Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Samba advice

  1. #1
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts

    Samba advice

    Can somebody help me out with some Samba questions?

    I use my TV (Panasonic) to connect to my VU Ultimo4k hard drive and a hard drive attached to my router. The TV sees and connects to the routers hard drive every time I turn the TV on (out of standby) without issue. But I do struggle to get the Vu Ultimo4K hard drive to register.

    Q1. Should Samba work straight out the box? I mean install it from Network/Utilities, start the service and should it just work.

    I do have a working copy of the Samba which I keep on my PC but every time I update Vix, I have to use putty and Init 4 (ftp and delete the etc/Samba folder and replace it with my stored copy) and then init 3. However, I have to reboot the Ultimo4K, unplug the TV (sometimes several times) before the TV can register the Ultimo4K. Once working, it does seem to stay connected (although if I use iplayer/Britbox etc on the TV the TV often forgets the settings and I have to unplug it and start it up again).

    Looking at the (kind-of working) Samba files I have on my PC, they are slightly different than those on a fresh Vix install. I've tried all sorts of adjustments to get the newer Samba files to work but can't get the TV to even see the Ultimo4K.

    I don't allow access to my VU Ultimo4K from the internet, just internal LAN, so...

    Q2. What do I need to do (what files to adjust) to get my TV to connect to Samba on a new install of Vix?

    I'll attach a copy of the Samba files I use.

    samba.zip

    When I say update Vix, I always do a clean install of Vix (from the download page on this website), ftp it to the imagebackup folder and always do a system and plug-in restore.

    Any suggestions to get my TV to recognise the Ultimo4K as it does the routers hard drive would be appreciated.
    Last edited by thecaretaker; 09-06-22 at 18:08.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  2. #2
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
    These are the Samba files found on a clean install of Vix which I can't get to work. Compared to my existing files, there is no smb-insecure.conf or smb-secure.conf files in the etc/Samba/Distro folder. The smb_global.conf looks slightly different from the original too.

    Latest samba.zip

    What do I need to do to get the latest Samba working?
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  3. #3
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,986
    Thanks
    1,906
    Thanked 4,206 Times in 2,785 Posts
    @ccs needs to answer this.

  4. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    I had problems on a fresh install on my Uno 4k but following the instructions on post 2 of this thread got it working so may do the trick for you too.

    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...l=1#post523846

  5. #5
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by slacker17 View Post
    I had problems on a fresh install on my Uno 4k but following the instructions on post 2 of this thread got it working so may do the trick for you too.

    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...l=1#post523846
    I tried that and other suggestion in that thread but I still couldn't get a fresh install to register with the TV. Samba is running but root/password just doesn't register.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  6. #6

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    This sounds like a very similar problem I came across a few weeks ago, I am not using OpenViX myself but my own build and from the OEA 5.1 branch so when it comes to Samba will be a very similar setup. It seems to me (and could be wrong about this part, never really used Samba server until a few weeks back) but in the past when you set a root user password that also triggers the password being set for the root user in Samba, now this no longer seems to be the case, perhaps down to root user password being set before Samba server is installed and so the Samba root user ends up with the default 'nopassword' and you can never connect as a client or maybe it does allow you to connect but as anonymous? Not entirely sure what's not talking to what and where as I didn't look to much more into that, my objected was I wanted to set a password anyway for the Samba root user...

    Anyway, what I found was this:
    If you take a look inside the smbpasswd file here: /etc/samba/private/smbpasswd

    Inside that by default you should see the two default Samba users, root and kids, the defaults for both users are no password, so for example the root (and kids) user will look something like this:
    root:0:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:NOPASSWORD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:
    kids:500:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:NOPASSWO RDXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    Root user I think will give access to root file system on the receiver and any HDD connected and kids user just to the HDD. Anyway the above is literally telling you no password is set to either user, so now a simple command from Telnet or SSH (whichever you use) to set the Samba server only user password:

    For Samba root user:
    Code:
    smbpasswd -a root
    This will prompt you to enter a password and then again to confirm:
    Code:
    New SMB password:
    Retype new SMB password:
    Once set that should be it, I found it works straight away but you might want to give the receiver a reboot and/or any devices you want to connect with as a client just to be sure.

  7. #7
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
    I had high hopes for your suggestion Amiko as it sounded very feasible, but it still won't connect. I tried twice and it does indeed update the root line in the smbpasswd file, but I can't register it on the TV. Tells me "Connection failed. Check your settings and retry"

    What I did was:

    Code:
    Init 4
    
    smbpasswd -a root
    
    New SMB password: XXXX
    Retype new SMB password: XXXX
    
    Init 3
    I then rebooted the VU+.

    Thinking it maybe due to the remembered setting on the TV, I deleted the setting just in case and rebooted TV and VU+. The TV couldn't even see the VU+ to add it to the list of available servers, so I was unable to register it.


    I tried manually adding the details on the TV, but still nothing. The TV just isn't seeing the VU+. I checked that Samba was running and it was.

    Thanks for your suggestion.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  8. #8

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    588
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 220 Times in 148 Posts
    One thing that I had to do was to stop it disabling netbios. So in the smb-user.conf add this line in the [global] section
    Code:
    disable netbios = No

  9. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    552
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 103 Times in 79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lincsat View Post
    One thing that I had to do was to stop it disabling netbios. So in the smb-user.conf add this line in the [global] section
    Code:
    disable netbios = No
    I think it`s stupid that default is Yes.

  10. #10
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lincsat View Post
    One thing that I had to do was to stop it disabling netbios. So in the smb-user.conf add this line in the [global] section
    Code:
    disable netbios = No
    I've tried your suggestion but still no joy. I'll have to continue adding the entire Samba folder which does work, I just can't work out why the most recent version doesn't want to work for me. I've even tried replacing each of the older file individually to see if it a specific file that is stopping it from working.

    Looking at the differences in the files, in distro/smb_branding.conf

    Newer version
    Code:
    [global]
            server string = OpenViX %h network services
    My older version
    Code:
    [global]
            server string = OpenViX %h network services
    
    #       include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-secure.conf
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-insecure.conf
    In the distro folder, I do have smb-secure.conf and smb-unsecure.conf files

    smb-secure.conf
    Code:
    [global]
            # True user level security:
            # - Degrade guests to "nobody" rather than escalating them to "root"
            # - Stop accepting empty (null) passwords
            #
            # Note: This will require you to set passwords using smbpasswd -a
            guest account = nobody
            null passwords = No
    
            # For more security, disable NetBIOS and enforce min protocol = SMB2_02
            # Note: min protocol = SMB2_02 will lock out ancient clients, like DOS, OS/2, Windows 9x as well as OpenPLi up to 4.0 and VTi
            disable netbios = Yes
            min protocol = SMB2_02
            smb ports = 445
    smb-unsecure.conf
    Code:
    [global]
            # Effectively remove security:
            # - guests (unauthed/bad authed) escalate to root
            # - empty passwords allowed
            # - SMBv1 allowed
            guest account = root
            null passwords = Yes
            min protocol = NT1
    The distro smb_global.conf has a few slight differences as well.

    Older version
    Code:
    [global]
            security = USER
            map to guest = Bad Password
            min receivefile size = 16384
            use sendfile = Yes
            aio read size = 16384
            aio write behind = true
            aio write size = 16384
            username map = /etc/samba/private/users.map
            smb passwd file = /etc/samba/private/smbpasswd
            passdb backend = smbpasswd
            idmap config * : backend = tdb
            obey pam restrictions = Yes
            max stat cache size = 64
            unix password sync = Yes
            pam password change = Yes
            server multi channel support = Yes
            passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
            passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
    
            # Disable printer support for now
            disable spoolss = Yes
            load printers = No
            printcap name = /dev/null
    
            enable privileges = Yes
            unix extensions = No
            allow insecure wide links = Yes
    
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-branding.conf
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-shares.conf
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-vmc.conf
    
            include = /etc/samba/smb-user.conf
    Newer version
    [global]
    Code:
            # CVE-1999-0519 and CVE-2000-1200
            access based share enum = yes
            restrict anonymous = 2
    
            disable netbios = Yes
            min protocol = SMB2_02
            smb ports = 445
            ntlm auth = yes
    
            workgroup = WORKGROUP
            security = USER
            guest account = nobody
            map to guest = Bad User
            username map = /etc/samba/private/users.map
            min receivefile size = 16384
            use sendfile = Yes
            aio read size = 16384
            aio write behind = true
            aio write size = 16384
            smb passwd file = /etc/samba/private/smbpasswd
            passdb backend = smbpasswd
            idmap config * : backend = tdb
            obey pam restrictions = Yes
            max stat cache size = 64
            unix password sync = Yes
            pam password change = Yes
            server multi channel support = Yes
            passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
            passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
    
            # Disable printer support for now
            disable spoolss = Yes
            load printers = No
            printcap name = /dev/null
    
            unix extensions = No
            allow insecure wide links = Yes
    
            strict locking = no
            oplocks = yes
            kernel oplocks = yes
    
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-branding.conf
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-shares.conf
            include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-vmc.conf
    
            include = /etc/samba/smb-user.conf
    All other files look to be the same.

    I'm going to give this a break now, my brain hurts
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  11. #11
    Joe_90's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    3,663
    Thanks
    1,136
    Thanked 977 Times in 776 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tappari View Post
    I think it`s stupid that default is Yes.
    netbios is disabled by default in most recent Samba releases because it is insecure. Microsoft is also disabling netbios by default in Win10/11, so you have to either explicitly enable it or use a more modern discovery protocol like mDNS. For the past 18 months or so I have just given up on trying to browse SMB servers in my mixed linux/MS network as, most of the time, it just doesn't work (I can see the machines in the browser but can't always get at the shares).

    I get my router to allocate fixed IP addresses to devices on the network and then explicitly use the IP address to access SMB - e.g. smb://192.168.0.112/multimedia/ to get to files on my NAS. I also use explicit username and password in my samba configuration (even though it's just on my LAN environment).
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe_90 For This Useful Post:

    Valiant (16-06-22)

  13. #12
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    251
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
    I've opted to use miniDLNA. It works out the box without any hassle. It doesn't have the random play option which Samba had and some video formats/types don't work, but I've converted those that didn't to .mkv and it does the same job now. Shame about Samba, but at least I won't have to mess about with SSH and replacing the Samba files each time there is a Vix update.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.