Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tuner not detected

  1. #1

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Tuner not detected

    Hi,

    I have a Vu+ Duo4K SE with 2 twin Terrestrial DVB-T2 tuners. My understanding is that this should give me 4 tuners, and the information in Main Menu > Setup > Tuners & Scanning > Tuner Setup would appear to confirm this (see screenshot_1 attached).

    However, I'm getting "No free tuner" when trying to record a 4th channel (on a 4th MUX) when there are 3 currently running. Looking at Main Menu > Information > Devices I see that it says that there are 3 detected tuners (see screenshot_2 attached).

    Can anyone advise on what might be the cause of this and how I can get all 4 tuners operating simultaneously?

    Thanks,
    Dan

    screenshot_1.jpg

    screenshot_2.jpg

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,605
    Thanks
    1,072
    Thanked 362 Times in 332 Posts
    Can you check your tuners for signal quality 1 - 4 to see all show a signal?

  3. #3
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,274
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 1,561 Times in 1,222 Posts
    Just a thought.

    The second image you show has the "C/T2" text missing at the end of tunerC. Is this actually just truncating the display list at this point and tunerD is actually there (but not shown). (So this part would be a skin issue).

    Wouldn't help with the recording (real) problem, but might avoid wandering down wrong paths.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  4. #4
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,267 Times in 1,081 Posts
    My BMC3466 tuners show as expected on my ultimo4k, no truncation. Simple_1080 skin.

    Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

  5. #5

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    Can you check your tuners for signal quality 1 - 4 to see all show a signal?
    I'm not entirely sure how to do this - should I use "Signal Finder"?

    The box is busy recording at the moment so I can't do Signal Finder for all 4 tuners but attached is a sample output. If you confirm that this is what you suggested then I'll do the same for the other tuners when they become free.

    Thanks

    screenshot_3.jpg

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to point17 For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (08-08-22)

  7. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,605
    Thanks
    1,072
    Thanked 362 Times in 332 Posts
    Yes that page and should allow to go From A > B > C > D as you see your on Tuner A .
    do on box when not busy or use webif on laptop ?

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to cactikid For This Useful Post:

    deltec (09-08-22)

  9. #7

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    Yes that page and should allow to go From A > B > C > D as you see your on Tuner A .
    do on box when not busy or use webif on laptop ?
    Got a chance to do this yesterday and I was able to see similar screens for all 4 tuners, so it seems that they are all getting a signal.

  10. #8

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Just a thought.

    The second image you show has the "C/T2" text missing at the end of tunerC. Is this actually just truncating the display list at this point and tunerD is actually there (but not shown). (So this part would be a skin issue).

    Wouldn't help with the recording (real) problem, but might avoid wandering down wrong paths.
    I think the missing text is a skin issue. Have switched to a different skin and the text has the "C/T2". Interestingly, it also shows all 4 tuners - see image attached. I don't know if the missing tuner on the original list is part of the same truncation (and hence a skin issue) or if the reboot restored something. I will try to reproduce the original problem to see if it still occurs.

    screenshot_4.jpg

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to point17 For This Useful Post:

    birdman (11-08-22),cactikid (11-08-22)

  12. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,605
    Thanks
    1,072
    Thanked 362 Times in 332 Posts
    What skin were you using and the one switched to for testing is handy to know.

  13. #10

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    What skin were you using and the one switched to for testing is handy to know.
    Nothing exotic. I think I was using ViX-Night-HD - that would be the one with the truncation.

    I think I was using Simple-Ten-Eighty as the alternate - that skin does not have the truncation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.