Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Manually Creating a Swapfile

  1. #1
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,791 Times in 1,951 Posts

    Manually Creating a Swapfile

    I've seen a few people asking how to create a swap file for pli image, vti image etc... Have already posted these instructions somewhere on the forum, but putting them in a new thread to hopefully make it easier for people to fine

    Anyway, this is what you should do (worked for me).

    First off, telnet in to the box using your favourite telnet programme.

    Then, type the following command (after count, enter the size of file you want. In example below, it is a 128mb swap - 1024 x 128 = 131072):

    Code:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/usb/swapfile bs=1024 count=131072
    Then, set up a linux swap area:

    Code:
    mkswap /media/usb/swapfile
    Now, to activate the swap space immediately, type:

    Code:
    swapon /media/usb/swapfile
    Now, activate the swap file to load when the vu duo loads, we need to edit the fstab file. To do this, type the following command to edit the fstab file:

    Code:
    vi /etc/fstab
    Add the following line to the file:

    Code:
    /media/usb/swapfile  swap                 swap       defaults              0 0
    Now, when the box restarts, the swap file should automatically be enabled...

    To verify that it has worked correctly, type the following command in a telnet session:

    Code:
    free
    This should give you some information similar to below:

    Code:
                  total         used         free       shared      buffers
      Mem:       140848       135964         4884            0          564
     Swap:       131064         1848       129216
    Total:       271912       137812       134100

  2. The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to pooface For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    bugaloo41 (13-04-13),cmsdloma (23-03-22),dave_uk (27-09-15),DrProzac (19-07-10),Messi (07-11-10),rolexru (19-07-10),Sicilian (18-07-10),skratch (11-10-13),SLOTH (18-07-10),ToMaJo (03-02-12)

  3. #2
    SLOTH's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 74 Times in 58 Posts
    Thanks Pooface ...i,ll give that a go when i get a minute !
    Cheers
    Sloth

  4. #3
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,651
    Thanks
    23,587
    Thanked 26,054 Times in 7,638 Posts
    Good post pooface, made it a sticky
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Please help keep OpenViX online, donate HERE.
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, VU+ DUO 4K SE, ZGEMMA H7S, VU+ UNO 4K SE
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish with GT-SAT Unicable





  5. #4

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    what is the benefit of using Swapfile? why to use it?

  6. #5
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,791 Times in 1,951 Posts
    Basically, it gives your system more memory to cache things to, and should help to stop any problems you may get... Here's the wikipedia information on in:

    Code:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_swapping

  7. #6
    andyblac's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    12,699
    Thanks
    2,607
    Thanked 11,096 Times in 4,733 Posts
    type:

    free

    in a telnet session, and it will give you the amount of swap / physical memory used and free.

    after you have step up a swap test to see if you are using it, if not than don't bother with one it will only hinder the system.

    Andy,

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andyblac For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (19-07-10)

  9. #7
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands & France
    Posts
    36,262
    Thanks
    1,720
    Thanked 9,461 Times in 6,675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pooface View Post
    Basically, it gives your system more memory to cache things to, and should help to stop any problems you may get...
    Hmmmmm, let's ask the same question in other words: why should the VU need more memory? I think it has plenty and therefore doesn't need a slow swapfile.

  10. #8
    andyblac's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    12,699
    Thanks
    2,607
    Thanked 11,096 Times in 4,733 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VUplus NL View Post
    Hmmmmm, let's ask the same question in other words: why should the VU need more memory? I think it has plenty and therefore doesn't need a slow swapfile.
    all depends on how many plugin's, cam's, etc, etc, your using

    as i said type free, to see what memory is available.

    andy

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to andyblac For This Useful Post:

    skeggylad (24-09-16)

  12. #9
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,791 Times in 1,951 Posts
    As an example, let's show you what mine currently says:

    Code:
                  total         used         free       shared      buffers
      Mem:       140848       118636         22212            0          552
     Swap:       131064       32992          98072
    Total:       271912       151628         120284
    This alternates with the amount of free space on the vu being lower and amount of free space on the swap being higher, depending on the processes being run etc...

  13. #10
    Ojustaboo
    Out of interest, what does the size of the buffers mean

    for me I have

    Code:
                  total         used          free       shared      buffers
      Mem:       141448       1383526         3096            0         9764
     Swap:       131064       2852            128212
    Total:       272512       141204          131308

  14. #11
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands & France
    Posts
    36,262
    Thanks
    1,720
    Thanked 9,461 Times in 6,675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by andyblac View Post
    all depends on how many plugin's, cam's, etc, etc, your using
    You will need to use an incredible amount of pluguns to suffer from memory shortage.......
    I don't think the VU will ever need a swapfile.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (21-07-10)

  16. #12
    pooface's Avatar
    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9,731
    Thanks
    1,904
    Thanked 4,791 Times in 1,951 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VUplus NL View Post
    You will need to use an incredible amount of pluguns to suffer from memory shortage.......
    I don't think the VU will ever need a swapfile.
    I beg to differ there mate, sorry... Did you see my usage in my post earlier ... Plus, when I checked it last night, there was even more used! Don't have many plugins installed at all. Am using the vti image. I installed the movie cut, movie tag, move retitle, apache/php server and possibly a few others. Wouldn't call this a lot of plugins.

    Where the need for swap is required, is the amount of memory asked for by the plugins etc. So, although you're probably only using 1 plugin, if that plugin is quite memory hungry, then you will find that you need a swap file...

  17. #13
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands & France
    Posts
    36,262
    Thanks
    1,720
    Thanked 9,461 Times in 6,675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pooface View Post
    I beg to differ there mate, sorry... Did you see my usage in my post earlier ... Plus, when I checked it last night, there was even more used! Don't have many plugins installed at all. Am using the vti image. I installed the movie cut, movie tag, move retitle, apache/php server and possibly a few others. Wouldn't call this a lot of plugins.

    Where the need for swap is required, is the amount of memory asked for by the plugins etc. So, although you're probably only using 1 plugin, if that plugin is quite memory hungry, then you will find that you need a swap file...
    I run the VU with 26 plugins and a lot of Picons: there is always plenty of free memory (without using a swapfile) and never any problem (using PLi).

    BTW: there is only one way to see the free memory properly, and that is: " cat /proc/meminfo" , and then (MemTotal minus MemFree minus Buffers minus Cached) = Free Memory
    Last edited by Rob van der Does; 21-07-10 at 16:43. Reason: Addition

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (21-07-10)

  19. #14
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,651
    Thanks
    23,587
    Thanked 26,054 Times in 7,638 Posts
    Not quite sure how to explain this, but isn't it a case that the more memory a linux system has installed the more it will use to optimise performance, i.e. create a large cache. Better explanation here
    Code:
    http://thelinuxnewbie.blogspot.com/2006/08/linux-uses-too-much-memory-very-basic.html
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Please help keep OpenViX online, donate HERE.
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, VU+ DUO 4K SE, ZGEMMA H7S, VU+ UNO 4K SE
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish with GT-SAT Unicable





  20. #15
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands & France
    Posts
    36,262
    Thanks
    1,720
    Thanked 9,461 Times in 6,675 Posts
    People tend to get upset by marks: if the idea is to have a fast and faultless working system, judge it by the result, not by benchmarks. Is there any body who has solved any problem or got a faster and more reliable VU+ DUO by using a swapfile? I sincerely doubt that.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.