Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

View Entry Info: 5.4 001 VPS plugin. Bootloop

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.4.001
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Attachments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: 5.4 001 VPS plugin. Bootloop

  1. #1

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    5.4 001 VPS plugin. Bootloop

    Hi,

    I tried installing 5.4.001 last night -downloaded and flashed via 5.3.039 Image Manager, restored settings and plugins but ended up with a crash-reboot sequence. Lousy shot of the error message attached.

    IMG_0399_c_1200x528.jpg

    To recover, I performed my first USB flash (look for the press power-button message on the front panel, not the TV screen, doh!) so I don't have logs for 5.4.001.

    Hope this is of use. I probably wont be allowed to break the machine until seriously off-peak hours but let me know if I might be able to help debug.

    Cheers,
    Martin

  2. #2
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,245
    Thanks
    2,720
    Thanked 2,107 Times in 1,736 Posts
    Try without restoring any previous backups so setup as new.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,617
    Thanks
    5,783
    Thanked 8,488 Times in 5,723 Posts
    Just for future reference, the crashlog will be in /home /root/logs or /media/hdd/logs. Just makes it easier to read.

    What does the VPS plugin do?

    Installing it new causes a bootloop. Thanks for reporting.

    Code:
    <    97.7115> 12:37:12.2260 [XMLTVImport] autostart (0) occured at 1602589032.23
    <    97.7148> 12:37:12.2293 [AutoTimer] Auto Poll Enabled
    <    97.7275> 12:37:12.2420 [SoftcamManager] AutoStart Enabled
    <    97.7293> 12:37:12.2438 EXCEPTION IN PYTHON STARTUP CODE:
    <    97.7295> 12:37:12.2440 ------------------------------------------------------------
    <    97.7296> 12:37:12.2441 Traceback (most recent call last):
    <    97.7298> 12:37:12.2443   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/mytest.py", line 698, in <module>
    <    97.7313> 12:37:12.2458     runScreenTest()
    <    97.7314> 12:37:12.2459   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/mytest.py", line 491, in runScreenTest
    <    97.7317> 12:37:12.2462     plugins.readPluginList(resolveFilename(SCOPE_PLUGINS))
    <    97.7318> 12:37:12.2463   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/PluginComponent.py", line 109, in readPluginList
    <    97.7322> 12:37:12.2467   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/PluginComponent.py", line 30, in addPlugin
    <    97.7326> 12:37:12.2471   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/vps/plugin.py", line 50, in autostart
    <    97.7329> 12:37:12.2474   File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/vps/Modifications.py", line 281, in register_vps
    <    97.7333> 12:37:12.2478 AttributeError: type object 'TimerEntry' has no attribute 'newConfig'
    <    97.7337> 12:37:12.2482 ------------------------------------------------------------
    <    97.7358> 12:37:12.2503 [MAIN] (exit code 5)

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    alphacabbage1 (13-10-20)

  5. #4

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,775
    Thanks
    362
    Thanked 934 Times in 792 Posts
    Unlikely to work without changes (see end of text) .....

    Code:
    The VPS-plugin can determine whether a mission begins earlier or lasts longer than the timer is programmed. For this, the channels provide reliable data.
    
    
    Features:
    - Each timer can be enabled VPS
    - Evaluation of the Running status of a program (not running, starts in a few seconds, pausing, running)
    - Enter the VPS / PDC time possible
    - Control-flow time (eg 10 minutes before the actual beginning of the recording captures the plugin to the monitoring of running status)
    - Recordings can be completely controlled by the sender information, ie the programmed timer periods are not observed.
    
    
    The channels provide reliable data? (Running status)
    ARD and ZDF to provide for their shipments usually an accurate running status.
    Sky delivers (for the Sky-owned channels and some non-transmitters) are often an accurate running status. Unlike ARD / ZDF, the (program) advertising before / after a show but as a "running" is specified.
    
    The private stations adjust their status to not running when a program starts earlier or is coated. The VPS function should therefore not be turned on when recording from the private sector.
    Exceptions seem to be TV DMAX and Servus.
    
    
    What is VPS-time?
    ARD and ZDF state in their EPG data, the VPS-time (PDC descriptor).
    The VPS time should be the starting time published in magazines. ZDF is the time to on their website and Teletext.
    be specified for manual timer programming, the VPS time when you turn the VPS function.
    The VPS time can find the plugin, the event ID of the item and can then begin the evaluation of the Running status. When programming via the EPG must not VPS time be specified because, in the case already saved an event ID in the timer.
    
    This looks for the plug after the VPS time, no name for the timer must be specified. The Name and Description fields are filled in by the plugin if a program of the VPS time is found.
    
    
    What does complete control of broadcasting information?
    When this feature is enabled (in the plugin settings and the timer!), Then the plugin can start recording only when the mission is stated as "running", and ends the timer when the Running status to "not running "is set. In that case, the programmed timer periods are therefore not considered for inclusion. The start time of the timer should be programmed but still correct, since this time will be used for this, from when the plug begins to monitor the timer.
    
    The disadvantage of the function is that the program möglicherwise or not taken wrong, when the station is giving incorrect information. This is even on ARD / ZDF irregular times the case.
    
    If the function is not used, then considered the plugin the programmed start and end time and can start recording only if, sooner or run longer, never shorter.
    
    
    Lead-Time Control
    The plugin by default starts 10 minutes before the actual start of recording to monitor the running status.
    
    If no free tuner is there, then tried the plugin on the current transponder / channel for information search. ARD will broadcast e.g. on their transponders and EPG information from ZDF and vice versa. However, it is expected with a slight delay.
    For timers that are to be controlled by the sender information on the plugin if necessary in order for the lead time on the included transmitter.
    
    
    Installation
    The plugin is installed like any other.
    To use the functions must be changed two files (/ usr/lib/enigma2/python/RecordTimer.py and / usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/TimerEntry.py). The files will be patched automatically by the plugin.
    
    Enigma has to be restarted after installation. Maybe even twice.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (14-10-20),alphacabbage1 (13-10-20)

  7. #5
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,617
    Thanks
    5,783
    Thanked 8,488 Times in 5,723 Posts
    The plugin is is available on the server.

  8. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,775
    Thanks
    362
    Thanked 934 Times in 792 Posts
    18 days ago....

    Code:
    https://github.com/OpenViX/enigma2/commit/468bd9cbfadd69d4138aac2b4fd8bfc12d4b3821
    Remove newConfig() methods to update the config list - this is handled automatically in ConfigListScreen.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (13-10-20)

  10. #7

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi abu

    In my case VPS is a relic from years back when I first got the box and was trying to replicate Topfield functionality to avoid missing programmes that overrun. I decided that it didn't apply to UK terrestrial services so disabled it and forgot all about it -- until now.

    Log file locations noted (but nothing showing).

    Thanks all!

  11. #8
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,617
    Thanks
    5,783
    Thanked 8,488 Times in 5,723 Posts
    There is no bootloop on 5.3 039. Hopefully, the removed attribute will be re-introdcued

    For now, better to uninstall the vps plugin while on 5.3 039 before flashing 5.4 001. This will prevent it's installation during restore.

    If anybody is on 5.4 001 and the restore re-installed vps plugin, you can issue the following commands using putty or similar

    init 4
    opkg remove enigma2-plugin-systemplugins-vps
    init 3

  12. #9
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,617
    Thanks
    5,783
    Thanked 8,488 Times in 5,723 Posts
    The fix by prl001 has been committed and will be in 5.4 002.

    Code:
    https://github.com/oe-alliance/enigma2-plugins/commit/d6c0614d4800e21eaa1217f7f6813914991393e2
    Amended file attached for anybody needing it. Extract and place in /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/SystemPlugins/vps

  13. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (14-10-20),BefuddledBrian (14-10-20),goRt (14-10-20)

  14. #10

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    While this fix enables the device to boot and VPS to function on autotimers the option is not there on manual timers.
    Attempting to set on manual timers via the web interface causes all sorts of issue- sometimes the option becomes available in manually created tera sometimes not.
    Vix 5.4.001 and now 5.4.002

    Thanks

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk

  15. #11

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by goRt View Post
    While this fix enables the device to boot and VPS to function on autotimers the option is not there on manual timers.
    Attempting to set on manual timers via the web interface causes all sorts of issue- sometimes the option becomes available in manually created tera sometimes not.
    Vix 5.4.001 and now 5.4.002

    Thanks

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk
    Still the same on .003

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk

  16. #12

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,775
    Thanks
    362
    Thanked 934 Times in 792 Posts
    ...sounds more like an OpenWebif problem, do manual timers work when you access the box normally?

    Until the fix in #9, VPS hadn't been updated for 8 years.

  17. #13

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    ...sounds more like an OpenWebif problem, do manual timers work when you access the box normally?

    Until the fix in #9, VPS hadn't been updated for 8 years.
    No, the manual timers do not present the VPS option
    That option is also not presented in the webif

    VPS is in the repository, this fix was to enable the missing property in .001

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk

  18. #14

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    VPS plugin is one of the most useful I installed although, unortunately, it works only with some channels: in my case German, Swiss and Austrian ones. So I hope the incompatibility to the new 5.4 will be solved.
    To be precise, the bug is this:
    1) Sometimes, creating a new timer, you can't see its options. Usually, restrting GUI makes it to reappear. But:
    2) Even if setting VPS to Yes, or Yes (Safe mode), actually not only the focus jumps to the timer's title, but above all, it does't work, despite of the apparent correct change.
    You can check this by OWIF, where you can set the option.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to alexwilmac For This Useful Post:

    goRt (01-12-20)

  20. #15

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Still not remediated in .004

    Sent from my IN2013 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.