Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Tuner A not honouring manual UB and frequency?

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts

    Tuner A not honouring manual UB and frequency?

    Hi
    I'm new to Enigma2/Openvix and also to full band capture and dSCR/unicable technology.

    I have just set up a Gigablue Quad 4K box with Unitron dSCR-54 (which I think is an old model dedicated to Sky)

    After setting up how I thought correctly I have been getting failed tunes.

    The entry for Tuner A appear not to be respected, rather a preset Johannson dSCR switch is being reported (I think its the last one played with before I switched to userdefined). The tuner setup screen is set like this:
    1_0_19_1B1D_802_2_11A0000_0_0_0_20210204150322.jpg

    but running cat /etc/enigma2/settings... ...
    produces this

    Code:
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.bootuptime=0
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.format=jess
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.lof=unicable
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.powerinserter=True
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.scrList=3
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.unicable=unicable_matrix
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.unicableManufacturer=Johansson
    config.Nims.0.advanced.lnb.1.unicableProduct=9750I
    config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.282.lnb=1
    config.Nims.0.advanced.sats=282
    config.Nims.0.configMode=advanced
    config.Nims.0.diseqcA=282
    config.Nims.0.diseqcB=3601
    config.Nims.0.diseqcC=3601
    config.Nims.0.diseqcD=3601
    config.Nims.0.powerMeasurement=False
    config.Nims.1.advanced.lnb.1.format=jess
    config.Nims.1.advanced.lnb.1.lof=unicable
    config.Nims.1.advanced.lnb.1.scrfrequency=1280
    config.Nims.1.advanced.lnb.1.scrList=9
    config.Nims.1.advanced.sat.282.lnb=1
    config.Nims.1.advanced.sats=282
    config.Nims.1.advanced.unicableconnected=True
    config.Nims.1.advanced.unicableconnectedTo=0
    config.Nims.1.configMode=advanced
    config.Nims.1.diseqcA=3601
    config.Nims.1.diseqcB=3601
    config.Nims.1.diseqcC=3601
    config.Nims.1.diseqcD=3601
    config.Nims.1.powerMeasurement=False
    
    ...
    ... etc
    As shown above, Tuners B ~ H which are slaved off A are respecting manual instructions.
    I'm hoping that my workaround - choosing one of the preset switches that has the same Userband and frequency as I need for the dSCR-54 will work but am I doing something wrong or is this a bug?

    Also do I need to do anything else?
    Last edited by something_fishy; 04-02-21 at 16:30. Reason: typo in cat string

  2. #2
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,284
    Thanks
    796
    Thanked 2,208 Times in 1,682 Posts
    Seem to remember that on these Sky LNB,s there are dedicated bands for Sky and the rest for user - you need to look at the specs
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  3. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    @Twol
    Yes you are correct.
    They are not using standard UB numbers or frequencies. However they can be tuned by the box when the settings are correctly configured as a user defined Unicable switch.
    My problem is that the userdefined settings are not sticking for one tuner. I would assume that the GUI simply writes to the /etc/enigma2/settings file, in my case it seems to for tuners B~H (which are all driven by the connection to Tuner A) but not Tuner A itself.

  4. #4
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,284
    Thanks
    796
    Thanked 2,208 Times in 1,682 Posts
    The other issue is that is better to add to the Unicable.xml in usr/share/enigma2 if my memory is correct (I am not near any boxes) .. copy to PC ,edit and under a unique LNB name add the information and copy back. You should be able to see the requirements from the olther definitions. Then system reset the box and reset up the Gigablue . Once it starts picking up LNB‘s & switches that are not correct you can get issues.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  5. #5

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    Thank you
    Is there a primer on the syntax. I've just taken a quick look and I can see the frequencies but not the UB numbers.
    The dSCR-54 has UB numbers 3 (1680), 9 (1280), 11 (1380) and then 14 (1480) ~ 26 (1930).
    Is it a matter of inputting an array of frequencies (1~n). In which case should I just put nonsense frequencies for the unused UB numbers or is there an #N/A equivalent.

  6. #6
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    This is the entry at the moment.

    Code:
            <manufacturer name="Unitron-Johansson">
                <product name="9732" format="dSCR" scrs="1210,1420,1680,2040,985,1050,1115,1275,1340,1485,1550,1615,1745,1810,1875,1940"/>
            </manufacturer>
    Dcss-422 has same frequencies

    Adjust it to match your frequencies. It is just a list of frequencies.

  7. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    I think that the Sky UK frequencies will not work with Enigma2. You will need to use the frequencies in the right hand side column, labelled as EN50494 and EN50607. Can you post a picture showing the frequencies please?

  8. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    @abu baniaz
    The dSCR-54 offers only the sky frequencies (which is why I guess it was 30 quid off ebay).
    When I mismatched the UB numbers (wrong) and frequencies (right) I don't think it tuned, I presume that the UB number is how it instructs the switch (??? I don't know much about dSCR).
    Manually setting them in the userdefined options it appears to work. If the user defined instruction had stuck for tuner A I would no issue (I think).

    I will have a play around with the xml file and report back

  9. #9
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    I found a clear picture which says refer to manual for EN50494 and EN50607. These are the Unicable/Jess standards.

  10. #10

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    @abu baniaz
    I am using the dCSR-54 not the dcss-422. The dSCR-54 only has Sky frequencies (but was easier to install in my setup).

    However I have been able to get this work by selecting userbands and frequencies from the dSCR-54 that the Gigablue box likes.

    In my case I added a line for the dSCR-54 to unicable.xml as suggested by twol. So the Unitron-Johnson entry now reads:
    Code:
    		<manufacturer name="Unitron-Johansson">
    			<product name="9732" format="dSCR" scrs="1210,1420,1680,2040,985,1050,1115,1275,1340,1485,1550,1615,1745,1810,1875,1940"/>
    			<product name="dSCR-54" format="dSCR" scrs="0000,0000,1680,0000,0000,0000,0000,0000,1280,0000,1380,0000,0000,1480,980,1030,1080,1130,1530,1580,1630,1730,1780,1830,1880,1930"/>
    		</manufacturer>
    (the 0000 entries are to pad out the frequency array for userbands that the dSCR-65 doesn't offer).

    However it is not necessary to do this. Add Tuner A using UB 3 from the 9732 Unitron-Johansson switch (per my original post), all subsequent tuners can be set up using:
    HTML Code:
    (Unicable/JESS) type = SCR (Unicable/JESS) User defined
    which allows the Channel/userband and frequencies to be defined manually.

    The frequencies which worked for me are:
    Tuner A UB=3 Freq=1680
    Tuner B UB=22 Freq=1730
    Tuner C UB=24 Freq=1830
    Tuner D UB=26 Freq=1930
    Tuner E UB=25 Freq=1880
    Tuner F UB=16 Freq=1030
    Tuner G UB=19 Freq=1530
    Tuner H UB=18 Freq=1130
    I did a full scan of 28.2 frequencies after adding each tuner to verify. It can be terminated after a few seconds as it's obvious which frequencies work and which don't.

    I don't know if other UBs/freqs will work. For "bad" UBs/frequencies I was getting tune failed which writes a zero duration file. With these settings I can get 8 simultaneous good recordings.

    I've been stress testing over the last couple of days and this works reliably over multiple reboots and multiple timer records torture tests.

    I thought this might be useful given that these switches are pretty ubiquitous and cheaply available on ebay. You will probably need to budget for a power supply. Mine would work powered from the quattro LNB inputs of my multiswitch, but I had the feeling it was on the edge (20v PSU fashioned from old lenovo PSU).

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to something_fishy For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (06-02-21),Willo3092 (06-02-21)

  12. #11
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6,284
    Thanks
    796
    Thanked 2,208 Times in 1,682 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by something_fishy View Post
    @abu baniaz
    I am using the dCSR-54 not the dcss-422. The dSCR-54 only has Sky frequencies (but was easier to install in my setup).

    However I have been able to get this work by selecting userbands and frequencies from the dSCR-54 that the Gigablue box likes.

    In my case I added a line for the dSCR-54 to unicable.xml as suggested by twol. So the Unitron-Johnson entry now reads:
    Code:
    		<manufacturer name="Unitron-Johansson">
    			<product name="9732" format="dSCR" scrs="1210,1420,1680,2040,985,1050,1115,1275,1340,1485,1550,1615,1745,1810,1875,1940"/>
    			<product name="dSCR-54" format="dSCR" scrs="0000,0000,1680,0000,0000,0000,0000,0000,1280,0000,1380,0000,0000,1480,980,1030,1080,1130,1530,1580,1630,1730,1780,1830,1880,1930"/>
    		</manufacturer>
    (the 0000 entries are to pad out the frequency array for userbands that the dSCR-65 doesn't offer).

    However it is not necessary to do this. Add Tuner A using UB 3 from the 9732 Unitron-Johansson switch (per my original post), all subsequent tuners can be set up using:
    HTML Code:
    (Unicable/JESS) type = SCR (Unicable/JESS) User defined
    which allows the Channel/userband and frequencies to be defined manually.

    The frequencies which worked for me are:
    Tuner A UB=3 Freq=1680
    Tuner B UB=22 Freq=1730
    Tuner C UB=24 Freq=1830
    Tuner D UB=26 Freq=1930
    Tuner E UB=25 Freq=1880
    Tuner F UB=16 Freq=1030
    Tuner G UB=19 Freq=1530
    Tuner H UB=18 Freq=1130
    I did a full scan of 28.2 frequencies after adding each tuner to verify. It can be terminated after a few seconds as it's obvious which frequencies work and which don't.

    I don't know if other UBs/freqs will work. For "bad" UBs/frequencies I was getting tune failed which writes a zero duration file. With these settings I can get 8 simultaneous good recordings.

    I've been stress testing over the last couple of days and this works reliably over multiple reboots and multiple timer records torture tests.

    I thought this might be useful given that these switches are pretty ubiquitous and cheaply available on ebay. You will probably need to budget for a power supply. Mine would work powered from the quattro LNB inputs of my multiswitch, but I had the feeling it was on the edge (20v PSU fashioned from old lenovo PSU).
    Nice documentation - and good to see that it all works. Judging by some recent issues a power supply should always be used for this type of LNB.
    I did wonder about adding the 0‘s padding.
    Perhaps Abu will add it into the Git, if not I will issue a pull when I am back and able to do this stuff (about another week)
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  13. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    I won't add the Sky userbands to the file on GIT, especially as the unit supports the industry standard values. Possibly why the comment was made about frequencies that the receiver likes. Someone is likely to select the wrong ones (000). I couldn't find the user guide referred to on the device.


    I have the dCSS-422. I'll try it some time.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #13
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    Pictures of the dcss-422 as well as Triax units attached. They have identical bands.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #14
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,823
    Thanks
    5,841
    Thanked 8,563 Times in 5,776 Posts
    Sky documentation added
    Attached Files Attached Files

  16. #15

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 6 Posts
    @ Abu Baniaz
    I couldn't find the user guide referred to on the device.
    Nor could I. The only documentation I could find was a Sky installation guide which makes no mention of dSCR modes for either the dSCR-54 or the dCSS-422.

    The form factor of the dSCR-54 is identical to the Unisat 9744. This is available in a sky version that will also work in EN50494 and EN50607 modes. The manual makes no reference to how you switch between the two, the brochure suggests that it automatic. I don't know what needs to be sent to the switch to flip between the two modes. Both documents are available here:

    https://unitrongroup.com/en/products...html#downloads

    With my dSCR-54 if I simply input UB=1 and freq=1210 in user-defined mode I get nothing.

    I've just tried selecting one of the null UBs (ie one with frequency=0000). Obviously a channel scan yields nothing, but at least it doesn't crash the box...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.