Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 56 of 59 FirstFirst ... 6465455565758 ... LastLast
Results 826 to 840 of 879

Thread: Testers required for OpenViX Python 3 images

  1. #826
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    ....it's a known problem, this should fix it....

    Code:
    https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/commit/1b541e4571e135adbc1b7a3fe34356344631a52f
    Remember you may need to do an opkg update before trying to install samba.
    Last edited by ccs; 12-10-21 at 09:16.

  2. #827
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,810
    Thanks
    850
    Thanked 2,414 Times in 1,847 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carpcat View Post
    Tried the new file but still the same ‘error flashing kernel’ and then a reboot, although no crash logs created this time. Extract from debug log below
    can you try this ImageManager version ...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    carpcat (12-10-21)

  4. #828
    BefuddledBrian's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    near Reading, England
    Posts
    498
    Thanks
    353
    Thanked 65 Times in 55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    ....it's a known problem, this should fix it....

    Code:
    https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/commit/1b541e4571e135adbc1b7a3fe34356344631a52f
    Remember you may need to do an opkg update before trying to install samba.
    Thanks, that commit fixes it so that I can remove and reinstall samba.

    Could you explain further, when and why is opkg update is needed. I would have thought it would only be needed if samba had been rebuilt.

    Now I'm back to the original problem.
    Is there a fix to get nmbd running?
    I still only see smbd and wsdd running and, at least for me, wsdd doesn't seem to let me connect by name.

    Later: I figured it out. Or more correctly I rediscovered what I discovered about 10 months ago.
    I need to edit /etc/samba/distro/smb-global.conf
    and change:
    disable netbios = Yes
    to
    disable netbios = No
    Last edited by BefuddledBrian; 12-10-21 at 17:30. Reason: answer my own question
    Zgemma H7S 2x28.2°E, 1xFreeview

  5. #829
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    .... you probably need "disable netbios = No" putting in smb-user.conf.

    Code:
    ## User changes to Samba config go here
    
    ## You can overrule the insecure defaults and enforce password
    ## protected access to shares by uncommenting the following
    ## line, including the secure settings:
    
    [global]
    #       include = /etc/samba/distro/smb-secure.conf
            disable netbios = No
    
    ## You can hide and veto access to certain directories, e.g. mount points of
    ## other boxes in order to prevent round trips through your LAN
    ## In Samba 4.x this needs to be configured per share:
    
    [Root]
    #       veto files = /ThisBox/OtherBox/AnotherBox/YetAnotherBox/
    #       hide files = /ThisBox/OtherBox/AnotherBox/YetAnotherBox/
    
    [Harddisk]
    #       veto files = /ThisBox/OtherBox/AnotherBox/YetAnotherBox/
    #       hide files = /ThisBox/OtherBox/AnotherBox/YetAnotherBox/
    Settings restores always start with an opkg update, so that'll be why samba installs ok from a backup.

    Starting from scratch, the opkg update seems to be the only way to get it to install.
    Last edited by ccs; 12-10-21 at 17:14.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (12-10-21)

  7. #830

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    can you try this ImageManager version ...
    That worked a treat! Thankyou so much. It’ll save me a lot of hassle in future.

  8. #831
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    Later: I figured it out. Or more correctly I rediscovered what I discovered about 10 months ago.
    I need to edit /etc/samba/distro/smb-global.conf
    and change:
    disable netbios = Yes
    to
    disable netbios = No
    Actually, as I posted earlier, you should be changing smb-user.conf.

  9. #832
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,810
    Thanks
    850
    Thanked 2,414 Times in 1,847 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carpcat View Post
    That worked a treat! Thankyou so much. It’ll save me a lot of hassle in future.
    Thanks, I will commit the change.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    carpcat (12-10-21)

  11. #833
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    10,560
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 3,880 Times in 2,557 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    Could you explain further, when and why is opkg update is needed. I would have thought it would only be needed if samba had been rebuilt.
    opkg update is needed any time a package has changed filename.

  12. #834
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Actually, as I posted earlier, you should be changing smb-user.conf.
    The /etc/samba directory is part of the Vix image, even if you haven't installed samba.

    The /etc/samba directory is part of a settings backup, even if you haven't installed samba.

    Installing samba doesn't touch /etc/samba.

    So, if like me, you always flash and restore settings, all files in /etc/samba will be overwritten, even if a later version came with the image.

    /etc/samba/distro/smb-global.conf was updated fairly recently (all the other config files are over 2 years old), so I've needed to get hold of the latest version.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (14-10-21)

  14. #835
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    I've tried changing my backupmanager directories to include just what I think is needed for samba...

    Code:
    config.backupmanager.backupdirs=[............., '/etc/auto.network', '/etc/samba/smb-user.conf', '/etc/samba/private', '/usr/keys', '/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/AutoBouquetsMaker/providers/terrestrial_finder.xml', '/usr/script', '/etc/samba']
    but those of you still with us will notice that backupmanager forces /etc/samba onto the end of the settings file as well. I give up.

  15. #836
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,537
    Thanks
    184
    Thanked 1,488 Times in 1,155 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Installing samba doesn't touch /etc/samba.
    Installing samba-common does. It includes both smb-user.conf and smb.conf.
    And samba-common is pulled in by samba.

    EDIT: samba-common is installed by default, but samba is not. So a flash and restore will install samba but the restore will overwrite the samba-common files and they won't get updated as the system "knows" it is already installed.

    So yes - the backup should only be saving the user-changeable part of the config.
    Last edited by birdman; 14-10-21 at 12:33.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to birdman For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (14-10-21)

  17. #837
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Installing samba-common does. It includes both smb-user.conf and smb.conf.
    And samba-common is pulled in by samba.

    EDIT: samba-common is installed by default, but samba is not. So a flash and restore will install samba but the restore will overwrite the samba-common files and they won't get updated as the system "knows" it is already installed.

    So yes - the backup should only be saving the user-changeable part of the config.
    Not sure what you're saying here, I've got it all wrong, no I haven't, yes I have.....

    All I've done is check samba (for the umpteenth time), using the gui, from a fresh flash, and report the findings, I'm 100% sure what I've posted is correct.

    I've never heard of samba-common, I doubt anybody else has either, and from where I'm sitting it's not relevant.

  18. #838
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    10,560
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 3,880 Times in 2,557 Posts
    @ccs, tell us what files to drag into the backup from /etc/samba and these can be added to the backup rather than the whole folder.

  19. #839
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,889
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    @ccs, tell us what files to drag into the backup from /etc/samba and these can be added to the backup rather than the whole folder.
    I reckon they're the first two highlighted in red in post #835, the problem is backupmanager forces /etc/samba back into into the settings file (I assume because samba has now been installed) if it's not found in there.

    /etc/samba is backed up by default at the moment, even if samba isn't installed via the network/utilities gui.

    I tried to test it but that addition check which put /etc/samba back caught me out.

    An opkg update would be handy when in network/utilities/....., a settings restore does one.
    Last edited by ccs; 14-10-21 at 19:53.

  20. #840
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 99 Times in 52 Posts
    I have a problem, when I go to setup/user Interface/Skin Setup/Skin I get the spinner and box will reboot in 10 seconds. It did the same in the previous 5.5.015 image. Now have 5.5.016.

    Here is the log report
    Enigma2_debug_2021-10-14_20-11-49.log

    I'm guessing this is the problem.

    Code:
    < 413.4050> File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/Screen.py", line 249, in applySkin
    < 413.4055> self.createGUIScreen(self.instance, self.desktop)
    < 413.4055> File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/Screen.py", line 279, in createGUIScreen
    < 413.4060> f()
    < 413.4060> File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/SkinSelector.py", line 73, in layoutFinished
    < 413.4063> self.refreshList()
    < 413.4063> File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/SkinSelector.py", line 142, in refreshList
    < 413.4066> self.loadPreview()
    < 413.4067> File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/SkinSelector.py", line 147, in loadPreview
    < 413.4071> preview = self.currentEntry[7]
    < 413.4072> TypeError: 'bool' object is not subscriptable
    < 413.4072> [ePyObject] (CallObject(<bound method NumberActionMap.action of <Components.ActionMap.HelpableNumberActionMap object at 0xab697e20>>,('OkCancelActions', 'ok')) failed)
    < 417.0204> [gRC] main thread is non-idle! display spinner!
    Last edited by thecaretaker; 14-10-21 at 20:34.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

Page 56 of 59 FirstFirst ... 6465455565758 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.