Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: enigma crash - maybe related to crossepg glitching

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.4.008
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Attachments
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: enigma crash - maybe related to crossepg glitching

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    enigma crash - maybe related to crossepg glitching

    Installed OpenVix onto new Gigablue Trio box yesterday. Today, CrossEPG began glitching(corrupting external 64GB EXT4 usb files) when trying manual download. Reformatted multiple times as well as re-installing CrossEPG but issue persisted. Tried different (known good) EXT4 usb key but alas no joy.

    This crash then happened.
    Crash file from /home/root/logs attached.


    I've also attached images showing CrossEPG db info(before format and after format)

    Single sat tuner for Astra 28.2 and single dvbt for Irish aerial channels.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hmmm.

    so after some more googling, i found this https://www.linuxsat-support.com/thr...try-to-run-it/

    same general issue as me - cross epg related except other user was on OpenATV on ZGemma with different skin.
    same crash log error. i'm just going to re-install openvix and start from scratch.

  3. #3
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,339
    Thanks
    800
    Thanked 2,218 Times in 1,689 Posts
    Crossepg is no longer a default because there are other replacements installed use opentv plugin
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  4. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Crossepg is no longer a default because there are other replacements installed use opentv plugin
    I only installed CrossEPG because it seems t mentioned everytime EPG population arises(on other forums also).

    I'll uninstall it and see how I get on.

    I'm still trying to get my head around the EPG population (I have sat and aerial).

    Does CrossEPG just pull info from the satellite feed and not the internet?

    Does the default replacement pull info from the satellite feed and/or internet?
    Does it populate Aerial or just satellite EPG channel info?

  5. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,268
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 403 Times in 256 Posts
    I use CrossEPG without an issue and have done for long time. Currently using 5.4.007 though. EPG is saved to my actual HDD.

    You do say you use Sky UK only but saw RTE on channel number 004 there

    With regards to OpenTV plugin, last I read it looks like they have found the issue but it's being tested as we speak so not available on normal image release yet.
    Last edited by bbbuk; 17-03-21 at 10:41.

  6. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [QUOTE=bbbuk;511614

    You do say you use Sky UK only but saw RTE on channel number 004 there
    [/QUOTE]

    Not sure where I said that. I use Freesat(Sat) Bouquets and Saorview(Irish aerial) bouquets then created a bouquet with both.

    I uninstalled CrossEPG and deleted EPG cache. Rebooted box (not just standyby) and then when I go to EPG screenopenvix epg screen - post crossepg install.jpgopenvix epg-importer manual - post crossepg install.jpgopenvix epg-importer import sources post crossepg install.jpgopenvix epg-importer config post crossepg install.jpg
    these are the screens I see. No source listed so can't do manual import.

    Box has working internet connection.

  7. #7

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ssh-ing to box shows /etc/epgimport just has a readme.txt.

    Even after uninstall of crossepg and reboot, there remains a `/usr/crossepg/` dir which contians both a crossepg.config file and a `providers` dir which has rytec* conf files..


    Code:
    root@tvbox-frontroom:/usr/crossepg/providers# cat rytec_uk_ireland___freesat.conf
    description=UK/Ireland - FreeSat
    protocol=xmltv
    channels_url_0=http://rytecepg.epgspot.com/epg_data/rytec.channels.xml.xz
    channels_url_1=http://rytecepg.dyndns.tv/epg_data/rytec.channels.xml.xz
    epg_url_0=http://rytecepg.epgspot.com/epg_data/rytecUK_Basic.xz
    epg_url_1=http://rytecepg.dyndns.tv/epg_data/rytecUK_Basic.xz

  8. #8

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,268
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 403 Times in 256 Posts
    When did it start doing this? Have you just upgraded to latest version? Did it happen on previous image version you were using?

    I don't have any issues on my Vu+ Duo 4K SE but still on 5.4.007.

  9. #9

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    411
    Thanked 1,018 Times in 863 Posts
    Try the opentv plugin, as advised in post #3.

  10. #10

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    When did it start doing this? Have you just upgraded to latest version? Did it happen on previous image version you were using?


    New box. Only image I flashed was image i downloaded(latest openvix multiboot). There was no previous version - i just started using enigma box.

    Seems like there remains a lot of CrossEPG references after uninstall:

    Code:
    root@tvbox-frontroom:~# find / -name "*cross*"
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg/crossepg.descriptors.db
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg/crossepg.log
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg/crossepg.indexes.db
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg/crossepg.aliases.db
    /etc/enigma2/crossepg/crossepg.headers.db
    /usr/crossepg
    /usr/crossepg/crossepg.config
    /usr/share/enigma2/YouViX-Blue/crossepg
    /usr/share/enigma2/ViX-Night-HD/crossepg
    /usr/share/enigma2/YouViX-Common/screens/crossepgdownloadbox.png
    /usr/share/enigma2/Magic-FHD/icons/selectioncross.png
    /usr/share/enigma2/Magic-FHD/crossepg
    /usr/share/enigma2/ViX-Day-HD/crossepg
    /media/hdd/crossepg
    /media/hdd/crossepg/crossepg.descriptors.db
    /media/hdd/crossepg/crossepg.headers.db
    /media/hdd/crossepg/crossepg.aliases.db
    /media/hdd/crossepg/crossepg.indexes.db

    Could you post the output of running ls against `/etc/epgimport` on your box?

  11. #11

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    411
    Thanked 1,018 Times in 863 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    When did it start doing this? Have you just upgraded to latest version? Did it happen on previous image version you were using?

    I don't have any issues on my Vu+ Duo 4K SE but still on 5.4.007.
    It's a brand new box.

    Reflash without restoring any settings to get rid of CrossEPG.
    Last edited by ccs; 17-03-21 at 12:35.

  12. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,923
    Thanks
    5,870
    Thanked 8,601 Times in 5,800 Posts
    You will need to delete the folder on hdd too

  13. #13

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,268
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 403 Times in 256 Posts
    Telnet/putty into box and type following commands, one-by-one, which should remove all history of crossepg (note any errors after typing the opkg remove command):

    Code:
    init 4
    opkg remove enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-crossepg
    opkg update
    rm -rf /etc/enigma2/crossepg
    rm -rf /usr/crossepg
    rm -rf /media/hdd/crossepg
    rm -rf /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/CrossEPG
    Reboot box with following command:
    Code:
    reboot
    once box has rebooted, type the following command from telnet/putty (note any errors after typing it):
    Code:
    opkg install enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-crossepg
    Reboot box again with reboot command (this is important).

    Now setup CrossEPG for FreeSat/Sky using OpenTV as provider (this is what I use) and see if you get errors still.

    Don't setup CrossEPG for anything else just yet. If all okay then setup CrossEPG for anything else but one by one to see where/if any more errors happen.

  14. #14

    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    411
    Thanked 1,018 Times in 863 Posts
    @satteliter, in case you're getting confused by conflicting advice, here's a link to Opentv, suggested in post #3.

    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...ghlight=opentv

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    bbbuk (17-03-21),Huevos (18-03-21)

  16. #15

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    was just reading up some more on how those technologies work and then went poking around the filesystem.

    my understanding is:

    OpenTV just reads epg info for satellite channels off the satellite feed. It does this when a sat tuner is "available" (ie multiple sat tuners or when box is in standby). EPGImport then updates the in-mem EPG?

    I would still come up short for aerial channels which would only initially populate when an aerial channel is viewed after box is turned on(edit: should say as long as EIT is enabled which it is). which I'm guessing is why other forums(where sat+aerial is more common) mention crossepg so much.


    Should EPGRefresh be used in place of EPGImport to cover both aerial and satellite epg import & refresh?
    Is there a user wiki or dev wiki for openvix anywhere?
    Last edited by satteliter; 17-03-21 at 22:47. Reason: add part about EIT

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.