Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

Thread: buying advice on a new satellite receiver

Title
    Thanks

buying advice on a new satellite receiver

Hello Everyone,

After spending hours reading the advice on here it is my turn to ask for advice/guidance on some satellite boxes.

I dont want to spend more than £200 really, want a really good picture to go with my plasma tv and like the idea of linux although i have no programming experience in this but sure I can pick it up ok. i dont have a terrestrial ariel and so everything comes through a dish

i have tried 2 dreambox 800s (clones) and both were faulty and had to be returned so i have lost confidence in them.

The 2 receivers that stand out are the Qbox mini hd and icecrypt s4000. i have looked at technomate tm 800 that appears to be very good but the software support may be too limited. I also like comments that i have seen about the blade bm 7000, although this is not a linux box but cheaper that the others.

would appreciate some comments and guidance on this to help me make a decision

Title
    Junior Admin
    Donated Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,599 Times in 2,632 Posts
    Qbox is not a "opensource" linux like the Et or VU boxes and image support is not as wide on the plus its a cheap twin tuner.

My personal preference is to get a box that is supported by many teams that way you always have a fallback. I would steer clear of the TM800.

My recommendation would be to find the extra £30 and get the ET5000 for your price point, pick up a cheap WIN NOVA T from fleabay and you have a twin tuner albeit one of which is not HD but for than you have a truly versatile box that you can customise to your hears desire.