Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Channel 5 HD Labelled 2802 in EPG

  1. #1
    KekseKaempfer's Avatar
    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Channel 5 HD Labelled 2802 in EPG

    Good evening.

    Has anyone else noticed that since a few days ago CH5 HD (105) on both freesat and Sky EPGs is being labelled as 2108?


    System OE: OE-Alliance 5.0
    Firmware version: OpenViX 6.0.008 (2022-02-14)
    Kernel / Drivers: 4.1.20 / 20210407

    I will retrieve logs later.

    Cheers
    Chris

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to KekseKaempfer For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (25-11-22)

  3. #2
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    CH5HD is certainly identified as 2108 on my Freesat bouquet (and no EPG data as I have Freesat EPG turned off). The C5 family of channels are also identified as 2102 -2109 on my Freesat bouquet also. The transponder is 11307H, 27500 2/3 QPSK.

    On the SKY bouquet the C5 HD and family are identified properly and the EPG data (OpenTV) is present. The transponder is 10964H, 22000 5/6 QPSK.

    I think C5 is in the process of moving its channels to the 11307 transponder and "should" sort out the service name in time. Ultimately, the channels will cease on the 10964 transponder.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe_90 For This Useful Post:

    KekseKaempfer (23-11-22)

  5. #3
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    Channel 5 HD (and associated C5 family) on Freesat bouquet (transponder 11307H) are still being identified as 2102 - 2109. I would have thought that Freesat would have labelled them correctly by now. Still no OpenTV EPG for these, but Freesat EPG populates ok.
    @abu - are any changes to Freesat provider files (for ABM) necessary? I didn't think so initially (as most recent changes to ABM Freesat bouquet, including ITV2/3/4HD happened automatically)? Maybe it's just a broadcast chain/playout centre issue?
    Last edited by Joe_90; 24-11-22 at 13:48.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe_90 For This Useful Post:

    KekseKaempfer (Yesterday)

  7. #4
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,675
    Thanks
    6,143
    Thanked 8,873 Times in 6,002 Posts
    They should fix them automatically. However, we might as well as add renames for them until they get fixed.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Joe_90 (24-11-22),KekseKaempfer (Yesterday)

  9. #5
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
    That's what I have done, I've manually renamed them for now.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to thecaretaker For This Useful Post:

    Joe_90 (24-11-22)

  11. #6
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    But will that sort out the EPG for those Freesat bouquet channels? I'm just using OpenTV EPG provider on my main Quad Plus box. The EPG is fine on the SKY bouquet (which is still using the old transponder), but there are no EPG entries for the C5 family in the Freesat bouquet, unless I enable Freesat EPG provider in the EPG settings. I had thought of manually editing the provider file, but I presumed Freesat would get around to fixing the service names more quickly.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  12. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,675
    Thanks
    6,143
    Thanked 8,873 Times in 6,002 Posts
    Changing the name of the service will not fix the EPG acquisition. The other way of doing it which will also deal with the EPG issue, is to insert the Sky versions.

  13. #8

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,621
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked 363 Times in 333 Posts
    Good to know its not just a few of us with that issue.

  14. #9
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Changing the name of the service will not fix the EPG acquisition. The other way of doing it which will also deal with the EPG issue, is to insert the Sky versions.
    My understanding from the one snippet of news I could find was that the transponder change from 10964H (owned by SKY) to 11307H (owned by Arqiva apparently) is an arrangement that C5 have made with Arqiva. I inferred from the news posting that the 10964H transponder will not continue to carry C5 in the longer term, so inserting the SKY versions would be a short term kludge. I can't find any info on the Freesat website about this. Maybe someone with a branded Freesat receiver can confirm which transponder is being tuned? I presume ABM is picking up the new transponder because it's being listed in the official Freesat home stream info?
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  15. #10
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
    I just use the Freesat OpenTV option and have the EPG for all the C5 family. Apparently, Freesat boxes are now using the newer C5 frequencies. But I don't know how they get around the channel names issue. I guess they must allocate channel numbers and basically rename them. I hope this is just an oversight and they don't start doing this for all Freesat channels.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  16. #11
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,675
    Thanks
    6,143
    Thanked 8,873 Times in 6,002 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecaretaker View Post
    I just use the Freesat OpenTV option
    Freesat EPG reader is one option. OpentV EPG reader is another option. We also have the now/next EIT EPG. Please clarify what you are using.

  17. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,675
    Thanks
    6,143
    Thanked 8,873 Times in 6,002 Posts
    With regards to the name, the Freesat tables are correct. It is the names on Astra satellite that are wrong. You can confirm/test this by following:
    Remove 28.2 services
    Run Freesat only on ABM
    Check bouquets, name should be correct
    Select Channel 5 HD, the background scanning will then change the name to 2108

    I'll add a temporary rename. The hold function will mean name will persist, just like we do with the ITVs

  18. #13
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    I inferred from his post that the @caretaker has both OpenTV and Freesat EPG readers enabled on his box. On my AX61 I have both EPG readers active and I get the EPG for 2101 - 2108 populated by the Freesat reader. I don't do this on my daily driver GB Quad Plus as it's the one the other half uses for all the soaps recording etc. - it's just coincidence that Home & Away is on a break on C5 at the moment, so the lack of EPG is not an issue The reason I don't have Freesat EPG reader on this box is because I use VPS for accurate recording and I've found that the Freesat and OpenTV programme ID's don't always match and I've had failure to start recording on occasion.

    As regards genuine Freesat receivers, I fired up my old Humax Freesat recorder and stabbed at the partially working buttons on the remote. It's displaying the C5 channel names correctly, even though it tuned to the new transponder. 11305H is displayed on the diagnostics screen - the actual frequency is somewhere in the 11305-11307 range, but the AFC on different tuners may display slightly different results. @thecaretaker is probably right in that official Freesat receivers are naming the channels from a list, rather than from the actual transmitted stream info.

    I am presuming that Sky will eventually point their channel bouquet and OpenTV EPG data at the new transponder as it doesn't really make sense to have the same FTA channels transmitting on two transponders long term? If we had the relevant date information for when the switchoff/switchover will happen it would make a solution easier - maybe?
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  19. #14
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 995 Times in 790 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    With regards to the name, the Freesat tables are correct. It is the names on Astra satellite that are wrong. You can confirm/test this by following:
    Remove 28.2 services
    Run Freesat only on ABM
    Check bouquets, name should be correct
    Select Channel 5 HD, the background scanning will then change the name to 2108


    I'll add a temporary rename. The hold function will mean name will persist, just like we do with the ITVs
    Yes - that's exactly what's happening - the service name in the transmitted stream is wrong. This normally happens only briefly when a new channel or channel move happens, then the correct name appears after a day or so. It's just that this 2101 - 2108 naming has been going on for weeks. See my post #13 for what I've found on a geniune Freesat box (it's about 15 years old!).
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  20. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,675
    Thanks
    6,143
    Thanked 8,873 Times in 6,002 Posts
    What is 2110? It is an encrypted service.

    2101 Channel 5
    2102 5 USA
    2103 5 USA +1
    2104 5 Star
    2105 5 Select
    2106 5 Star +1
    2107 Channel 5 +1
    2108 Channel 5 HD
    2109 5 Action
    2110

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.