Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scanning

  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Scanning

    Hi

    I have just put the latest vix image on my Technomate 3T. version 4 1 016

    but when I try to Automatic scan the box comes up with the vix logo in corner and crashes I have tried 3 different images but I get the same result even after a factory reset.
    can anyone give me any help to get past this please.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    6,744
    Thanks
    2,144
    Thanked 1,946 Times in 1,596 Posts
    Why are you doing an automatic scan? ViX ABM will be suffice for any user. Also how do you have your tuners configured?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andy_Hazza For This Useful Post:

    Pad578 (31-07-16)

  4. #3
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tuners are configuered to Astra 28.2 E and signal is good

    I have just updated the vix ABM I just always used to scan as well.
    Just wandering if my box was on the blink or I had forgotten how to set up as its been a while.

  5. #4
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Larry-G's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,545
    Thanks
    7,822
    Thanked 22,898 Times in 12,376 Posts
    Well no one will ever know what's causing the crashes unless you actually upload a crash log or debug log from these events.

    Plus as Andy stated the whole point of ABM is so that you don't ever need to spend 45 minutes doing a manual scan any more.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  6. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    533
    Thanks
    2,093
    Thanked 113 Times in 103 Posts
    I used to find on my 8000 that ABM never brought in channel name changes sometimes unless I did a manual scan first. Hopefully the 8500 will be different.

  7. #6
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Larry-G's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,545
    Thanks
    7,822
    Thanked 22,898 Times in 12,376 Posts
    I have used ABM since the very beginning and it has always pulled In channel names on all of my 9 receivers from 4 manufacturers including xtrend.

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Larry-G For This Useful Post:

    Bangord30 (05-08-16)

  9. #7
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,511
    Thanks
    5,051
    Thanked 7,696 Times in 5,163 Posts
    To begin with, ABM used to rewrite lamedb file on all occasions. As part of the speeding up mods, it only writes what has changed. Unfortunately, the side effect is that the weekend renames as well as test channels making their way onto official lineups, do not get added on an ABM run.

    Background scanning brings the changes in. However, some people with cable setups disable this to avoid unviiewable channels.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Bangord30 (05-08-16)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.