Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 36 of 64 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast
Results 526 to 540 of 954

Thread: Testers required for OpenViX Python 3 images

  1. #526
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dsayers View Post
    Can this be added to GitHub please? I keep doing updates to latest image then forget to add it till I get a crash lol

    I would create a pr request but I'm not sure if it works on py2 or if a py version check needs adding.
    In Python 2 the "b" is ignored.

    Code:
    Python 2.7.16 (v2.7.16:413a49145e, Mar  4 2019, 01:37:19) [MSC v.1500 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
    Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
    >>>
    >>> b'%' not in "http"
    True
    >>>
    >>> '%' not in "http"
    True
    >>>
    >>> type("%")
    <type 'str'>
    >>>
    >>> type(b"%")
    <type 'str'>
    >>>
    >>>
    Code:
    Python 3.8.2 (tags/v3.8.2:7b3ab59, Feb 25 2020, 22:45:29) [MSC v.1916 32 bit (Intel)] on win32
    Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
    >>>
    >>> type("%")
    <class 'str'>
    >>>
    >>> type(b"%")
    <class 'bytes'>
    >>>
    Please make a pull request.
    Last edited by Huevos; 30-07-21 at 12:46.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    dsayers (31-07-21)

  3. #527
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    I just noticed. Name of channel is missing on version 007.

    Is that the same for everyone or have I messed up something myself?

    Attachment 62453
    It doesn't like this change in the "Label" renderer: https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...c35b353R28-R30

    I've added a note in the commit so hopefully it will get sorted out soon.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:


  5. #528
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    can you copy the attachment to /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Tools
    .. and post result!
    I'm amazed an indent change at line 95 could fix a problem 30 odd lines later. Py3 must have some very strict syntax rules.

  6. #529
    BrokenUnusableAccount
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I'm amazed an indent change at line 95 could fix a problem 30 odd lines later. Py3 must have some very strict syntax rules.
    Presumably it made the function return with no result (when the if was false) and caused an error somewhere the function was used.

    -

    I'm much more used to strongly typed, compiled languages.
    I cringe at all these run time errors about things that, to me, feel like things that should be compile time errors the developer would be told about the first time he compiled the code.

    I'm definitely not feeling that Python is a good language for large projects.
    Last edited by BrokenUnusableAccount; 30-07-21 at 20:57. Reason: corrections and clarifications :)

  7. #530
    BrokenUnusableAccount
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    It doesn't like this change in the "Label" renderer: https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...c35b353R28-R30

    I've added a note in the commit so hopefully it will get sorted out soon.
    Looks like simonc has already fixed in on GitHub.
    Thank you simonc.

  8. #531
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    .... working fine now in 008.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    twol (31-07-21)

  10. #532
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I'm amazed an indent change at line 95 could fix a problem 30 odd lines later. Py3 must have some very strict syntax rules.
    Nothing to do with Python 3. Function is supposed to return a "dict" but due to that error was returning "None". e.g.

    Code:
    Python 2.7.16 (v2.7.16:413a49145e, Mar  4 2019, 01:37:19) [MSC v.1500 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
    Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
    >>>
    >>> bootslots = None
    >>> bootslots.keys()
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
    AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'keys'
    >>>
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  11. #533
    ccs's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5,836
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 1,089 Posts
    Ok, I guess I'm not used to seeing these two bits of code doing completely different things...


    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	        return bootslots
    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	return bootslots

  12. #534
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8,383
    Thanks
    987
    Thanked 2,888 Times in 2,243 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Ok, I guess I'm not used to seeing these two bits of code doing completely different things...


    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	        return bootslots
    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	return bootslots
    Yep, stupid mistake (indent after changing code sequence) but one that is basic to E2 operation -i.e. do you have a multiboot receiver or not.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 , gbtrio4k, h9se using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  13. #535
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Ok, I guess I'm not used to seeing these two bits of code doing completely different things...


    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	        return bootslots
    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	return bootslots
    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	        return bootslots
    If "bootslots" is not empty it returns Bootslots. If Bootslots is empty it returns None.

    Code:
    	if bootslots:	
    		print("[Multiboot] Bootslots found:", bootslots)
    	return bootslots
    Always returns "bootslots" irrespective of if it is empty or not.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  14. #536

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    888
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 480 Times in 285 Posts
    I was briefly baffled by this too until I remembered that in Python if bootslots is shorthand for if bootslots is not None and len(bootslots) > 0. Python opts to save us a bit of typing and as an extra bonus, make it much easier to introduce bugs!

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to simonc For This Useful Post:

    ccs (31-07-21)

  16. #537
    BrokenUnusableAccount

    Exclamation

    Crash trying PictureViewer Plugin.
    I don't think I ever tried it before.
    I'm not sure why I have this installed but since I have it I guess it must be in the image or in the feeds for the Py3 images.
    Enigma2_debug_2021-07-31_23-26-21.log
    Enigma2_crash_2021-07-31_23-28-03.log

  17. #538
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    Crash trying PictureViewer Plugin.
    I don't think I ever tried it before.
    I'm not sure why I have this installed but since I have it I guess it must be in the image or in the feeds for the Py3 images.
    Enigma2_debug_2021-07-31_23-26-21.log
    Enigma2_crash_2021-07-31_23-28-03.log
    Introduced here: https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...02c3da85cbL571

    Probably caused by a conversion tool.

    Fixed here: https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/c...f6a207bc579c39
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:


  19. #539
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    7,771
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 1,656 Times in 1,305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    It never used to be that much of an issue, but on OE-A 5.0 if you end up running the QT compiles and nodejs at the same time (which happens quite a bit at the moment) they will run upto just under 32 GB of memory plus swap … and if not enough the build will crash
    My memory (often wrong) is that Heuvos also pushes up the thread count, which leaves more processes running at a time and hence increases memory usage.
    Not a good idea if this pushes you to start paging.
    Surely QT and nodejs only get built once, though? They can't be being updated that often.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  20. #540
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    13,582
    Thanks
    2,004
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    My memory (often wrong) is that Heuvos also pushes up the thread count, which leaves more processes running at a time and hence increases memory usage.
    Not a good idea if this pushes you to start paging.
    Surely QT and nodejs only get built once, though? They can't be being updated that often.
    I have BB_NUMBER_THREADS = "32" and it has always worked fine, but anyway that is nothing to do with compile threads.

    I have 8 cores so it makes sense that I can run 8 compiles simultaneously... PARALLEL_MAKE = "-j 8", https://www.yoctoproject.org/docs/la...-PARALLEL_MAKE.

    I run out of RAM just building the "nodejs" module on its own...

    Code:
    cd /home/openvix/5.6/builds/openvix/Py3/vuultimo4k
    . env.source
    bitbake nodejs
    QT and nodejs will get rebuilt every time their repos are updated, which is pretty frequent.

    BTW, so far no user has even noticed these are not in my builds.
    Last edited by Huevos; 01-08-21 at 09:46.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

Page 36 of 64 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.