Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: freeze when switching to terrestial DVB-T channel on USB tuner

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.4.016
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Attachments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: freeze when switching to terrestial DVB-T channel on USB tuner

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    freeze when switching to terrestial DVB-T channel on USB tuner

    Hi. I have an issue with VU+ USB Turbo SE tuner (the one which looks like flash drive, not a box). Sometimes when I switch from DVB-S channel to DVB-T channel, the receiver just freezes. Spinner displayed in corner, no response to remote. You can reboot only by pulling power or using SSH.

    It happens only in this scenario: DVB-S -> DVB-T. It never happened the other way around. I cannot reproduce it easily, but it happens approx. twice per week with 1-2hrs of watching daily.

    I did not have this issue with previous Blackhole 3.1.0 image. The current Openvix installation is fresh (only a few months old), no big customizations there, besides a few skins.

    I have attached a few logs, which both end, when the crash happens.

    "stream.txt" shows the issue, when I was watching video stream over LAN, and switched from DVB-S channel 1:0:1:200C:24B8:13E:820000:0:0:0: to DVB-T 1:0:19:19A:7:21B8:EEEE0000:0:0:0: . Both channels are not encrypted.

    "local.txt" shows the case, when I was watching regular TV, switched from channel DVB-S channel 1:0:1F:D4F:1450:13E:820000:0:0:0: to DVB-T 1_0_1_3_1_21B8_EEEE0000_0_0_0.

    local.txt
    stream.txt
    Last edited by radioalarm; 28-12-21 at 10:42.

  2. #2
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,223
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,061 Times in 2,681 Posts
    Your log ends like this:

    Code:
    06:27:54.8747 [eDVBResourceManager] allocate channel.. 0007:21b8
    06:27:54.8748 [eDVBFrontend8] opening frontend
    06:27:58.5678 [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!
    So enigma has sent the command to the tuner, and the tuner doesn't respond. And because it is running in a blocking thread the whole thing just waits (forever).

    Next time it happens "dmesg" might give more info.

  3. #3

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,573
    Thanks
    1,033
    Thanked 361 Times in 331 Posts
    Curious if this happens with inbuilt tuners also as it takes a few seconds to change over and get spinning vix

  4. #4
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,223
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,061 Times in 2,681 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cactikid View Post
    Curious if this happens with inbuilt tuners also as it takes a few seconds to change over and get spinning vix
    If you have a delay on channel change please try this commit: https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...7b444b9c931a0a

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (28-12-21)

  6. #5

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here is my dmesg log. The crashing session starts at around 140000 timestamp.

    dmesg.txt

    Here is also a debug log from the same crash:

    Enigma2_debug_2021-12-27_17-24-51.log

    I have noticed additional thing: when this happens, I'm not able to kill enigma2 process with "kill -9". The only way to recover is full reboot.
    Last edited by radioalarm; 29-12-21 at 08:49.

  7. #6
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,223
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,061 Times in 2,681 Posts
    As far as I see it this is outside the scope of enigma. The tuner is not responding.

    Code:
    [140251.670209] FE tune
    [140279.851502] INFO: task kdvb-ad-1-fe-0:9300 blocked for more than 120 seconds.
    [140279.858969]       Tainted: P           O    4.1.20-1.9 #1
    [140279.864584] "echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs" disables this message.
    [140279.872607] kdvb-ad-1-fe-0  D c0669418     0  9300      2 0x00000000
    [140279.879560] [<c0669418>] (__schedule) from [<c0669808>] (schedule+0x40/0x98)
    [140279.886841] [<c0669808>] (schedule) from [<c0669fa8>] (bit_wait+0x34/0x58)
    [140279.894141] [<c0669fa8>] (bit_wait) from [<c0669c74>] (__wait_on_bit+0x5c/0xb8)
    [140279.901625] [<c0669c74>] (__wait_on_bit) from [<c0669d3c>] (out_of_line_wait_on_bit+0x6c/0x74)
    [140279.910387] [<c0669d3c>] (out_of_line_wait_on_bit) from [<bf000eac>] (dvb_usb_fe_sleep+0x104/0x1a0 [dvb_usb_v2])
    [140279.920922] [<bf000eac>] (dvb_usb_fe_sleep [dvb_usb_v2]) from [<c0499a50>] (dvb_frontend_thread+0x208/0x66c)
    [140279.930927] [<c0499a50>] (dvb_frontend_thread) from [<c003f3a4>] (kthread+0xec/0xf4)
    [140279.938959] [<c003f3a4>] (kthread) from [<c0010028>] (ret_from_fork+0x14/0x2c)
    [140399.945471] INFO: task kdvb-ad-1-fe-0:9300 blocked for more than 120 seconds.
    [140399.952740]       Tainted: P           O    4.1.20-1.9 #1
    [140399.958399] "echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs" disables this message.
    [140399.966380] kdvb-ad-1-fe-0  D c0669418     0  9300      2 0x00000000
    [140399.973113] [<c0669418>] (__schedule) from [<c0669808>] (schedule+0x40/0x98)
    [140399.980312] [<c0669808>] (schedule) from [<c0669fa8>] (bit_wait+0x34/0x58)
    [140399.987607] [<c0669fa8>] (bit_wait) from [<c0669c74>] (__wait_on_bit+0x5c/0xb8)
    [140399.995080] [<c0669c74>] (__wait_on_bit) from [<c0669d3c>] (out_of_line_wait_on_bit+0x6c/0x74)
    [140400.004009] [<c0669d3c>] (out_of_line_wait_on_bit) from [<bf000eac>] (dvb_usb_fe_sleep+0x104/0x1a0 [dvb_usb_v2])
    [140400.014451] [<bf000eac>] (dvb_usb_fe_sleep [dvb_usb_v2]) from [<c0499a50>] (dvb_frontend_thread+0x208/0x66c)
    [140400.024655] [<c0499a50>] (dvb_frontend_thread) from [<c003f3a4>] (kthread+0xec/0xf4)
    [140400.032594] [<c003f3a4>] (kthread) from [<c0010028>] (ret_from_fork+0x14/0x2c)
    [140520.039473] INFO: task kdvb-ad-1-fe-0:9300 blocked for more than 120 seconds.
    [140520.046735]       Tainted: P           O    4.1.20-1.9 #1
    [140520.052375] "echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs" disables this message.
    [140520.060340] kdvb-ad-1-fe-0  D c0669418     0  9300      2 0x00000000
    [140520.066913] [<c0669418>] (__schedule) from [<c0669808>] (schedule+0x40/0x98)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (29-12-21)

  9. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Are you saying that the tuner itself is defective? But how come it works on a different image?

  10. #8
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,315
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 496 Times in 385 Posts
    Wild speculation.....

    Does the image or USB drivers have a USB power saving mode where the supply to the USB is switched off after a period of USB inactivity? This is a common feature on many PCs that can be user disabled but maybe completely irrelevant in this context.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (Sky FTA), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview), Zgemma H9S (satellite)

  11. #9
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,357
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 1,194 Times in 1,023 Posts
    Maybe try unplugging the tuner when the box hangs, and then plug it back in.

  12. #10
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,223
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,061 Times in 2,681 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by radioalarm View Post
    Are you saying that the tuner itself is defective? But how come it works on a different image?
    This is the cheap Chinese rebrand we are talking about, not the genuine Vu product, right? And I didn't say defective. Most likely problem is crap software supplied.
    Last edited by Huevos; 29-12-21 at 15:02.

  13. #11

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, this is real Vu, purchased from local Vu dealer, arrived in small Vu branded box.

  14. #12
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    11,223
    Thanks
    1,863
    Thanked 4,061 Times in 2,681 Posts
    This is the genuine one.
    https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk...2?search=turbo
    Is that it?

  15. #13

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    This is the genuine one.
    https://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk...2?search=turbo
    Is that it?
    No. I already noted in my initial description, that mine looks like this:
    https://www.fogsat.lt/preke/2456_-vu...r-dvb-ct2.html

  16. #14
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,357
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 1,194 Times in 1,023 Posts
    That's the SE version, comments about it here....

    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...l=1#post515287

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Huevos (29-12-21)

  18. #15
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,357
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 1,194 Times in 1,023 Posts
    The very last post on that thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by Ev0 View Post
    The Turbo SE needs the dvb-usb-dvbsky-classic driver and should work with all Vu+ boxes.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    cactikid (29-12-21)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.