Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Advice needed on narrowing down options

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Advice needed on narrowing down options

    Hi everyone

    New here and not 100% certain I'm posting in the right forum but here goes:

    My Humax HDR1100s Freesat box has recently died. As we still record some broadcasts I'm looking to replace the capability although not necessarily with the equivalent type of box. As I tried to start with my options reasonably open I was initially looking at going the terrestrial route with the HD Homerun, planning to integrate it with Plex for recording. However, after checking I found that my memory was correct in that we have reception issues with terrestrial and so would probably need to fork out for an external aerial.

    In discussion around that on another forum, someone mentioned that I should be able to achieve equivalent functionality to the HD Homerun via satellite using an Enigma2 receiver. Which was great advice until I tried searching for Enigma2 receivers and was completely overwhelmed by the number of models that are out there. So, my main purpose in posting here is to get some advice to help me narrow down the options of what to look for.

    To be more specific to what my requirements are:
    • I want to be able to receive the free to air satellite broadcasts we can get in the UK (principally the ones available via Freesat, although I've come to understand there are some FTA channels you can get from Sky as well, although I've not looked into that enough to know if there's any that I'd be bothered about being able to receive)
    • I'd like a box that can be used as a tuner by Plex so I can use the DVR functionality from Plex Pass to record broadcasts via an EPG
    • I'd like to have four tuners (our busiest recording period is around Christmas when it is guaranteed that there will be plenty of times there will be more than two programmes on we want to record which was always a bit of a pain for me trying to work out if there were other showings or which programmes weren't going to get recorded)
    • I'm not especially fussed about hooking the box up to a TV to watch from. Part of the reason I was looking at the HD Homerun was that I could have stuck it up in the loft out of the way and freed up a plug socket and some space in the lounge (less cables = less mess to untangle whenever one of the kids drops something behind the TV bench)



    Things I'm not entirely clear about from the poke around at Enigma2 box details on the main World of Satellite shop site are:
    - What the different is between the various firmwares listed. is it just different GUIs if you're using via a TV or is there different functionality enabled for the boxes depending on which you use?
    - A number of the receivers have 4k on their specs. Is this because they're also sold in markets where there are 4k satellite broadcasts or because they can upscale if you have a 4k TV/have built-in media players that can playback 4k video files from your network? AFAIK we don't have any 4k satellite broadcasts in the UK so I unless I'm mistaken I'm assuming that little tick on the spec sheet is useless over here.
    - are all Enigma2 boxes able to be used as a tuner for Plex? I'm told I'd need to install a plugin on the box to set this up or does this only work with specific receivers and/or firmwares?

    I'm planning to do installation myself. As far as I'm aware there are no issues with my current dish and I've terminated satellite cable before so should be able to do so again. I understand that there are "FBC" tuners now that work with a single cable and specific LNB which would mean swapping the LNB over - again if I go that route I can't see that being beyond my admittedly meagre skills. Is there anything else I should be aware of when looking to self-install these days?

    Thank you in advance to anyone able and willing to help

  2. #2
    Willo3092's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    East Midlands
    Posts
    826
    Thanks
    653
    Thanked 324 Times in 241 Posts
    I have no idea about Plex or HD Homerun but I have a unicable 2 LNB which will allow distribution to 24 tuners.
    It just has a single wire running into the loft and distributed via a splitter to various E2 boxes.
    A box with FBC tuners usually has 2 physical tuners and 6 virtual tuners which will give you 8 in total if connected to a unicable 2 LNB.

    There is a guide to Unicable here:

    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...using-Unicable

    I record to a Synology NAS which my other boxes can connect to via LAN so that any box can watch recordings or downloaded stuff from the net.

    Most decent boxes are 4K and if you decide on FBC tuners I would recommend the Gigablue UHD UE. https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk...blue-uhd-ue-4k
    Willo
    #######################
    GigaBlue UHD UE 4K
    Octagon SF8008 4K UHD
    Zgemma H9 Twin
    Xtrend ET8500
    Edision OS mio+ 4K UHD
    AX HD61 4K UHD Twin
    Vu+ Uno4K
    GT-Sat GT-S3DCSS24 Unicable II LNB
    GT-Sat GT-dLNB1-DY Unicable II LNB
    #######################

  3. #3
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,561
    Thanks
    6,086
    Thanked 8,830 Times in 5,967 Posts
    Don't limit the hrtunerproxy plugin to satellite services only. It will work with terrestrial services too. Guide to plugin here if you have not seen it already:
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...-PlexDVR-Setup

    Please unlearn the incorrect assumption that you must use a Unicable LNB with an FBC tuner. They are two separate technologies that are best used together, nonetheless separate.
    If you can unscrew an F-plug and screws, you can change the LNB.

  4. #4
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,993
    Thanks
    1,906
    Thanked 4,211 Times in 2,787 Posts
    Using a Unicable II LNB with an FBC tuner is highly recommended if you want to get the full functionality out of the tuner.

    These days there aren't any 4 tuner boxes, so FBC is the only option for 4+ tuners. So you are looking at GB quad 4k or GB UE 4k, or Vu+.

    There are only very few 4k broadcasts, but there are many other sources of 4k material, e.g. IPTV.

    All FBC boxes are also 4k.

  5. #5

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
    Unlike with FreeSat Receivers, the number of tuners you have is not necessarily the same as the of channels you can watch / record, but I will let someone else explain that.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JonMMM For This Useful Post:

    cerebros (27-06-22)

  7. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Apologies for the delay in responding to your responses... As it's been a while since I've signed up to a new forum I'd forgotten that not all of them are set up to send you notifications of replies to the threads you start by default and so was thinking no one had replied until I checked back yesterday

  8. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Willo3092 View Post
    Thanks, that page is really helpful

  9. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    If you can unscrew an F-plug and screws, you can change the LNB.
    After taking a closer look over the weekend it appears the LNB isn't secured to the arm of the dish with a screw but some kind of bung plug which complicates things a bit in that I might have to borrow my neighbour and his long ladders to be able to get at the bung properly to remove it, so not quite as straightforward a procedure as I was hoping (but then that's why I'm checking this now so it doesn't come as a surprise when I come to do the install and then find I'm not faced with a screw to undo)

  10. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    These days there aren't any 4 tuner boxes, so FBC is the only option for 4+ tuners. So you are looking at GB quad 4k or GB UE 4k, or Vu+.
    Well at least that solves the issue of a bewildering range of choice of boxes...

  11. #10
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,491
    Thanks
    910
    Thanked 2,607 Times in 1,999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cerebros View Post
    Well at least that solves the issue of a bewildering range of choice of boxes...
    Of the 2 giga,s unless there is something that specifically grabs you on the gbuhd4k, then the gbue4k is the more cost effective box.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  12. #11
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,392
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 518 Times in 401 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cerebros View Post
    After taking a closer look over the weekend it appears the LNB isn't secured to the arm of the dish with a screw but some kind of bung plug which complicates things a bit in that I might have to borrow my neighbour and his long ladders to be able to get at the bung properly to remove it, so not quite as straightforward a procedure as I was hoping (but then that's why I'm checking this now so it doesn't come as a surprise when I come to do the install and then find I'm not faced with a screw to undo)
    Assuming a Sky type Mark4 dish (earlier models have a different LNB holder arrangement)....
    There is a plastic bung and and two plastic lugs on the sides that clip into two holes in the metal dish arm. You probably/definitely will need a new fitting for the end of the dish arm (LNB adapter/holder). When I replaced a LNB and holder this year the old one came off fairly easily with a bit of brute force with the help of a large flat blade screwdriver as a lever. The holder just broke in two places because the plastic was somewhat brittle.

    If you buy the holder before before going up the ladder you will see how they fit. Youtube video showing fitting of LNB holder to sky type dish......
    https://youtu.be/uG3XtQ7Yxi0?t=545

    Note: sky supplied LNBs have a different fixing diameter to other LNBs thus requiring a different LNB holder if you change the type of LNB (which are cheap and readily available).
    Last edited by adm; 27-06-22 at 10:01.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.