Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: Image Manager extremely slow - is there something wrong

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
6.3.001
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Attachments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Image Manager extremely slow - is there something wrong

  1. #1

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts

    Image Manager extremely slow - is there something wrong

    Dear all
    I just tried to download the latest image and noticed a very strange behavior of the image manager. I already started when clicking on image manager. The circle started spinning and it went nearly one minute to open. Inside the spinning went on and I suspect something does not play.
    So I looked into the debug log which I will attach. Here are some lines with an error statement.

    21:27:32.2512 [InputDevice] Found: evdev='event0', name='dreambox advanced remote control (native)', type='remote'
    21:27:32.2538 [InputDevice] Error: evdev='mice' getInputDevices <ERROR: ioctl(EVIOCGNAME): '[Errno 25] Inappropriate ioctl for device'>
    21:27:32.2647 [InputDevice] Error: evdev='mouse0' getInputDevices <ERROR: ioctl(EVIOCGNAME): '[Errno 25] Inappropriate ioctl for device'>

    21:29:57.5436 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Break) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:29:57.5451 [eDVBPESReader] ERROR reading PES (fd=27): Function not implemented
    21:30:01.5647 [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!
    21:30:40.0372 [eInputDeviceInit] 1 6c (108) 1
    21:30:40.0379 [eRCDeviceInputDev] emit: 1
    21:30:40.0390 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Make) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:30:40.0394 [ActionMap] Keymap 'DirectionActions' -> Action = 'down'.
    21:30:40.0400 [eInputDeviceInit] 0 6c (108) 1
    21:30:40.0401 [eRCDeviceInputDev] emit: 0
    21:30:40.0410 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Break) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:30:40.0416 [eDVBPESReader] ERROR reading PES (fd=27): Function not implemented
    21:30:44.1245 [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!

    Do you have a clue what is going on when trying to upgrade?
    nekrub2
    Attached Files Attached Files
    VU+ Solo2
    USB 32GB used as HDD
    Diseq 13.0E 19.0E

  2. #2
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,934
    Thanks
    948
    Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,113 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nekrub2 View Post
    Dear all
    I just tried to download the latest image and noticed a very strange behavior of the image manager. I already started when clicking on image manager. The circle started spinning and it went nearly one minute to open. Inside the spinning went on and I suspect something does not play.
    So I looked into the debug log which I will attach. Here are some lines with an error statement.

    21:27:32.2512 [InputDevice] Found: evdev='event0', name='dreambox advanced remote control (native)', type='remote'
    21:27:32.2538 [InputDevice] Error: evdev='mice' getInputDevices <ERROR: ioctl(EVIOCGNAME): '[Errno 25] Inappropriate ioctl for device'>
    21:27:32.2647 [InputDevice] Error: evdev='mouse0' getInputDevices <ERROR: ioctl(EVIOCGNAME): '[Errno 25] Inappropriate ioctl for device'>

    21:29:57.5436 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Break) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:29:57.5451 [eDVBPESReader] ERROR reading PES (fd=27): Function not implemented
    21:30:01.5647 [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!
    21:30:40.0372 [eInputDeviceInit] 1 6c (108) 1
    21:30:40.0379 [eRCDeviceInputDev] emit: 1
    21:30:40.0390 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Make) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:30:40.0394 [ActionMap] Keymap 'DirectionActions' -> Action = 'down'.
    21:30:40.0400 [eInputDeviceInit] 0 6c (108) 1
    21:30:40.0401 [eRCDeviceInputDev] emit: 0
    21:30:40.0410 [InfoBarGenerics] Key: 108 (Break) KeyID='KEY_DOWN' Binding='('DOWN',)'.
    21:30:40.0416 [eDVBPESReader] ERROR reading PES (fd=27): Function not implemented
    21:30:44.1245 [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!

    Do you have a clue what is going on when trying to upgrade?
    nekrub2
    By popular request ( because other images do it) Imagemager now searches all attached devices (including network) for images.
    … and Yes, it means a delay
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (03-03-23)

  4. #3

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,784
    Thanks
    1,215
    Thanked 385 Times in 355 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    By popular request ( because other images do it) Imagemager now searches all attached devices (including network) for images.
    … and Yes, it means a delay
    So that could mean a backup image from 1 box could end up on another box on same network as i found H7S on my Et 10000

  5. #4
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,934
    Thanks
    948
    Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,113 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    So that could mean a backup image from 1 box could end up on another box on same network as i found H7S on my Et 10000
    It only looks in local attached devices and networked devices… so if you keep.everything on a NAS then add machine identifier
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  6. #5

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    Would be nice to have a setup option, disabling network search for for image manager. Without this, I would have to un-mount my laptop and remove my swap USB. Alternative: Old way - download new release, put it on a USB and boot with stick.
    VU+ Solo2
    USB 32GB used as HDD
    Diseq 13.0E 19.0E

  7. #6
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,934
    Thanks
    948
    Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,113 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nekrub2 View Post
    Would be nice to have a setup option, disabling network search for for image manager. Without this, I would have to un-mount my laptop and remove my swap USB. Alternative: Old way - download new release, put it on a USB and boot with stick.
    I don,t think it takes that long….. I have 2 NAS boxes and its only probably 20 + seconds at most, and the box has to have the devices attached through your network settings.
    Last edited by twol; 04-03-23 at 13:20.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  8. #7
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,522
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 576 Times in 451 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    I don,t think it takes that long….. I have 2 NAS boxes and its only probably 20 + seconds at most, and the box has to have the devices attached through your network settings.
    Is the short time because the network devices respond quickly? I don't know anything about this function but on other networks I have had experience of, if a network check is taking place and a device doesn't respond (perhaps it's been removed) the delay becomes the much longer timeout values.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to adm For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (04-03-23)

  10. #8

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,784
    Thanks
    1,215
    Thanked 385 Times in 355 Posts
    Interesting as my network scans on Et 100000 does not see my H7s but is mounted on it and might be to do with switch and everything on Home network except for 2 nas drives which need looking at or moving .

  11. #9
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    12,894
    Thanks
    1,957
    Thanked 4,564 Times in 3,024 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    By popular request ( because other images do it) Imagemager now searches all attached devices (including network) for images.
    and Yes, it means a delay
    I've added an option to disable it.

  12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (05-03-23),LbCwby (05-03-23),nekrub2 (05-03-23)

  13. #10
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,467
    Thanks
    226
    Thanked 1,586 Times in 1,245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    By popular request ( because other images do it) Imagemager now searches all attached devices (including network) for images.
    … and Yes, it means a delay
    i thought Vix had a configurable option to say where they are? One location only.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  14. #11
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,950
    Thanks
    6,232
    Thanked 8,975 Times in 6,087 Posts
    To me, it would be far better to scan the varying folder names used by the images (images, downloaded_images, imagebackups) as well as root of devices connected to box. Scanning network locations should be an option that is off by default. Those who use a network mount will enable that option, majority don't.

  15. #12
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,934
    Thanks
    948
    Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,113 Posts
    This is not a new situation, it was discussed.
    So Huevos now provides an option, default to the user defined folder(so OK birdman) and for the rest it does what all the others do and looks for image zips.
    If anybody wants something else feel free to issue a commit.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  16. #13
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,950
    Thanks
    6,232
    Thanked 8,975 Times in 6,087 Posts
    Sorry, I am not understanding what what you are saying nor do I have access to where the discussion was held, so sorry if I am duplicating what was asked already

    Can you please answer this specific question:
    Does image manager now check the folder names that other images use?

  17. #14
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,950
    Thanks
    6,232
    Thanked 8,975 Times in 6,087 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Sorry, I am not understanding what what you are saying nor do I have access to where the discussion was held, so sorry if I am duplicating what was asked already

    Can you please answer this specific question:
    Does image manager now check the folder names that other images use?
    To answer my own question:

    getImages([path.join(media, x) for x in medialist if path.splitext(x)[1] == ".zip" and model in x])
    for folder in ["imagebackups", "downloaded_images", "images"]:

    EDIT: But it does not work

  18. #15
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    12,894
    Thanks
    1,957
    Thanked 4,564 Times in 3,024 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    To answer my own question:

    getImages([path.join(media, x) for x in medialist if path.splitext(x)[1] == ".zip" and model in x])
    for folder in ["imagebackups", "downloaded_images", "images"]:

    EDIT: But it does not work
    Of course it works. Do you think that code was written and nobody bothered to test it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.