Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Setting up Sky UK epg download

  1. #1
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,544
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 3,546 Times in 2,323 Posts

    Setting up Sky UK epg download

    Setting up Sky UK epg download.

    OpenViX 5.4.005 or greater:

    4.jpg

    Be certain to have a tuner set up for 28 east:

    6.jpg

    Go to EPG menu and select "OpenTV EPG downloader":

    1.jpg

    Change "Enable OpenTV download" to "yes":

    2.jpg

    Press GREEN to save:

    3.jpg

    That is it. The download will happen automatically.

    If you only have a single tuner receiver the download will occur when the receiver is in standby.

    It is also possible to force a download from the Extensions menu (press BLUE from live TV):

    7.jpg

    Lastly it might be an idea to disable "Freesat EPG" if you are using the OpenTV EPG downloader so as to not have 2 sets of conflicting EPG data:

    5.jpg
    Last edited by Huevos; 30-01-21 at 10:04.

  2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (24-01-21),BefuddledBrian (24-01-21),CRUMBLIN (24-01-21),dsayers (24-01-21),gws (24-01-21),ronand (24-01-21),Sicilian (25-01-21),Willo3092 (24-01-21)

  3. #2

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
    How do I get to the 1st screen "about"?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JonMMM For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (24-01-21)

  5. #3
    BefuddledBrian's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    near Reading, England
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts

    Question

    1) So I just choose any time for running autotimer rather than having it done automatically after EPG Refresh finishes?

    2) If I also or only have Freeview can I continue to use EPG Refresh for that?


    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    If you only have a single tuner receiver the download will occur when the receiver is in standby.
    Presumably it's downloaded on a schedule whether the box is in standby or not and just doesn't do anything if there isn't a free tuner?
    Or does it wait until one is free?

  6. #4
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,544
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 3,546 Times in 2,323 Posts
    If there is a configured tuner available that won't interrupt the currently play service it will be used. If the only available tuner is in use the download will happen in standby.

    No download will occur while recording.

    First download attempt is 5 minutes after booting or immediately after enabling.

    Interval between successful downloads is 6 hours.

    Following the above logic, if it is not possible to make a download a retry will occur every 15 minutes until a tuner becomes available.

    If necessary you can force the download from blue button menu.

    Time will tell if this is a good choice of timing.

    Anyway don't worry too much about the logic... The name of the game is to keep the EPG populated... and for me during testing the EPG has remained permanently populated.
    Last edited by Huevos; 24-01-21 at 23:58.

  7. #5
    BefuddledBrian's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    near Reading, England
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    I just built and tried a developer build 5.4.005.012 on my Zgemma H7S.
    It appears that EPG Refresh is forcibly uninstalled and opentvzapper is forcibly installed even though I restored my old settings.

    If this is supposed to help people who don't want to spend time learning how to get the best out of OpenViX and things like EPG Refresh, I feel I should point out that it will be a bit of a disaster for anyone using EPG Refresh for anything other than 28.2E (I was using EPG Refresh for Freeview). Also if you used EPG Refresh to trigger running autotimers like I did I presume you'll find autotimers never run.

    You need to decide what you're aiming for ultimate versatility and power or simple out of the box ready to go.
    If it's the latter I'm probably abandoning OpenViX.

    Now I have a ton of new stuff I need to spend time investigating if I want OpenViX to still be what I wanted - ultimate versatility and power.

    I now have to figure out:
    1) What triggered the unwanted removal of EPG Refresh? Is there any danger that it'll be silently uninstalled again at some point?
    2) Do I try and go back to what I was doing before where EPG Refresh fetched all my EPGs or do I let opentvzapper get the sky EPG and use something else for Freeview EPG? What will the something else be?
    3) What is the best way to fit all this together?

    I'd trawl through all your extensive documentation for the new release and read all the comments in the source code on github except that, THERE ISN'T ANY and THERE ARN'T ANY.
    In fact a recent commit to the source code actually removed a small comment rather than correct it!
    Last edited by BefuddledBrian; 25-01-21 at 00:18.

  8. #6
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,811
    Thanks
    5,837
    Thanked 8,555 Times in 5,772 Posts
    A plugin restore is actually a re-installation of what the user had installed. Any packages that are pre-installed based on image configuration are never restored/re-installed.

    If you want to use EPG refresh, just install it. Subsequent restores will re-install it because it will fall into the category of "user installs".

    EDIT:
    There will be a user prompt before people update anyway.

  9. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,811
    Thanks
    5,837
    Thanked 8,555 Times in 5,772 Posts
    @BefuddledBrian Please review correctness of your posts.

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/oe-al...071fdd830c5680

    States:
    [OpenViX] Add OpentvZapper as preloaded
    Remove epgrefresh.
    The other commit to about removal of comment also states reasons why in the chain of commits.

    Please post what is helpful and beneficial to others.

  10. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    If there is a configured tuner available that won't interrupt the currently play service it will be used. If the only available tuner is in use the download will happen in standby.

    No download will occur while recording.

    First download attempt is 5 minutes after booting or immediately after enabling.

    Interval between successful downloads is 6 hours.

    Following the above logic, if it is not possible to make a download a retry will occur every 15 minutes until a tuner becomes available.

    If necessary you can force the download from blue button menu.

    Time will tell if this is a good choice of timing.

    Anyway don't worry too much about the logic... The name of the game is to keep the EPG populated... and for me during testing the EPG has remained permanently populated.
    Crossepg will do that:
    Set the automatic download time to, say 08:14
    Then change to hourly updates while in standby

    Crossepg will then perform hourly updates from 08:14 untill midnight .
    Found through experimentation

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk

  11. #9
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,544
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 3,546 Times in 2,323 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by goRt View Post
    Crossepg will do that:
    Set the automatic download time to, say 08:14
    Then change to hourly updates while in standby

    Crossepg will then perform hourly updates from 08:14 untill midnight .
    Found through experimentation
    If you want to use CrossEPG use it.

  12. #10
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,544
    Thanks
    1,734
    Thanked 3,546 Times in 2,323 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    I just built and tried a developer build 5.4.005.012 on my Zgemma H7S.
    It appears that EPG Refresh is forcibly uninstalled and opentvzapper is forcibly installed even though I restored my old settings.

    If this is supposed to help people who don't want to spend time learning how to get the best out of OpenViX and things like EPG Refresh, I feel I should point out that it will be a bit of a disaster for anyone using EPG Refresh for anything other than 28.2E (I was using EPG Refresh for Freeview). Also if you used EPG Refresh to trigger running autotimers like I did I presume you'll find autotimers never run.

    You need to decide what you're aiming for ultimate versatility and power or simple out of the box ready to go.
    If it's the latter I'm probably abandoning OpenViX.

    Now I have a ton of new stuff I need to spend time investigating if I want OpenViX to still be what I wanted - ultimate versatility and power.

    I now have to figure out:
    1) What triggered the unwanted removal of EPG Refresh? Is there any danger that it'll be silently uninstalled again at some point?
    2) Do I try and go back to what I was doing before where EPG Refresh fetched all my EPGs or do I let opentvzapper get the sky EPG and use something else for Freeview EPG? What will the something else be?
    3) What is the best way to fit all this together?

    I'd trawl through all your extensive documentation for the new release and read all the comments in the source code on github except that, THERE ISN'T ANY and THERE ARN'T ANY.
    In fact a recent commit to the source code actually removed a small comment rather than correct it!
    Nothing to figure out. It is just not pre-installed. Your config is already loaded in your backup so if you want to use epgrefresh just download it from the feeds.

    BTW, I can't see how adding something extra to make things less of a challenge for our users , removes "versatility and power". This update does not prevent any functionality that existed previously.

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (25-01-21),Sicilian (25-01-21)

  14. #11
    BefuddledBrian's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    near Reading, England
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    Nothing to figure out. It is just not pre-installed. Your config is already loaded in your backup so if you want to use epgrefresh just download it from the feeds.
    For one thing I needed to figure out whether EPG Refresh would by removed every time I restored a backup.

  15. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,811
    Thanks
    5,837
    Thanked 8,555 Times in 5,772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BefuddledBrian View Post
    For one thing I needed to figure out whether EPG Refresh would by removed every time I restored a backup.
    If a plugin is pre-installed in the image, it will exist in a "virgin" image. You do not have to install it.
    If a plugin is removed from the list of pre-installed items, a software update will remove it. This is because it's installation was decided by the image team, not user
    For anything else, if you have installed it previously, a plugin restore will re-install it.

    A software update does not remove what a user installed.
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 26-01-21 at 17:46. Reason: Strike incorrect statement

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (25-01-21)

  17. #13

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,240
    Thanks
    564
    Thanked 401 Times in 254 Posts
    When do you estimate that 5.4.005 will be available to download directly so I can try this?

  18. #14
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,252
    Thanks
    2,757
    Thanked 2,110 Times in 1,739 Posts
    Sometime this week hopefully.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  19. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Andy_Hazza For This Useful Post:

    adm (25-01-21),bbbuk (25-01-21)

  20. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,811
    Thanks
    5,837
    Thanked 8,555 Times in 5,772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    If a plugin is pre-installed in the image, it will exist in a "virgin" image. You do not have to install it.
    If a plugin is removed from the list of pre-installed items, a software update will remove it. This is because it's installation was decided by the image team, not user.
    For anything else, if you have installed it previously, a plugin restore will re-install it.

    A software update does not remove what a user installed.
    I stand corrected, EPG refresh did not get uninstalled when performing an update. I have removed the message.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    BefuddledBrian (25-01-21)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.