Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Problem timed download

  1. #1

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,885
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,369 Times in 1,086 Posts

    Problem timed download

    Hi,
    I setup my Duo4K to use NTP as time source. I setup CrossEPG to download EPG at 5pm.

    Problem is that my Duo4K has no network connection when I start the box. The network is active around 60 seconds later. With this setup CrossEPG tries to download at very different times depending on the start time of my box. Once it was 9:30pm once even a bit later.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,476
    Thanks
    338
    Thanked 833 Times in 707 Posts
    Sounds like after booting, CrossEPG works out how long to wait until it's 5pm, if NTP hasn't run then .......??.....

    I can't find what the time is initially set to before synchronising with NTP (or transponder time), I think there have been changes in this area in the recent past.

  3. #3
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,841
    Thanks
    841
    Thanked 785 Times in 610 Posts
    In the timer settings, if you choose NTP as the time source, it will update every 30 minutes (default setting), so your clock should be set correctly at that point. Alternatively, you could use DVB time to set the internal clock. A log would be useful. At boot time the default used to be 1/1/1970, but since the introduction of the fake hw-clock some years ago, the default date/time at boot is set to be the last shutdown time. This may be messing with CrossEPG timer.
    Last edited by fat-tony; 25-09-20 at 11:31.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  4. #4

    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,885
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,369 Times in 1,086 Posts
    Hi,
    I do not use DVB time intentionally because I watch programs from different time zones and this would mess up my EPG. It is not critical for me but I thought I mention it in case other user of Cross-EPG have similar issues.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  5. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,476
    Thanks
    338
    Thanked 833 Times in 707 Posts
    Why isn't the network active for 60 seconds?

    If CrossEPG has a startup script, maybe a "sleep 120" at the beginning would sort it out?

  6. #6
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 395 Times in 312 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Why isn't the network active for 60 seconds?
    Wi-fi connection rather than a wired connection maybe ??????
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  7. #7
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,841
    Thanks
    841
    Thanked 785 Times in 610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    I do not use DVB time intentionally because I watch programs from different time zones and this would mess up my EPG. It is not critical for me but I thought I mention it in case other user of Cross-EPG have similar issues.

    Ralf
    It shouldn't mess up your EPG as DVB time is in UTC with a local correction for the time zone. I watch programmes from German TV on 19.2E and the display on the EPG is correct for my time zone and daylight savings time setting (IST) which is one hour behind CEST.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  8. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,302
    Thanks
    264
    Thanked 442 Times in 351 Posts
    I always found transponder time unreliable depending on the satellite so I always use NTP.
    Zgemma H7S running OpenVIX 5.4, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  9. #9
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,201
    Thanks
    5,618
    Thanked 8,360 Times in 5,626 Posts
    CrossEPG downloader is too convoluted. Nobody wants to touch it.

    I despise EPG Refresh. We really need to add a function to have EPG zap timers. That way all timers etc are within E2 as well as timer conflict resolution.

  10. #10
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,666
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 1,242 Times in 990 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    We really need to add a function to have EPG zap timers.
    Off topic, but would a "Zap event" cure this? i.e. a "timer" of zero duration (so that it ends as it start) that just changes the channel.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  11. #11
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,201
    Thanks
    5,618
    Thanked 8,360 Times in 5,626 Posts

    Problem timed download

    We already have Zap timers, which are not really useful for this purpose. You need to remain on the channel to absorb EPG, so zero length won't achieve anything. Enigma2 has code for background Zap, this is what we need to make use of.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    birdman (27-09-20)

  13. #12
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 395 Times in 312 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    We already have Zap timers, which are not really useful for this purpose. You need to remain on the channel to absorb EPG, so zero length won't achieve anything. Enigma2 has code for background Zap, this is what we need to make use of.
    For IEPG I'm trying out record timer for 15 minutes at 3 am and directing the recordings straight to the trash folder.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  14. #13
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,201
    Thanks
    5,618
    Thanked 8,360 Times in 5,626 Posts
    No point doing it before 06:00, they update data just before then. Have you tried 3 minutes?

    You can trick the timer in openwebif instead of deleting the recording. Details below

    Hi,
    trick ist quite easy. Create a rec timer for about 1 mintute with after action, save it, edit it and change type to zap.

    Easier with web if see picture.

    Ralf

    Link to 2016 post only visible to moderators:
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...l=1#post407535

  15. #14
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,666
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 1,242 Times in 990 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Enigma2 has code for background Zap, this is what we need to make use of.
    Or run a recording to /dev/null? I presume there's a need to keep that tuner active and not let something else take it over.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  16. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    21,201
    Thanks
    5,618
    Thanked 8,360 Times in 5,626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Or run a recording to /dev/null? I presume there's a need to keep that tuner active and not let something else take it over.
    Just create a fake recording timer without needing a plugin to do it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.