Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [ZGemma H7S] Play a paused timeshift not working most of the time

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    [ZGemma H7S] Play a paused timeshift not working most of the time

    Recently, when I pause a live sat broadcast, pressing Play/Pause again to play it does nothing; the broadcast stays paused. The only way to get the broadcast back is to press Stop and choose to leave timeshift . It works once or twice after a reboot but then fails again. Pause/Play works perfectly on stored timer recordings.

    I upgraded from OpenVIX 5.3.022 to 5.4.009 recently and I think that is when the problem started. I've since upgraded to 5.4.012.

    I have attached two logs with debug turned on. PlayPauseWorkingEnigma2_debug_2021-05-22_14-30-37.log is it working correctly after a reboot. Play/Pause starts at line 789. PlayPauseNotWorkingEnigma2_debug_2021-05-23_11-02-58.log is it not working correctly. Play/Pause in this instance starts at line 5791.

    Any advise would be appreciated.

  2. #2

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I spent the day testing various scenarios around the disk not spinning up fast enough and play/pause worked every time. At one point after playing a live stream timeshift I stopped the stream and answered yes to leaving timeshift and not to save as a movie, then pressed stop again and was asked the same question. I'm thinking maybe the box thought it was in timeshift already, causing play/pause to not work reliably.

    All seems to be fine again.

  3. #3

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,732
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked 577 Times in 467 Posts
    I rarely have a problem with timeshift on my H7S. About 1% of the time (ie once every few weeks) it wont resume but I can live with that as thats actually good compared to any other receiver I had used in the past. Pressing stop gets me back to live tv.
    Timeshift is heavily dependent on drivers provided by the manufacturer and cant be changed by image developers. However the same drivers are in use in both the 5.3 and 5.4 images (the last update was in 2019) so that would rule that one out. If this is happening a lot then I would suspect it may be related to your hard drive rather than the image.
    Zgemma H7S running OpenVIX 5.4, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to ronand For This Useful Post:

    Mick Seymour (28-05-21)

  5. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks.

    The drive is new, which could be a good or bad thing. It was fitted about a week before the problem started. I've had two other drives fail (corrupted recordings or not coming on line) since the box was new 16 months ago. If the problem returns, I'll swap out the SATA cable and see what that does.

  6. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Not sure if anyone worked out what was causing this, but I have the same problem on a Zgemma H9 Twin. The drive worked fine for Timeshift in my Vu+ Solo2. Everything else works fine, just Timeshift. As you had, it stops when I press Play/Pause, but then won't start again. I don't use the feature very often, but I do use it for Formula 1 to sync up with the radio commentary.
    Zgemma H9 Twin with 2Tb M2 storage
    28.2E, 19.2E, 13E via 2 dishes
    OpenViX 5.4

  7. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I use this feature just about every day.

    I swapped the drive back to the previous one and replaced the SATA cable. Pause/play worked for a couple of days, as it always does after a reboot, but then would not resume again. I figure it can't be the drive or cable as the drive checks out fine.

    What I did the last time it happened was reboot the gui rather than the whole box and resume worked again. It's been ok for 5 days now.

    I don't really know what a gui reboot does but I wonder if the gui gets tired or has a memory leak of some kind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.