Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mutant 2400 gone bottom-up?

  1. #1
    Nunhead_Man's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Mutant 2400 gone bottom-up?

    My mutant 2400 seems to have gone bottom-up it is responding very slowly if at all to the remote which before you ask was charged up this weekend just in case that was the problem and has not recorded any of things I wanted to record.

    I tried to reflash it with VIX version 5.0 from version 4 point something and it sat there saying "flashing" for an hour before I turned it off and turned it back on again where it was stuck on broadcasting ITV one for some reason (this is a channel I very rarely look at)

    Can anybody suggest what I need to do to it to wake it up or sorted out or is it fit for the bin?

  2. #2
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,344
    Thanks
    5,666
    Thanked 8,395 Times in 5,649 Posts
    Does it have an external PSU? If so, can you try another one?

  3. #3
    Nunhead_Man's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Good morning by "PSU" I assume you mean a power supply which has a transformer in it which effectively splits the cable between the power socket and the socket in the back of the box?

    If so the answer is no I believe this machine has a transformer inside the box.

    Please note it powers up okay although I bow to your greater knowledge in that if the transformer is somehow shot that might affect its operation?

    I'm wondering if it's something to do with the hard drive although if that is what it is I cannot see why that would prevent it flashing a new version unless I'm wrong in that version is kept on the hard drive rather than in some other permanent solid-state storage?

    I turned it on again this morning in the hope it might have recovered after having been powered off overnight but at the moment it's just sitting there saying it's flashing and has been for about the last half an hour

    Best wishes

    Andy

  4. #4

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,563
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked 855 Times in 728 Posts
    If you think it's the hard drive, have you tried usb flashing?

  5. #5

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks
    269
    Thanked 464 Times in 369 Posts
    If you think its the hard drive then disconnect it. It wont do any harm anyway.
    Zgemma H7S running OpenVIX 5.4, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  6. #6
    Nunhead_Man's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Okay firstly what I was trying to flash it with wasn't 5.0 point X but in fact 5.4.001 dated a couple of days ago in October 2020.

    And I was trying to flash it from a USB drive not from the Internet because it doesn't seem to behave doing that.

    What is the best way to diagnose this box?

    I only suggested it was the hard drive because it was the way it was behaving but I have no real idea what it is

  7. #7
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,874
    Thanks
    856
    Thanked 796 Times in 619 Posts
    If the hard drive is misbehaving it could drag the box performance way down if it is very slow responding to commands from the operating system. If you temporarily disconnect it you can see if the box will flash and boot. Usually, the only things on the hard drive are the stored recordings, the EPG and the settings backups. The box will boot without the hard drive.
    GB Quad Plus, Mut@nt HD51, AX HD61, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Odroid N2+ (CoreElec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.