Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: flashed new image

  1. #1

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    flashed new image

    Hello I have tried to flash wit latest vix image and it wiped out all my settings and scanned saterlites.
    So I had to input all the data again.
    During the flash process it did not give me the option to upgrade from existing vix image, instead after it rebooted it went into setup wizzard?

    Any advise on this or do i have to restore settings from previous back up but dont want to restrore old image?

  2. #2
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,276
    Thanks
    5,999
    Thanked 8,747 Times in 5,902 Posts
    If you flash an image, it overwrites the flash memory, it is a new image. Did you flash using a USB stick or did you flash using Image Manager?

    If you restore a settings backup, it will restore the settings.
    If you flash an image backup, it will flash the image you backed up, inclusive of all the settings that were there when you had created the image backup.

  3. #3

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    I flashed with USB stick as per the pdf file on this site

    So what I should have done is flash from image manger?

    or flashed from usb and restore a backed up settings?

    Also the device perfoms very slow when scrolling EPG or menus etc?
    Last edited by ALIEN1X; 13-01-22 at 19:09. Reason: typo

  4. #4
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,276
    Thanks
    5,999
    Thanked 8,747 Times in 5,902 Posts
    You can flash by USB or by using Image Manager. Doing so by USB does not create a settings backup. It does when you use Image manager (as a default).

    Anyway, after you flash an image, if a settings backup is found, you are prompted to restore it. You can also restore a settings backup whenever you want. Did you get a prompt?

  5. #5
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,301
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 486 Times in 377 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ALIEN1X View Post
    Hello I have tried to flash wit latest vix image and it wiped out all my settings and scanned saterlites.
    So I had to input all the data again.
    During the flash process it did not give me the option to upgrade from existing vix image, instead after it rebooted it went into setup wizzard?

    Any advise on this or do i have to restore settings from previous back up but dont want to restrore old image?
    Before the flash did you perform a setting backup?
    Menu->setup->vix->backup manager->green for new backup

    You can also perform an image backup if you need to recover the older image
    Menu->setup->vix->image manager->green for new backup

    After a flash you should have been given the option to restore settings and plugins. From memory this is just after the first stages of the wizard which first sets up language and video output standard.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  6. #6

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    I did not get any prompts when using usb method and I did do a back of the old image and settings.
    May be I never got a prompt because i disconnected the usb hdd before flashingas the instruction said disconnected any attached devcies etc, not sure if that coud be the problem.

    What will do is another backup of image and settings and nexttime round during update I will use the image manager etc

  7. #7

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,871
    Thanks
    389
    Thanked 613 Times in 501 Posts
    You cant restore settings from a drive that is not connected. Plug in the drive and restore the settings (Blue button > Vix Image Management > Backup Manager)
    Zgemma H7S running OpenVIX 5.4, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 Atmos AVR , Panasonic DP-UB450 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  8. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Thankyou your advise was very heklpfull

  9. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,571
    Thanks
    1,030
    Thanked 361 Times in 331 Posts
    Thinking the logic behind it was remove any other usb devices before flashing by the usb with image.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.