Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Where is the softcam script?

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Where is the softcam script?

    Am using build 2.1 and can't update to later images for various reasons.

    I've struck the autostart problem for Mgcamd on my own box. However it works fine on other boxes using 2.1.

    If I change the "enable auto timer check" to every minute then Mgcamd will actually start after 1 minute. However it just won't start by itself straightaway on reboot.

    My question is, there must be a script somewhere. Can someone please advise where it is so that I can copy it over from a working box?

  2. #2

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    9,697
    Thanks
    1,039
    Thanked 4,385 Times in 2,257 Posts
    When you first start script runner a folder will appear in usr/scripts

    Add yr .sh files there


    Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk
    PM HELP WILL BE IGNORED PLEASE POST HERE IN FORUM AS IT BENEFITS EVERYONE
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN! IN OPEN FORUM OR PM


    IF THE POSTS HELP PLEASE CLICK THANKS OR ADD TO REP ↓

  3. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hmmm....nothing in there except for my sundtek.sh files.

    Have logged into working boxes using 2.1 without any sundtek devices and the is no usr/scripts folder at all.

  4. #4
    stick50jr's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    704
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 270 Times in 197 Posts
    I'm not currently running Vix... however, I ran it for quite a while and I'm pretty sure that there are no cam scripts. From memory, you put the binaries in /usr/softcam and these files are discovered by a python routine for selecting, restarting etc. So you have a choice of using the script facility to run a cam script or alternatively, get the source of the python routine (as Vix is open source) and adapt the routine to your requirements.

    Good luck

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to stick50jr For This Useful Post:

    ryadax (25-02-12)

  6. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Berkshire England. 51.4N, 0.9W
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    109
    Thanked 24 Times in 17 Posts
    ======= Deleted Message ========
    Zgemma H7S, Fixed 28.2E dish, Freeview (Hannington). ABM Providers: [Sky UK; Thames Valley SD Custom; HD swap], [Freeview (UK); Berks and North Hants]

  7. #6
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    23,412
    Thanks
    6,460
    Thanked 9,172 Times in 6,246 Posts
    12 year old thread, at least someone searches I take you it you have found it.

    For anybody else looking, "Softrcam Manager" and "softcam script" have been moved into "softcam management"

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.