Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: New house 2 satellites install setup?

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New house 2 satellites install setup?

    Hello guys,

    i'm almost finish building my house, so i need help to decide the best approach for my setup.

    I will have 2 antennas with 1 lnb each and i want to feed my house panel that will distribute the signal for 6 rooms.
    I will have:
    - main panel where i can inject the signal for all rooms
    - 6 dvb-s2 receivers (each room)
    - just watch channels (no stream or recording)

    I thought of 2 LNB quattro connected to a 9/8 multiswitch and then feed each cable that goes to the rooms.
    What do you think guys?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,187
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,055 Times in 2,676 Posts
    Or does the same with Unicable multiswitch and single cable to each room can be used by multiple tuners if necessary.

  3. #3
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,187
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,055 Times in 2,676 Posts
    Or does the same with Unicable multiswitch and single cable to each room can be used by multiple tuners if necessary.

  4. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @huevos

    So what your are saying is to use lnb unicable and connect them to unicable multi switch?

    Them in the receivers I need to use always different SCr frequencies in all of them?

  5. #5
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    864
    Thanked 2,504 Times in 1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by piro.lito View Post
    @huevos

    So what your are saying is to use lnb unicable and connect them to unicable multi switch?

    Them in the receivers I need to use always different SCr frequencies in all of them?
    Yes - each must have own frequency
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  6. #6
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,187
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,055 Times in 2,676 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by piro.lito View Post
    @huevos

    So what your are saying is to use lnb unicable and connect them to unicable multi switch?
    No, quattro lnbs and unicable multiswitch.

  7. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    No, quattro lnbs and unicable multiswitch.
    Can you explain a bit better to a newbie how does it work?
    Didnít know that Quattro lnbs could be connected to unicable multi switch.
    Do I need to program anything?
    And then after that how many cables go from the multi switch to my house?

    So, lnb like this
    https://www.inverto.tv/lnb/263/quattro-hgln-40mm-lnb

    Can you point out a multi switch for this setup?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,187
    Thanks
    1,861
    Thanked 4,055 Times in 2,676 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by piro.lito View Post
    Can you explain a bit better to a newbie how does it work?
    Didnít know that Quattro lnbs could be connected to unicable multi switch.
    Do I need to program anything?
    And then after that how many cables go from the multi switch to my house?

    So, lnb like this
    https://www.inverto.tv/lnb/263/quattro-hgln-40mm-lnb

    Can you point out a multi switch for this setup?

    Thanks
    Quattro LNBs are used for pretty much all multiswitches.
    Switch would have 8 satellite inputs (4 from each LNB), 1 terrestrial input, and one output.

    I'll leave it up to others to recommend switches.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    piro.lito (07-01-22)

  10. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi @huevos,
    I thought that i could have something like:

    image.jpg

    And then, something like Advanced Configuration in the Tuner and:

    -Box 1
    Sat 1 -> LNB 1 -> Type SCR -> Freq 1
    Sat 2 -> LNB 2 -> Type SCR -> Freq 2

    -Box 2
    Sat 1 -> LNB 1 -> Type SCR -> Freq 3
    Sat 2 -> LNB 2 -> Type SCR -> Freq 4

    -Box 3
    Sat 1 -> LNB 1 -> Type SCR -> Freq 5
    Sat 2 -> LNB 2 -> Type SCR -> Freq 6

    -Box 4
    Sat 1 -> LNB 1 -> Type SCR -> Freq 7
    Sat 2 -> LNB 2 -> Type SCR -> Freq 8


    IS this even possible?
    Last edited by piro.lito; 07-01-22 at 20:12.

  11. #10
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    22,281
    Thanks
    6,000
    Thanked 8,748 Times in 5,903 Posts
    You can use a combiner with programmable Unicable LNB/switches. You will need to program them. The programmers are over £100. There is an entry in the setup which has "position", you set it to what you program the unicabel device.

    Do you know where you can get Unicable Combiners? I'd like to know.

  12. #11

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    You can use a combiner with programmable Unicable LNB/switches. You will need to program them. The programmers are over £100. There is an entry in the setup which has "position", you set it to what you program the unicabel device.

    Do you know where you can get Unicable Combiners? I'd like to know.
    Jeeezzz it's expansive.
    the programmer i believe is this, right? https://tinyurl.com/2p8pwu6w

    I would like to avoid cables... but would it be simplier if go with Quattro LNB's even if i have to run 8 cables inside the house?
    The configuration will be easier?

    Thanks

  13. #12
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    864
    Thanked 2,504 Times in 1,914 Posts
    To be honest, my original setup was quattro lnb‘s into a multiswitch (most will now take quattro or quad) and I only changed to Unicable multiswitches because of my gbquad4k( with fbc tuner) - but it was a really expensive transition. The real benefit has been a move from a spiders web of cables to something more controlled - even my wife is happier
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  14. #13

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    To be honest, my original setup was quattro lnb‘s into a multiswitch (most will now take quattro or quad) and I only changed to Unicable multiswitches because of my gbquad4k( with fbc tuner) - but it was a really expensive transition. The real benefit has been a move from a spiders web of cables to something more controlled - even my wife is happier
    But it will be good for having less cables.
    Can you explain me how would be the connection from 2 sats with quatros to unicable multi switch and then to the receivers?
    Thanks

  15. #14
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    864
    Thanked 2,504 Times in 1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by piro.lito View Post
    But it will be good for having less cables.
    Can you explain me how would be the connection from 2 sats with quatros to unicable multi switch and then to the receivers?
    Thanks
    My current setup has 2 quattro lnbs (28.2E, 19.2E) running to 2 unicable switches(Spaun & DUR-line) on a external wall and then single cables run about 20 metres to either my lounge receiver or a small room with splitters to the other receivers). … but not a cheap setup.
    There is also a 27.5W lnb with a cable running into the house alongside the 2 switches and then split 2 ways.
    Last edited by twol; 07-01-22 at 21:51.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  16. #15

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    My current setup has 2 quattro lnbs (28.2E, 19.2E) running to 2 unicable switches(Spaun & DUR-line) on a external wall and then single cables run about 20 metres to either my lounge receiver or a small room with splitters to the other receivers). … but not a cheap setup.
    There is also a 27.5W lnb with a cable running into the house alongside the 2 switches and then split 2 ways.
    So, let me see if I understood.
    You run each Quattro to a unicable switch and then the two cables run to one receiver?

    Do you connect both cables to a dual fbc tuner?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.