Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: My Wife doesn't like AutoTimers (and I'm not very keen) what else is there?

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question My Wife doesn't like AutoTimers (and I'm not very keen) what else is there?

    Hi guys,

    Is there a "Series Link" type facility available anywhere in the Enigma world?

    I'm not dead keen on AutoTimers and my wife says we can't have an Enigma box as our main machine if it can't Series Link.

    It's really the only thing I have against Enigma machines, everything else is so customisable it's amazing, but I can't get past this one shortcoming.

    Any ideas? Doesn't have to be box specific, I've had a Zgemma and a Mutant previously but am not running anything Enigma at the moment (Arris 4K Freesat box in case you're wondering).

    Paul

  2. #2
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    686
    Thanked 352 Times in 263 Posts
    Autotimers are highly configurable. I've got autotimers that have been on my box for several years and they just record series after series.
    Willo
    #######################
    GigaBlue UHD UE 4K
    Octagon SF8008 4K UHD
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Xtrend ET8500
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Willo3092 For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (31-10-22),paulrichasrdson (01-11-22)

  4. #3
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 543 Times in 422 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    Autotimers are highly configurable. I've got autotimers that have been on my box for several years and they just record series after series.
    Snap
    In some respects autotimers do more. You can use them to set timers for a whole series and if you don't delete them they will carry on for the next series in six months time and so on.

    Series link using CRID data as used by many Freesat/Freeview/Sky branded boxes tends to work well on the main UK channels but on the lesser channels can fall over.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  5. #4
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    12,432
    Thanks
    1,941
    Thanked 4,399 Times in 2,902 Posts
    Openvix enigma has CRID built in but as far as I know there was not interface created.

  6. #5

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    5,075
    Thanks
    105
    Thanked 1,419 Times in 1,127 Posts
    Hi,
    for Germany there was a plugin called Serienrecorder which worked with the web site https://www.wunschliste.de/main. The problem is that I do not know if it uses Python 3 and if it is working for foreign series.

    btw. AutoTimer works like a charme if configured correctly.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  7. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    btw. AutoTimer works like a charm if configured correctly.
    Ralf
    Thanks Ralf, it's the complexity of configuring AutoTimer that is off-putting but during my latest round of research I heard that there was a way to alter the configuration of AutoTimer so that it always uses your preferred settings, that might be helpful but not having a machine at the moment I can't experiment.

    Unfortunately I seem to remember the same settings didn't work with all programs, especially ones that my wife watches such as Masterchef which is shown at different times and different days of the week and is also repeated at different times and days.

    Sorry to be asking questions about a system that I don't have, but the shortcomings of the Arris box are a bit of a pain and I might be coming back to the fold.

  8. #7
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    686
    Thanked 352 Times in 263 Posts
    If you go into MENU > TIMERS > AUTOTIMERS you press the MENU button and you can edit the default settings.

    1_0_19_1B1D_802_2_11A0000_0_0_0_20221101100541.jpg
    Willo
    #######################
    GigaBlue UHD UE 4K
    Octagon SF8008 4K UHD
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Xtrend ET8500
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  9. #8
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 543 Times in 422 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    If you go into MENU > TIMERS > AUTOTIMERS you press the MENU button and you can edit the default settings.

    1_0_19_1B1D_802_2_11A0000_0_0_0_20221101100541.jpg
    Yes, set the defaults and then when you find a program in the EPG where you want to record all episodes (optionally excluding repeats*) you press one button to select Autotimers. You may have to untick a couple of options such as not to search at the same time of day (episodes may be at different times tomorrow/next week/next month) and the next screen will have all the options set as per your default configuration. You just press the green button to confirm those settings and then the autotimer goes away and does it's searching automatically in the EPG data for evermore until you delete it. For instance I have an autotimer configured to generate timers to record all F1 practices and races on CH4 HD. If I leave the autotimer not only will it find all races this season but next season and the one after as well - as long as it is still broadcast on CH4 HD**

    So, after setting the defaults is only a few clicks on the remote to set an autotimer to record a series. It's very much like using the 100s of configuration options in Enigma/Vix, and any other box. Spend some time setting up the box to work in the way that you want it to but in day to day operation you may only press a couple of different buttons on the remote and not worry about how it is set up.

    * Repeats are detected by checking the title and short description in the EPG being identical (or near identical). A previous recording is also checked in the same way as the title and short description also forms part of the recording. This detection can fall over on (mainly lesser) channels where the short description can the the same for every episodes but all this does is cause a minor annoyance by recording multiple copies of the same episode.

    ** Just before you confirm the screen to select all the defaults you can change one of the options to check for the program on more than one channel, or even all channels.
    Last edited by adm; 01-11-22 at 13:19.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  10. #9

    Title
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    222
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 515 Times in 160 Posts
    SeriesLink was also prepared for reading on opentv epg, but not implemented.

  11. #10
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 543 Times in 422 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LraiZer View Post
    SeriesLink was also prepared for reading on opentv epg, but not implemented.
    Wasn't there a discussion a few years back about series linking using CRID wasn't a common standard so what may work in the UK may not work elsewhere. From a dim recollection, UK and Australian, implementations would have to be different.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  12. #11
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    12,432
    Thanks
    1,941
    Thanked 4,399 Times in 2,902 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LraiZer View Post
    SeriesLink was also prepared for reading on opentv epg, but not implemented.
    So how do we get it up and running?

  13. #12

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    So how do we get it up and running?
    Sounds like it would be an amazing step forward for OpenVix if it could be done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.