Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: solo 4k problems recording??

  1. #1
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    solo 4k problems recording??

    can anyone shed some light onto this?? the last time it happened it completly crashed my box .i am assuming it is refering to the hard drive? yet it has been working fine after changing it for another after the last one kicked up this same problem this is the second hard drive .this one came out of another solo2 box and had no problems at all with it. any reason ??
    i have to say both of these drives worked very well in my solo 2 boxes.is there something different about the way solo 4k uses them?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by radicaldoc; 22-08-23 at 06:01.

  2. #2
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,483
    Thanks
    1,000
    Thanked 2,918 Times in 2,268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by radicaldoc View Post
    can anyone shed some light onto this?? the last time it happened it completly crashed my box .i am assuming it is refering to the hard drive? yet it has been working fine after changing it for another after the last one kicked up this same problem this is the second hard drive .this one came out of another solo2 box and had no problems at all with it. any reason ??
    i have to say both of these drives worked very well in my solo 2 boxes.is there something different about the way solo 4k uses them?
    So is the disk format ext4? If you took it from a solo2 its quite possible its from a time that fat32 was not blocked or do you have other disks attached?
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (22-08-23)

  4. #3
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    i assumed that the format would be the same especially as it's worked fine for quite a while.. i am thinking of putting a 480gb ssd drive in it. do you think that would be ok??
    Last edited by radicaldoc; 22-08-23 at 06:19.

  5. #4
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,483
    Thanks
    1,000
    Thanked 2,918 Times in 2,268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by radicaldoc View Post
    i assumed that the format would be the same especially as it's worked fine for quite a while.. i am thinking of putting a 480gb ssd drive in it. do you think that would be ok??
    You don,t need the ssd speed and over time performance might degrade, but pricewise less of an issue nowadays.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (22-08-23)

  7. #5
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    You don,t need the ssd speed and over time performance might degrade, but pricewise less of an issue nowadays.
    they are very chaep now 480gb sandisk 26€

  8. #6
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,483
    Thanks
    1,000
    Thanked 2,918 Times in 2,268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by radicaldoc View Post
    they are very chaep now 480gb sandisk 26€
    make sure you format ext4
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (22-08-23)

  10. #7
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    make sure you format ext4
    LOL yep..hopefully cure my problem..

  11. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
    I bought this on Amazon Fikwot FS810 1TB 2.5 Inch Internal Solid State Drive - SATA III 6Gb/s, 3D £34 delivered, And just format on PC to fat 32, and then format again in Sat receiver, and so far there has been no problems.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Alec For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (22-08-23)

  13. #9
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    how do i format the ssd drive in my solo 4k with vix??

  14. #10
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    sorted i formated on pc first then on box

  15. #11
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    OK well pi**ED WITH THIS SOLO 4K NOW ......
    after having the origional problem with hard drive i bought an new ssd drive formated to proper format.all good for over week everything working and BANG exactly the same problem this appeared again.. i have no idea what is happening now at all anyone else have any ideas????

    It also seems to knock my 27.5w satback on the head as well???.. 28.2 e still working
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by radicaldoc; 27-08-23 at 11:20.

  16. #12
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,483
    Thanks
    1,000
    Thanked 2,918 Times in 2,268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by radicaldoc View Post
    OK well pi**ED WITH THIS SOLO 4K NOW ......
    after having the origional problem with hard drive i bought an new ssd drive formated to proper format.all good for over week everything working and BANG exactly the same problem this appeared again.. i have no idea what is happening now at all anyone else have any ideas????

    It also seems to knock my 27.5w satback on the head as well???.. 28.2 e still working
    So press blue button, vix, Mountmanager …what do you have in there and what is marked as HDD. Then check the format.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (27-08-23)

  18. #13
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    So press blue button, vix, Mountmanager …what do you have in there and what is marked as HDD. Then check the format.
    no all looks good to me
    Attached Images Attached Images

  19. #14
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,483
    Thanks
    1,000
    Thanked 2,918 Times in 2,268 Posts
    Whats in menu/setup/recordings, playback&timeshift, timeshift. … location
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    radicaldoc (27-08-23)

  21. #15
    radicaldoc's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Whats in menu/setup/recordings, playback×hift, timeshift. … location
    looks ok doesn't it??
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.