Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 317

Thread: OpenViX 6.4 Released! Support/discussion thread

  1. #1
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,777
    Thanks
    2,028
    Thanked 5,046 Times in 3,322 Posts

    OpenViX 6.4 Released! Support/discussion thread

    Thread for questions about the new OpenViX version 6.4.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    AL.B (19-06-23),BrianG61UK (18-06-23),cactikid (18-06-23),khan888 (19-06-23)

  3. #2
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,669
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 662 Times in 517 Posts
    I've updated my Xtend 10K to V6.4 with no problems encountered

    The same cannot be said for my Zgemma H9S
    Before upgrading I backed up both the settings and the 6.3.007 image to a usb stick plugged into the back of the HS9 using the backup manager and image manager respectively.
    I then downloaded V6.4 and upgraded

    I got no option to restore settings or plugins.
    On further investigation the USB stick is not mounted, nor will it mount with the mount manager. This is probably the reason I can no longer restore settings.

    Unfortunately due to other commitments I 'll have to leave it in this state for a few days until I can have a play and set-up everything from scratch again. A five minute task has yet again turned into something much longer
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  4. #3
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,777
    Thanks
    2,028
    Thanked 5,046 Times in 3,322 Posts
    Sounds like the USB device is faulty.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  5. #4
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,669
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 662 Times in 517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    Sounds like the USB device is faulty.
    Maybe, but it's a 128GB USB stick that's been permanently plugged in to this box since purchase. The box is used as a basic satellite receiver in a bedroom and not used for any recordings or timeshift. The box does not have any other USB device attached and prior to the upgrade the USB stick was fully working holding picons, epg data, a settings backup, image backup and was used as the download location for the 6.4 upgrade file prior to "flashing".
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  6. #5
    CRMS's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
    I read in the update "Some plugins may not be currently compatible with Python 3 or the OE-A 5.3 core".

    The plugins I use are working fine with 6.3/3.10/5.2 versions. Startup to Standby, Crossepg, Movie Organisor and I've just installed VPS.

  7. #6
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,777
    Thanks
    2,028
    Thanked 5,046 Times in 3,322 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CRMS View Post
    I read in the update "Some plugins may not be currently compatible with Python 3 or the OE-A 5.3 core".

    The plugins I use are working fine with 6.3/3.10/5.2 versions. Startup to Standby, Crossepg, Movie Organisor and I've just installed VPS.
    That is referring to the transition from Python 2 to Python 3. Some plugins (fewer these days) are still Python 2. I have added the following to the release details: "If your plugins worked in any previous OpenViX 6.x series image they should be fine in this version".
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  8. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I too took the bait of a quick update before going to bed last night! Unfortunately, having lost an HDD previously I make my backups and recordings on a synology NAS. I keep Timeshift on an hdd so I use both types of storage. Of course after the flash, the nas is no longer accessible and after hours of trying I cannot convince Backups to search the nas instead of the local hdd. Nas is mounted but I cannot associate any shares with media/hdd. I remember this was not obvious to do when I originally set up the nas. Local hdd is mounted too (media/usb). Suggestions welcome...
    Linux Enigma2 Vu+ Duo4K-SE with DVB FBC-S/S2/T/T2 fed by Universal (Hybrid) lnb (Astra 28.2E) & French TNT (Terrestrial) Aerial
    Denon AVR-2700H-DAB Receiver and Sony 4K Bravia A8 TV & Linn Sara 9/KEF Q550/T110 Spkrs - Backup: Humax PVR-1100S

  9. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JerryK132 View Post
    I too took the bait of a quick update before going to bed last night! Unfortunately, having lost an HDD previously I make my backups and recordings on a synology NAS. I keep Timeshift on an hdd so I use both types of storage. Of course after the flash, the nas is no longer accessible and after hours of trying I cannot convince Backups to search the nas instead of the local hdd. Nas is mounted but I cannot associate any shares with media/hdd. I remember this was not obvious to do when I originally set up the nas. Local hdd is mounted too (media/usb). Suggestions welcome...
    I copied my backup from Synology to a usb and restored from that without issue

    Sent from my SM-S916B using Tapatalk

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to goRt For This Useful Post:

    JerryK132 (19-06-23)

  11. #9

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 54 Times in 44 Posts

    Image manager timeout

    With my VU+ Solo2 I tried to flash from 6.3.003 to 6.4.001 using the image manager.
    Every step to enter took ages (I have no other boxes on the network). When I was finally there and the flash started it had a timeout on backing up my plugins. In a way it continued to flash and rebooted. However it is still the old image and in the image manager I don't see the new one. I attach the debug log.

    Do I have to do it the old way using the USB stick?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    VU+ Solo2
    USB 32GB used as HDD
    Diseq 13.0E 19.0E

  12. #10
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,496
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,925 Times in 2,272 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nekrub2 View Post
    With my VU+ Solo2 I tried to flash from 6.3.003 to 6.4.001 using the image manager.
    Every step to enter took ages (I have no other boxes on the network). When I was finally there and the flash started it had a timeout on backing up my plugins. In a way it continued to flash and rebooted. However it is still the old image and in the image manager I don't see the new one. I attach the debug log.

    Do I have to do it the old way using the USB stick?
    I am sure its the extensive search because you have NAS boxes attached... in ImageManager, Menu change "Extensive search" to No.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  13. #11

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 54 Times in 44 Posts

    Cannot find "Extensive search"

    Hi Twol

    Cannot find your suggested caption. this is what I get

    Automatic settings backup
    Backup location
    Backup prefix
    Scheduled backups
    Max image backups to keep
    Login as an OpenVix developer
    Homebuild URL
    Attached Images Attached Images
    VU+ Solo2
    USB 32GB used as HDD
    Diseq 13.0E 19.0E

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to nekrub2 For This Useful Post:

    tageek120 (19-11-23)

  15. #12
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,496
    Thanks
    1,001
    Thanked 2,925 Times in 2,272 Posts
    Must be after your current release
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> GT-Sat unicable LNB to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Gigablue unicable LNB to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................
    Vu+ Uno4KSE, Dreambox dm900
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using unicable ports
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  16. #13

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 54 Times in 44 Posts
    So I'll try it the old way, using USB. Before I do a backup of the settings using backup manager.
    VU+ Solo2
    USB 32GB used as HDD
    Diseq 13.0E 19.0E

  17. #14

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
    For Info, I've just updated from 6.3.007 to 6.4.001 on a Vu Uno4Kse, most settings and plugins were imported following reboot, apart from VPNManager & the Network Password, simply input Pword in Network settings connected to box and installed VPNManager via Putty, all now seems ok.

  18. #15

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by goRt View Post
    I copied my backup from Synology to a usb and restored from that without issue

    Sent from my SM-S916B using Tapatalk
    Thanks GoRt!. What a good idea! Why didn't I think of that? I found an old external usb drive, plugged it into the nas, copied the last couple of backups via the nas and then plugged the drive into my stb. It found the backups and I loaded one. I answered all the questions about plugins, etc. Great relief when my favourite channel appeared after a restart!

    But when I pressed EPG or menu, etc, the picture shrinks normally to the top left of the screen but the EPG/menu area are completely blank! Luckily I can still just about use the menu via the built-in mini-screen on the VU+ stb... Not sure how to proceed. Could reload the backup now that it's visible again? Or is it a plugin/python problem?
    Linux Enigma2 Vu+ Duo4K-SE with DVB FBC-S/S2/T/T2 fed by Universal (Hybrid) lnb (Astra 28.2E) & French TNT (Terrestrial) Aerial
    Denon AVR-2700H-DAB Receiver and Sony 4K Bravia A8 TV & Linn Sara 9/KEF Q550/T110 Spkrs - Backup: Humax PVR-1100S

Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.