Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Telnet command to boot to a different partition

  1. #1
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    686
    Thanked 352 Times in 263 Posts

    Telnet command to boot to a different partition

    As above, is it possible to do this via telnet/putty?

    I do a fair bit of faffing about that sometimes stops the box booting but I can still access it via putty.

    I've worked out how to flash a saved image from telnet but booting to a different partition would be much quicker.
    Willo
    #######################
    GigaBlue UHD UE 4K
    Octagon SF8008 4K UHD
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Xtrend ET8500
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  2. #2
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,716
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 2,672 Times in 2,047 Posts
    So quick answer (not knowing which box) it is
    1. know which image is the slots.
    2. telnet to box and in /boot are the STARTUP files.
    3. decide which slot you want to boot…. Say slot 2
    Rename STARTUP to OLD-startup
    rename STARTUP_2 to STARTUP
    Reboot


    some of the startup names are different depending on the box, but the the logic is the same.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    el bandido (23-10-22),Willo3092 (23-10-22)

  4. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    near Reading Berkshire England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Wouldn't

    Code:
    cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP
    be better (because it doesn't leave you with no STARTUP_2 file)?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to BrianG61UK For This Useful Post:

    Willo3092 (23-10-22)

  6. #4
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    686
    Thanked 352 Times in 263 Posts
    I didn't even think of doing the obvious! Just thought there might be a telnet command doh!
    That works perfectly guys, thank you
    Willo
    #######################
    GigaBlue UHD UE 4K
    Octagon SF8008 4K UHD
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Xtrend ET8500
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin (test box)
    Vu+ Uno4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  7. #5
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,716
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 2,672 Times in 2,047 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianG61UK View Post
    Wouldn't

    Code:
    cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP
    be better (because it doesn't leave you with no STARTUP_2 file)?
    Yes, correct……I normally copy them to PC and then do a copy back with rename
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    BrianG61UK (24-10-22)

  9. #6

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    I just keep txt file named boot from other partition and just copy text to terminal for which partition I want to boot from this is for gigablue quad uhd 4k

    Code:
    cd /boot
    cp STARTUP_1 STARTUP
    reboot
    
    cd /boot
    cp STARTUP_2 STARTUP
    reboot
    
    cd /boot
    cp STARTUP_3 STARTUP
    reboot

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to urie For This Useful Post:

    BrianG61UK (26-10-22)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.