Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: Box crashes when I access EPG

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
6.0,004
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Attachments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Box crashes when I access EPG

  1. #1

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Box crashes when I access EPG

    Upgraded to version 6 a few weeks ago and keep getting box crashes. Today I took my time and box crashed when I tried to access EPG. I have zipped the crash log as its vast but can cut and paste if required.

    Help


    Code:
    <337251.1752> 15:20:59.4899 [Skin] Attribute 'EntryFontWrap' (with value of 'no') in object of type 'eListbox' is not implemented!
    <337251.4537> 15:20:59.7685 [Skin] Processing screen 'GraphicalEPGPIG_summary' from list 'GridEPGPIGSummary, GraphicalEPGPIGSummary, ScreenSummary, GridEPGPIG_summary, GraphicalEPGPIG_summary, SimpleSummary', position=(0, 0), size=(140 x 32) for module 'ScreenSummary'.
    <337251.5412> 15:20:59.8560 UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xc9 in position 9: unexpected end of data
    <337251.5414> 15:20:59.8561 
    The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:
    
    
    <337251.5416> 15:20:59.8563 SystemError: <class 'UnicodeDecodeError'> returned a result with an error set
    <337251.5416> 15:20:59.8564 
    The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:
    
    
    <337251.5418> 15:20:59.8565 Traceback (most recent call last):
    <337251.5419> 15:20:59.8566   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/EpgSelectionGrid.py", line 136, in loadEPGData
    <337251.5474> 15:20:59.8621     self["list"].fillEPGNoRefresh(self.services)
    <337251.5475> 15:20:59.8623   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListGrid.py", line 791, in fillEPGNoRefresh
    <337251.5562> 15:20:59.8710     epgData = self.queryEPG(test)
    <337251.5564> 15:20:59.8711   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListBase.py", line 158, in queryEPG
    <337251.5593> 15:20:59.8741     return self.epgcache.lookupEvent(list)
    <337251.5595> 15:20:59.8743 SystemError: <built-in function eEPGCache_lookupEvent> returned a result with an error set
    <337251.5597> 15:20:59.8744 [ePyObject] (CallObject(<bound method EPGSelectionGrid.loadEPGData of <class 'Screens.EpgSelectionGrid.EPGSelectionGrid'>>,()) failed)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 09-01-22 at 17:08. Reason: Crash excerpt

  2. #2
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    864
    Thanked 2,504 Times in 1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bmitie View Post
    Upgraded to version 6 a few weeks ago and keep getting box crashes. Today I took my time and box crashed when I tried to access EPG. I have zipped the crash log as its vast but can cut and paste if required.

    Help
    can you do this:
    Putty type init 4 (space between)
    copy attachment to /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components
    Putty init 6 (space between)

    post next crash log.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    bmitie (08-01-22)

  4. #3

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    I have done that now and will report back.

  5. #4

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Hi, box crashed again last night but was not able to post back.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,571
    Thanks
    1,031
    Thanked 361 Times in 331 Posts
    Trying to read the data on the crash and mentions skin issues and wonder if this is a new edition added and causing the crash and maybe try another skin??

  7. #6
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,304
    Thanks
    529
    Thanked 1,192 Times in 1,021 Posts
    ... it looks like it's just got extra debugging details.

  8. #7
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,191
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,056 Times in 2,677 Posts
    Run the attached file for a while and then get the debug log.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    bmitie (09-01-22)

  10. #8
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,942
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 1,539 Times in 1,202 Posts
    This just looks like another EPG data de(en?)coding error.
    Related to this thread?
    Code:
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/showthread.php?64907-Crash-in-InfoBarGenerics&p=521220
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  11. #9
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,191
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,056 Times in 2,677 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    This just looks like another EPG data de(en?)coding error.
    Related to this thread?
    Code:
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/showthread.php?64907-Crash-in-InfoBarGenerics&p=521220
    No, that is junk in the epg. This is junk in the user's bouquet files. Most likely using Latin1 instead of UTF8.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    birdman (10-01-22),bmitie (09-01-22)

  13. #10

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    got another crash today but this time I was trying to set a recording. Here is the log.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #11
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,191
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,056 Times in 2,677 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bmitie View Post
    got another crash today but this time I was trying to set a recording. Here is the log.
    How old is that image? This was fixed weeks ago.
    https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...52ae95f43606e4

  15. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,283
    Thanks
    6,000
    Thanked 8,748 Times in 5,903 Posts
    Please update your image to 6.0 006 to include fixes since 6.0 004

    P.S
    There is no need to zip your crash logs.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    bmitie (12-01-22)

  17. #13

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    well I updated to latest vix and restored settings and plugins ... and it still crashes. here is the log. It happened when I pressed the text key and it happened when I pressed EPG key.

    I may try a clean install as a last resort or I might go back to ver 5.



    Code:
    <  1522.4397> 18:18:12.9675 [Skin] Processing screen 'GraphicalEPGPIG_summary' from list 'GridEPGPIGSummary, GraphicalEPGPIGSummary, ScreenSummary, GridEPGPIG_summary, GraphicalEPGPIG_summary, SimpleSummary', position=(0, 0), size=(140 x 32) for module 'ScreenSummary'.
    <  1522.5589> 18:18:13.0867 UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xc9 in position 2: invalid continuation byte
    <  1522.5590> 18:18:13.0868 
    The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:
    
    
    <  1522.5593> 18:18:13.0871 SystemError: <class 'UnicodeDecodeError'> returned a result with an error set
    <  1522.5594> 18:18:13.0872 
    The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:
    
    
    <  1522.5595> 18:18:13.0873 Traceback (most recent call last):
    <  1522.5596> 18:18:13.0874   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/EpgSelectionGrid.py", line 136, in loadEPGData
    <  1522.5619> 18:18:13.0897     self["list"].fillEPGNoRefresh(self.services)
    <  1522.5622> 18:18:13.0900   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListGrid.py", line 791, in fillEPGNoRefresh
    <  1522.5685> 18:18:13.0963     epgData = self.queryEPG(test)
    <  1522.5687> 18:18:13.0965   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListBase.py", line 158, in queryEPG
    <  1522.5707> 18:18:13.0985     return self.epgcache.lookupEvent(list)
    <  1522.5709> 18:18:13.0987 SystemError: <built-in function eEPGCache_lookupEvent> returned a result with an error set
    <  1522.5713> 18:18:13.0991 [ePyObject] (CallObject(<bound method EPGSelectionGrid.loadEPGData of <class 'Screens.EpgSelectionGrid.EPGSelectionGrid'>>,()) failed)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 13-01-22 at 19:34. Reason: add crash excerpt

  18. #14
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,283
    Thanks
    6,000
    Thanked 8,748 Times in 5,903 Posts
    If you perform a software update, there is no need to restore settings and plugins. You would only do that after flashing an image.

    Anyway, can you delete the EPG cache. Then flash the latest image, (6.0 006), but not restore settings and plugins this time? Please also re-add the file by Huevos, this will get debug of issue.

  19. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,283
    Thanks
    6,000
    Thanked 8,748 Times in 5,903 Posts
    Which channel list do you have installed on your box?

    If you don't have softcams, please upload the settings backup for someone to try. Once again, only if you are not using softcams.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.