Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: Subtitles Problem

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
6.4.005.007 (Developer)
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Attachments
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 45

Thread: Subtitles Problem

  1. #1
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts

    Subtitles Problem

    I've had this issue for a long while but only just got round to trying to find out what the problem is.

    If I play a downloaded mkv file with subtitles, I have to toggle subtitles on, then off, then on again before they start working.
    It doesn't make any difference if the subtitles are embedded or an external srt, it's still the same.

    If I use ServiceExtEplayer3 (serviceapp) then everything works as expected, it's only on the default player.

    As an experiment I installed ATV 7.3 on a spare partition and removed the enhanced Movie Player to use the default player and subtitles also displayed as expected.

    It's not just one file, it is the same on any download with subtitles.
    I like to know what the Americans are saying, as they all seem to mutter.

    Enigma2_debug_2023-09-03_19-31-44.log
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  2. #2
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,769
    Thanks
    2,028
    Thanked 5,044 Times in 3,321 Posts
    Can you check on pli?
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  3. #3
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    I can give it a go tomorrow if they do an image for the ax61.
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Willo3092 For This Useful Post:

    Huevos (03-09-23)

  5. #4
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    I can give it a go tomorrow if they do an image for the ax61.
    Can you post your audio settings and maybe a mkv so that we can test?
    My biggest issue is normally turning sub titles off……
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  6. #5
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    Unfortunately, there is no Pli image for my AX61.

    To negate my settings, I have flashed ViX 6.4.005.007 without restoring settings.
    All I have changed is, installed samba, setup mounts to access my NAS movies and allocated the yellow button to subtitle selection.

    I have also copied the mkv to /media/hdd/movie/ to negate the NAS.

    Still the same problem. I have to toggle subtitles on, off and back on again before they will display.
    This is on both, embedded and external srt files.

    It's not a new problem, this has been happening for at least a year.
    I think the mkv files would be too big to upload, and probably in breach of copyright.
    I don't seem to be able to take a small clip from the mkv and retain the subtitles for some reason.

    Enigma2_debug_2023-09-04_13-01-12.log
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  7. #6
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    Unfortunately, there is no Pli image for my AX61.

    To negate my settings, I have flashed ViX 6.4.005.007 without restoring settings.
    All I have changed is, installed samba, setup mounts to access my NAS movies and allocated the yellow button to subtitle selection.

    I have also copied the mkv to /media/hdd/movie/ to negate the NAS.

    Still the same problem. I have to toggle subtitles on, off and back on again before they will display.
    This is on both, embedded and external srt files.

    It's not a new problem, this has been happening for at least a year.
    I think the mkv files would be too big to upload, and probably in breach of copyright.
    I don't seem to be able to take a small clip from the mkv and retain the subtitles for some reason.

    Enigma2_debug_2023-09-04_13-01-12.log
    how do you toggle the sub title setting?
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  8. #7
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    how do you toggle the sub title setting?
    I just press the yellow button to bring up the subtitle selection box and press OK on the required subtitle.

    EDIT:

    I just changed the yellow button to 'toggle default subtitles' and it just freezes playback.
    Is it only for live TV?
    Last edited by Willo3092; 04-09-23 at 16:35.
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  9. #8
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    I just press the yellow button to bring up the subtitle selection box and press OK on the required subtitle.

    EDIT:

    I just changed the yellow button to 'toggle default subtitles' and it just freezes playback.
    Is it only for live TV?
    I am assuming this is on all your boxes?
    Not sure why you are using Yellow button - obviously set by you ?
    So what happens when you push the subtitles button or audio and sub title top of list?? Or don't you see anything listed?
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  10. #9
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    Sorry I've been at work. All my remotes are 3rd party all4one 6440's without a subtitle button.
    I've always used a button programmed to show the 'subtitle selection' screen.
    Just choose a subtitle and press OK and subtitles used to play. (a little x appears next to the selected subtitle).

    If I change the button allocation to 'toggle default subtitle' I get a message box saying 'subtitles on' but no subtitles show.
    If I then toggle off and then back on again it works and I get subtitles.

    I've now dug out the original remote and it's still the same using that.
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  11. #10
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    Sorry I've been at work. All my remotes are 3rd party all4one 6440's without a subtitle button.
    I've always used a button programmed to show the 'subtitle selection' screen.
    Just choose a subtitle and press OK and subtitles used to play. (a little x appears next to the selected subtitle).

    If I change the button allocation to 'toggle default subtitle' I get a message box saying 'subtitles on' but no subtitles show.
    If I then toggle off and then back on again it works and I get subtitles.

    I've now dug out the original remote and it's still the same using that.
    So are we talking Vu+ or ?.
    I need to play around as usually I am turning them off and that works fine…..
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  12. #11
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    It's an AX61 but the same on GBUE4K, Zgemma H9 Twin and SF8008.
    It's not sat broadcasts, just playing downloaded media, usually .mkv with either embedded or external srt subtitles.
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  13. #12
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    It's an AX61 but the same on GBUE4K, Zgemma H9 Twin and SF8008.
    It's not sat broadcasts, just playing downloaded media, usually .mkv with either embedded or external srt subtitles.
    Will try on a few boxes with ,mkv,s
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  14. #13
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    I've been experimenting, and it's the same with mp4 files and srt subtitles, using the AX61 remote.

    First press of subtitle button brings up the subtitle selection box.

    Press OK on selected subtitle and the subtitle selection box closes but no subtitles displaying.

    Press subtitle button again and the subtitle selection box opens and there is an x next to the srt file to show it is the active subtitle.

    Select the srt file and press OK to clear the selection and the subtitle selection box closes.

    Press the subtitle button again and the subtitle selection box opens.

    Press OK on the selected subtitle srt file and the subtitle selection box closes and subtitles finally start working.

    I can't remember how long ago it was since this started happening but it may have been as long ago as when ViX moved to py3.

    Enigma2_debug_2023-09-06_21-48-25.log
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  15. #14
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,488
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,922 Times in 2,270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    I've been experimenting, and it's the same with mp4 files and srt subtitles, using the AX61 remote.

    First press of subtitle button brings up the subtitle selection box.

    Press OK on selected subtitle and the subtitle selection box closes but no subtitles displaying.

    Press subtitle button again and the subtitle selection box opens and there is an x next to the srt file to show it is the active subtitle.

    Select the srt file and press OK to clear the selection and the subtitle selection box closes.

    Press the subtitle button again and the subtitle selection box opens.

    Press OK on the selected subtitle srt file and the subtitle selection box closes and subtitles finally start working.

    I can't remember how long ago it was since this started happening but it may have been as long ago as when ViX moved to py3.

    Enigma2_debug_2023-09-06_21-48-25.log
    went through my movies (English, USA, German) yesterday, and none of them had sub titles I could test on --- I guess I stripped most of them out at the time:
    So I really would like a test file if at all possible ...... this area of code has been changed numerous times since py3. You can PM a download link if that helps
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  16. #15
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    1,103
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 405 Times in 305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    went through my movies (English, USA, German) yesterday, and none of them had sub titles I could test on --- I guess I stripped most of them out at the time:
    So I really would like a test file if at all possible ...... this area of code has been changed numerous times since py3. You can PM a download link if that helps
    Will do I'm at work at the moment.
    Willo
    #######################
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno 4K SE
    Edision OS Mio 4K
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Vu+ Solo 4K
    Vu+ Uno 4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.