x Twin DVB-T2.
    VU+ Solo4k 2TB, 2xFBC-S2, 2xC/T2, 1x Sundtek .
    1m Motorised Single LNB Dish, 60cm Fixed Octo LNB Dish.
    Samsung 65HU8500 with SEK-3500, Denon AVR-X2200W 5.1.2.
    Oppo UDP-203
    Panasonic 55VT50.
    Zidoo X9S
    Amazon Fire TV 4k & Amazon Fire TV (SPMC sideloaded).

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to DaMacFunkin For This Useful Post:

    TonyN (28-08-16)

  4. #3
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,839
    Thanks
    1,572
    Thanked 9,274 Times in 6,541 Posts
    And if the above test does tell you the issue is in the recording: does this only happen on encrypted services, or also on FTA?

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  5. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi, it is only on recording, all channels - even fta, it does not happen if I am watching Tv's live through the sat. Yes, it does it in exactly the same spot if I rewind and play again.

    Thanks

  6. #5
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,839
    Thanks
    1,572
    Thanked 9,274 Times in 6,541 Posts
    And you're recording to?? Internal/external HDD, USB-stick, NAS, other box?

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  7. #6
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob van der Does View Post
    And you're recording to?? Internal/external HDD, USB-stick, NAS, other box?
    Sorry, recording to internal HDD.

  8. #7
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,839
    Thanks
    1,572
    Thanked 9,274 Times in 6,541 Posts
    As there are no issues during live-TV, but picture disruptions on fixed times during playback, it looks like an issue with you HDD. Can you swap it with another one, to make sure?

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    TonyN (28-08-16)

  10. #8
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes, will ask my son he is an IT engineer, and report back.

    By the way, can you (is it a good idea to) format the HDD in a solo2?

    Thank you very much indeed.
    Last edited by TonyN; 28-08-16 at 15:48. Reason: Error

  11. #9
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,839
    Thanks
    1,572
    Thanked 9,274 Times in 6,541 Posts
    Yes, the HDD can be initialized (i.e. formatted) via the GUI of the box. If it has been done by another device, PC or so, it surely is a good idea to do so.

    PS: this can be difficult when the HDD is set to HDD (which it usually is). This can be overcome by connecting an USB-stick, set that (via the mountmanager) to HDD, and after the reboot you can initialise the 'real' HDD. Be carefull, as the USB-stick is now called HDD, so make sure you pick the right one.
    When all is done, don't forget to reset the HDD as HDD.....

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    TonyN (28-09-16)

  13. #10
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello.
    Can I resurrect this thread or should I start a new one? The OP has not said if his problem was cured.
    I have the same problem. It only happens 'sometimes'. I have been unable to pin it down. It happens on different channels at different times but usually when 3 or more recordings are being made at the same time. Only one recording is affected. I was suspecting one of the tuners.
    Could this be the case? Is there a way of identifying which tuner was used to record a programme?
    My machine is a Vu+ Uno 4K. Image5.0.025 with 8 tuners and an external hard drive.

  14. #11
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,524
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 568 Times in 494 Posts
    Go into the timers list (green button). Scroll down and highlight a completed timer, press info, and it will tell you which tuner was used.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    wozles (23-07-19)

  16. #12
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks ccs.
    I did this and got to the bit where I press info (I see the grey 'button' above blue 'Cleanup' ) BUT I have no 'info' button on my remote.
    I tried 'OK' but only got programme info.
    Any other route?

  17. #13
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I discovered that holding EPG button acts as 'info' but it does not display any tuner info.
    I'm abandoning this problem, I'll just live with it. Thanks to all.

  18. #14
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,524
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 568 Times in 494 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wozles View Post
    Thanks ccs.
    I did this and got to the bit where I press info (I see the grey 'button' above blue 'Cleanup' ) BUT I have no 'info' button on my remote.
    I tried 'OK' but only got programme info.
    Any other route?
    To whom it may concern :- The yellow button isn't being used in "timer list", maybe it could be added with "info" as its function?

  19. #15
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,158
    Thanks
    714
    Thanked 286 Times in 266 Posts
    Is your external hdd a passport or powered externally.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.