Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unicable II vs quad LNB - help with new multi-feed / multi-room setup

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unicable II vs quad LNB - help with new multi-feed / multi-room setup

    I would kindly appreciate your help in planning my first major satellite installation in my home.

    - I have 5 coax cable runs from the roof to the server room (4 for satellite, 1 for terrestrial+FM radio).
    - I will be using the T-90 toroidal dish and would like to have at least 5 satellite feeds (0.8W, 13E, 19E, 28.2E, 36E) + separate antennas for terrestrial and FM radio.
    - From the server room I have coax runs to wall plates in 6 rooms (6 TVs). I have used standard tripple-output (SAT/TV/FM) wall plates. Server room is connected to living room with a conduit, so any number of additonal coax can be pulled.
    - I plan to have FBC receivers with recording in 2 locations (living room and server room, with Gigablue or VU+), the other 4 locations will use unicable-compliant TVs with built-in DVB-T2/C/S2 tuners without recording.

    The old-school solution would be to install 5 quad LNBs (e.g. Inverto Black Ultra or Megasat Diavolo), add 5x 1x8 DiseqC's on the roof, run 4 sat cables + 1 terrestrial/FM cable to server room, and then dostributing to wallplates after combining SAT+TV/FM with 1x2 splitters. To get recording in the living room, 2 out of 4 signals should go there, with remaining two split among other rooms.

    My question is whether there is a more efficient and future-proof way of doing this, e.g:
    1) Can I use 5 Unicable II LNBs (i.e. one for each satellite feed)?
    2) I only have 4 coax cables for SAT running to the server room. How can I transfer signal from 5 satellite feeds (and maybe more than 5 in the future)? Is there a diseqC equivalent for Unicable II?
    3) If so, is there a way of avoiding Unicable 2 multiswitches which require proprietary programming?
    4) Can terrestrial/FM signal be combined with the unicable II SAT signal?
    5) Is there a way to optimize my setup to improve the cost efficiency of running a Unicable II solution (e.g. sticking with only 4 satellite feeds etc).

    Many thanks in advance for your help and apologies for the long story. I would also appreciate any recommendations for specific items to purchase (set receivers, LNBs, switches, splitters/combiners etc).

  2. #2

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unicable II vs quad LNB - help with brand new multi-feed / multi-room setup

    I would kindly appreciate your help in planning my first major satellite installation in my home.

    - I have 5 coax cable runs from the roof to the server room (4 for satellite, 1 for terrestrial+FM radio).
    - I will be using the T-90 toroidal dish and would like to have at least 5 satellite feeds (0.8W, 13E, 19E, 28.2E, 36E) + separate antennas for terrestrial and FM radio.
    - From the server room I have coax runs to wall plates in 6 rooms (6 TVs). I have used standard tripple-output (SAT/TV/FM) wall plates. Server room is connected to living room with a conduit, so any number of additonal coax can be pulled.
    - I plan to have FBC receivers with recording in 2 locations (living room and server room, with Gigablue or VU+), the other 4 locations will use unicable-compliant TVs with built-in DVB-T2/C/S2 tuners without recording.

    The old-school solution would be to install 5 quad LNBs (e.g. Inverto Black Ultra or Megasat Diavolo), add 5x 1x8 DiseqC's on the roof, run 4 sat cables + 1 terrestrial/FM cable to server room, and then dostributing to wallplates after combining SAT+TV/FM with 1x2 splitters. To get recording in the living room, 2 out of 4 signals should go there, with remaining two split among other rooms.

    My question is whether there is a more efficient and future-proof way of doing this, e.g:
    1) Can I use 5 Unicable II LNBs (i.e. one for each satellite feed)?
    2) I only have 4 coax cables for SAT running to the server room. How can I transfer signal from 5 satellite feeds (and maybe more than 5 in the future)? Is there a diseqC equivalent for Unicable II?
    3) If so, is there a way of avoiding Unicable 2 multiswitches which require proprietary programming?
    4) Can terrestrial/FM signal be combined with the unicable II SAT signal?
    5) Is there a way to optimize my setup to improve the cost efficiency of running a Unicable II solution (e.g. sticking with only 4 satellite feeds etc).

    Many thanks in advance for your help and apologies for the long story. I would also appreciate any recommendations for specific items to purchase (set receivers, LNBs, switches, splitters/combiners etc).

  3. #3

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,964
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,386 Times in 1,099 Posts
    Hi,
    I have no experience with Diseqc switches.

    3.) in normal cases unicable switches need no special programming. Default is often already useful.
    4.) depends on the multiswitch but they do not interfere. Terrestrial is <1GHz and Sat >1GHz.

    I use a unicable switch with 6 outputs and 4 frequencies each.

    The JPS1706-4T/M can handle up to 8 Sat with wide band LNBs.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  4. #4

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
    Watching as I have exactly the same question minus the multi-room setup.

  5. #5

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bumping this one, guys - please help! Please also see a diagram attached - would this work? It uses 5 Inverto Unicable II LNBs.


    Sat Diagram Mar 2021.jpg

  6. #6
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,406
    Thanks
    23,325
    Thanked 25,879 Times in 7,580 Posts
    I think you're best to stick with Multi-switch, you may find unicable LNB's are to wide to use them next to each for 13deg and 19deg.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, AX HD61 COMBO, ZGEMMA H9 TWIN, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  7. #7
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,831
    Thanks
    1,761
    Thanked 3,623 Times in 2,375 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sicilian View Post
    I think you're best to stick with Multi-switch, you may find unicable LNB's are to wide to use them next to each for 13deg and 19deg.
    There is quite a bit of space on a T90. On mine, I've got LNBs at 7W, 5W, 1W, 7E, 9E, 13E, 16E, 19E, 23E and 26E. You can get away with 3 spacing with most normal LNBs.

  8. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you, Sicilian, for this important observation! What about DUR-line UK 124 (24443) Unicable II LNB? That one seems significantly narrower than the bulky Inverto. Assuming they would fit, is it ok to cascade them so aggressively (i.e. with 4-5 combiners)? My fear is they'd kill the signal (despite the power inserter in the end).

    Regarding multiswitches, Jultec are probably the best, but expensive as hell. Inverto (UWT-110) are better priced, but seem to be power hungry. Are there any good alternatives (especially given that I would like to have 5 LNBs, not 2 or 4)? (I could live with 4 LNBs, of course, but for a greenfield project wanted to test all options before scaling back).
    Last edited by Barbudo; 23-03-21 at 22:50.

  9. #9
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,924
    Thanks
    5,870
    Thanked 8,601 Times in 5,800 Posts
    Have a look at Unitron 9775 or 9774 switch

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    olisun (27-03-21)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.