Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
Results 166 to 180 of 180

Thread: EPG Translator (Discussion thread)

  1. #166
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,822
    Thanks
    5,840
    Thanked 8,560 Times in 5,775 Posts
    So press Info, then text and you get translated EPG. Works well. Many thanks. Would work even better if it translated by default when pressing Info instead of having to follow it up with a Text push.

  2. #167
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35,371
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 9,376 Times in 6,614 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    In the pluginbrowser Text does nothing, as the text is already translated.

    If you are in an EventView window it will toggle not-translating/translating.
    Ah, indeed, my misunderstanding. Works fine

    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    So press Info, then text and you get translated EPG. Works well. Many thanks. Would work even better if it translated by default when pressing Info instead of having to follow it up with a Text push.
    And now I understand this post, which I support wholeheartedly! A setting that allows the text in eventview to be translated by default would be a great improvement.

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  3. #168
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,140
    Thanks
    170
    Thanked 1,427 Times in 1,108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Many thanks. Would work even better if it translated by default when pressing Info instead of having to follow it up with a Text push.
    I'm sure it could be an option.
    Presumably you'd just want it to pop-up translated, but still be able to toggle?
    So this would just be a case of inverting the starting state and adding a suitable menu option.

    Part of the issue here is that it doesn't know what language the real EPG is in so it ALWAYS needs to call Google to translate even if its already in the destination language. Which is unnecessary if a lot of your EPG is in the language you want anyway.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  4. #169
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,140
    Thanks
    170
    Thanked 1,427 Times in 1,108 Posts
    FYI: It seems that he EPG Translator that went into 5.4.007 is broken. (Same in OpenATV)
    This was the first compiled version, which contains code that only works for source files.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  5. #170
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,822
    Thanks
    5,840
    Thanked 8,560 Times in 5,775 Posts
    Presumably you'd just want it to pop-up translated, but still be able to toggle?
    Yes, I think that is logical.

    OpenATV do nightly builds, so not a big deal for them. Not sure when the next ViX Release will be. I've asked.

  6. #171
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,597
    Thanks
    1,739
    Thanked 3,561 Times in 2,333 Posts
    Rob, have you deliberately got a transparent border around your buttons?

    5.jpg

  7. #172
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35,371
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 9,376 Times in 6,614 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    I'm sure it could be an option.
    Presumably you'd just want it to pop-up translated, but still be able to toggle?
    So this would just be a case of inverting the starting state and adding a suitable menu option.
    That sounds great!


    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Part of the issue here is that it doesn't know what language the real EPG is in so it ALWAYS needs to call Google to translate even if its already in the destination language. Which is unnecessary if a lot of your EPG is in the language you want anyway.
    True, but would that be a problem? As long as this is guarded against internet not being available, I see no problem in a little bit extra data transpot.

    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    Rob, have you deliberately got a transparent border around your buttons?
    Most certainly not deliberate; and I don't see that on my OLED TV's.

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  8. #173
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,597
    Thanks
    1,739
    Thanked 3,561 Times in 2,333 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Would work even better if it translated by default when pressing Info instead of having to follow it up with a Text push.
    This is not a good idea. It would mean every text displayed in EventView would be sent to Google for translating, even if the source and destination language are one and the same.

  9. #174
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35,371
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 9,376 Times in 6,614 Posts
    Hence my reaction:
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob van der Does View Post
    True, but would that be a problem? As long as this is guarded against internet not being available, I see no problem in a little bit extra data transport.




    Quote Originally Posted by Rob van der Does View Post
    Most certainly not deliberate; and I don't see that on my OLED TV's.
    How did you manage to see that? I've really never seen that in Magic.

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  10. #175
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,140
    Thanks
    170
    Thanked 1,427 Times in 1,108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob van der Does View Post
    True, but would that be a problem? As long as this is guarded against internet not being available, I see no problem in a little bit extra data transpot.
    If it's an option it's only a problem if you chose to use it.
    Translation problems (of any sort) are "handled" (you either get a partial translation, or the original untranslated text), but there might be a delay.

    And since it caches results if you look at something for a second time it will just use what it already has.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  11. #176
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    6,140
    Thanks
    170
    Thanked 1,427 Times in 1,108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    If it's an option it's only a problem if you chose to use it.
    Code:
    https://github.com/oe-alliance/oe-alliance-plugins/pull/396
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  12. #177
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,597
    Thanks
    1,739
    Thanked 3,561 Times in 2,333 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob van der Does View Post
    I don't see that on my OLED TV's.
    It will show on any TV when the button is not over a black background.

    1.jpg

    In S1080 it is not present. I can't see the cause at the moment.

    2.jpg
    Last edited by Huevos; 25-02-21 at 21:23.

  13. #178
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35,371
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 9,376 Times in 6,614 Posts
    I can't reproduce it and I've never seen it.
    Nor can I see where that would come from.


    Edit: Oops, now I have this too

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  14. #179
    Rob van der Does's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35,371
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 9,376 Times in 6,614 Posts

    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  15. #180
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    9,597
    Thanks
    1,739
    Thanked 3,561 Times in 2,333 Posts
    Cool .

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.