Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Timer Update Question

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Timer Update Question

    After a timer is set (either manually or via an Autotimer) is there a process that checks it against any subsequent schedule changes in the EPG and updates it if a change is found, if so what's the trigger that starts the checking process?

  2. #2
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 532 Times in 413 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AB2022 View Post
    After a timer is set (either manually or via an Autotimer) is there a process that checks it against any subsequent schedule changes in the EPG and updates it if a change is found, if so what's the trigger that starts the checking process?
    As far as I'm aware no such mechanism.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  3. #3
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,322
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 1,563 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AB2022 View Post
    After a timer is set (either manually or via an Autotimer) is there a process that checks it against any subsequent schedule changes in the EPG..
    Ngt for timers, but AutoTimers do (try to) handle schedule changes.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to birdman For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (29-08-22)

  5. #4

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,609
    Thanks
    1,079
    Thanked 362 Times in 332 Posts
    Interesting as i had autotimers set up on a program as i never knew what series or episode it was recording.
    A recent change with a newer provider now lists series and episode number and does only record that episode and no future ones.
    Maybe a setting was overlooked?

  6. #5
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 532 Times in 413 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Ngt for timers, but AutoTimers do (try to) handle schedule changes.
    But once a timer has been set by an autotimer it will not be changed.

    Say, if you configure your box to search the epg 7 days in advance it will find the program 7 days in advance to be recorded and set a timer. The start and end time of that timer (and channel) are now fixed in stone.

    You may be able to react better to program changes by configuring autotimers to only search one day ahead but that doesn't get over the problem of last minute program changes such as a delay or overrun. No CRID or start stop marker information is used by the timers.

    Autotimers polling, say, every 30 minutes may catch a program changing channels by creating two timers, the original which will record something you don't want and and the new timeslot on a different channel. This can fail if you run out of tuners and/or are trying to avoid recording repeats by checking the short description option. The short description of the channel changed program will be the same as the description for the program in the original timer so the second occurrence is ignored.


    Having said all of this in the many years of using Openvix and setting up autotimers I've never knowingly missed an episode of any program I've wanted to record.
    Last edited by adm; 29-08-22 at 15:13.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  7. #6
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 532 Times in 413 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    Interesting as i had autotimers set up on a program as i never knew what series or episode it was recording.
    A recent change with a newer provider now lists series and episode number and does only record that episode and no future ones.
    Maybe a setting was overlooked?
    You probably now have a branded Freesat, Freeview or Sky box/recorder. These use broadcast CRID and start stop markers to control recordings. In my experience this works well on the BBC, ITV, less well on the CH4 and CH5 channels and can be somewhat of a lottery on some of the lesser channels.

    Ideally what is needed is a mash up of what is implemented in Openvix Autotimers and what other boxes use. Something that was achieved a decade or more ago with the Topfield boxes running the Mystuff software.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to adm For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (29-08-22)

  9. #7
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,322
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 1,563 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    But once a timer has been set by an autotimer it will not be changed.
    Odd then that an AutoTimer run will mention that some timers have been modified.
    It's supposed to be looking for minor scheduling changes, according to how I've read the code/comments.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  10. #8
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,322
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 1,563 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    ...but that doesn't get over the problem of last minute program changes such as a delay or overrun. No CRID or start stop marker information is used by the timers.
    The VPS plugin can help with those.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  11. #9
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,322
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 1,563 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    Ideally what is needed is a mash up of what is implemented in Openvix Autotimers and what other boxes use. Something that was achieved a decade or more ago with the Topfield boxes running the Mystuff software.
    Which still relied on broadcasters CRID data.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  12. #10
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,427
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 532 Times in 413 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Odd then that an AutoTimer run will mention that some timers have been modified.
    It's supposed to be looking for minor scheduling changes, according to how I've read the code/comments.
    It may also depend on how often the EPG data is modified. For Sky FTA using the Sky IEPG channel I only fetch it once a day. For Freeview it may/is updated more regularly but most of my viewing/recording these days is via satellite.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  13. #11
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,686
    Thanks
    1,143
    Thanked 986 Times in 783 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    The VPS plugin can help with those.
    I actually started to compose a reply earlier regarding my usage experience of VPS, but I cancelled it as I thought it didn't really add much to the store of knowledge. Long story short - VPS works well on BBC and ITV and mostly works ok on CH4HD, but there have been so many issues with programme EIT data on the C4 subsidiary channels (caused by the playout systems used by the broadcasters) that it is very unreliable on those. I only enable VPS for BBC/ITV/CH4HD.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  14. #12

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Tx for the replies, it would explain why some of my recordings have missed schedule changes.

    I was not aware of the VPS plugin and putting that to one side for a minute it would seem the best way to reduce "missed" recordings is to update the EPG data frequently with the Autotimer polling set to a short interval so that it will change any pre existing timers to reflect the change - is that the general view?
    Related to this (I think) - within the Autotimer Settings is the option "Modify Existing Timers" with the choices of:
    "none"
    "All non-repeating timers"
    "Only Autotimers with the same EIT"
    I assume these relate to behaviour when the Autotimer finds that there has been an EPG change but whats the difference between using "All non-repeating timers" and "Only Autotimers with the same EIT"?

    Coming back to VPS.
    I have searched the forum for info in VPS and have found hundreds of postings about it, mostly "I tried this, it didn't work, trying this" and though there are bits of info on how to setup/use it scattered around, I'm having difficulty pulling it all together to understand how I can use it and its limitations such as:
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe_90 View Post
    VPS works well on BBC and ITV and mostly works ok on CH4HD
    Have I missed a user guide somewhere?

  15. #13
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,322
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 1,563 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AB2022 View Post
    but whats the difference between using "All non-repeating timers" and "Only Autotimers with the same EIT"?
    I would assume that a change to a start time would be a change with the same EIT, but a change of episode would not, so would only be covered by the "non-repeating timers" choice.

    Coming back to VPS.
    I have searched the forum for info in VPS and have found hundreds of postings about it, mostly "I tried this, it didn't work, trying this" and though there are bits of info on how to setup/use it scattered around, I'm having difficulty pulling it all together to understand how I can use it and its limitations...
    I converted it to Py3 (I think) and use it on AutoTimers. In safe mode.
    Which means that the original times set are honoured, but the VPS plugin will keep the recording going of the broadcaster hasn't sent the "it's finished" signal.

    It works for me. However most of my recordings are on BBCx, ITV and C4 and I did't really have any problems without it.

    The only programme that habitually overran was "Match of the Day", which (used to?) have a habit of finishing 5 mins late so I'd miss the end of the playout theme tune. With the VPS plugin that did get extend to catch it all. So it works when the data is sent.

    I have had one occasion of a sport overrun that pushed the following programme (which I was recording) back by 15mins(?) and it handled that without an AT run updating anything.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  16. #14
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,633
    Thanks
    923
    Thanked 2,641 Times in 2,024 Posts
    @Birdman - the VPS plugin is already python 3 ...... https://github.com/oe-alliance/enigm...ree/master/vps
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  17. #15
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    12,253
    Thanks
    1,938
    Thanked 4,324 Times in 2,859 Posts
    @Joe_90 is there any chance you can write a semi-comprehensive readme/guide in txt or pdf format and we can push it to the repo and plugin folder.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.