Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Any help with choosing sat box (UK) ?

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Any help with choosing sat box (UK) ?

    There are so many forum sections I am not sure where I should post this, so hope here is okay. I am ditching Sky TV to go the freesat route. I am looking to spend under 200 for a satellite box that works with Freesat channels (Sky UK dish) and has as good a GUI as Sky. I originally thought a Zgemma H9 Twin SE would be good, but then I saw people saying these are clones and dangerous or something. But clones of what ?? I am very new to all this. There is also the Technomate TM-Twin 4K, that also looks good. What I want is 2x satellite inputs, 4K, and GUI that looks closest to Sky (even older Sky HD is fine). I know nothing about how to get add ons or IPTV but the option to add them would be useful. If Kodi comes with it then all the better as then I don't need to use my Pi4 for it.

    Any help ? Thanks.

  2. #2

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,012
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 652 Times in 533 Posts
    The zgemma H9 is not a clone. These are completely different from the old models they made several years ago.
    Zgemma H7S running OpenVIX 6.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 Atmos AVR , Panasonic UB820 region free 4K Bluray & a PS4.

  3. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ah thanks, yes it was an old post from 2015 that I was reading. I didn't even know what they meant by "clone". I want to use ViX with the box as I hear that has the closest looking GUI to Sky, do you suggest the Zgemma H9 Twin SE ? Or maybe the Technomate ? I have up to 200 to spend.

  4. #4

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
    Hi there, I can highly recommend VU+ Uno4K SE which are readily available from our Forum Sponsors, although its a bit above your 200 price point. I have two of these and a Duo 4K, which all give me Free to Air Sat and Streaming, also with an internal HDD I can also record from all sources. Many years ago I bought a Technomate Twin and I regretted it from day one. VU kit is very good you won't be disappointed......................Spevs

  5. #5

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    I've found there is very little between the receivers if you stick to the big brands (ZGemma, Octagon, Formuler, Edision etc.).
    The higher end boxes might be fractionally faster but in general the functionality is the same when running OpenVix.

    I'd work out the specs you need (number of sat/terrestrial tuners, Wifi, 4k, Netflix, IPTV, Kodi etc.) and that will limit your selection.
    Price-wise they are all very similar.

    Something like the Octagon SF8008 ticks most boxes for 105 with twin sat tuners and Wifi
    The Zgemma H9 Twin SE is very similar and cheaper albeit with slightly lower specs. However, it seems to be OOS at the moment in most places.

  6. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,727
    Thanks
    1,184
    Thanked 376 Times in 346 Posts
    I went for a Zgemma H7S over the H9S Twin sat and Saorview.

    If you want twin sat Octagon getting great reviews

  7. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks guys. So the Octagon sounds like the one perhaps to go for, is there any negatives for that compared with the Zgemma's ?

  8. #8
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,840
    Thanks
    940
    Thanked 2,711 Times in 2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blaze View Post
    Thanks guys. So the Octagon sounds like the one perhaps to go for, is there any negatives for that compared with the Zgemma's ?
    Trying to not be too biased, I would suggest the AX HD61, its a better quality box(in my view) than the Octagon, can have an internal HDD, and is a really nice box to play with….. and yes I have both. If you really want the sf8008, then I would choose the gbtrio4k alternative(basically same box), again better quality box casing and display.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (19-01-23)

  10. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Trying to not be too biased, I would suggest the AX HD61, its a better quality box(in my view) than the Octagon, can have an internal HDD, and is a really nice box to play with….. and yes I have both. If you really want the sf8008, then I would choose the gbtrio4k alternative(basically same box), again better quality box casing and display.
    I need advise as well. They are saying AXHD61 is actually Mutant HD51. I have Mutant HD51 a really nice box.
    I have a sound system at home and Mutant HD51 sound signals are stereo not 5.1 or 7.1
    Is any there any box it can produce higher quality of sound?

    Thank you guys in advance

  11. #10
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,840
    Thanks
    940
    Thanked 2,711 Times in 2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrchannel007 View Post
    I need advise as well. They are saying AXHD61 is actually Mutant HD51. I have Mutant HD51 a really nice box.
    I have a sound system at home and Mutant HD51 sound signals are stereo not 5.1 or 7.1
    Is any there any box it can produce higher quality of sound?

    Thank you guys in advance
    Well there are idiots around……HD51 is a broadcom box, the hd61 is a hisilicon box … and I had a hd51 several years ago, so I do know the difference between the 2 receivers.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  12. #11

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you for your reply. Any suggestion regarding sound quality?

  13. #12
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,492
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 562 Times in 438 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrchannel007 View Post
    I need advise as well. They are saying AXHD61 is actually Mutant HD51. I have Mutant HD51 a really nice box.
    I have a sound system at home and Mutant HD51 sound signals are stereo not 5.1 or 7.1
    Is any there any box it can produce higher quality of sound?

    Thank you guys in advance
    Are you referring to broadcast audio? The vast majority of broadcasts in the UK are stereo (or surround encoded on stereo). There are relatively few broadcast in DD 5.1 on satellite and ACC 5.1 on terrestrial. If you have your HD51 set to pass through and your sound system can handle DD5.1. and PCM for terrestrial your AV should be switching between the various formats as the broadcaster outputs them. You will probably see your amp detecting, say, Dolby Pro Logic 2.0 (stereo) most of the time and only an occasionally DD5.1/ACC5.1 program on some of the major UK HD channels. You are unlikely to see any surround sound on any of the lesser channels.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.