View Entry Info: Missing support for WiFi dongle

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
openvix-5.3.039
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Attachments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Missing support for WiFi dongle

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Missing support for WiFi dongle

    I have Vu+ Uno 4k SE, Vu+ Zero 4k, Vu+ Solo2 and Vu+ Duo 2
    All of them are running OpenViX 5.3.037 or newer build until this date.

    But only my Vu+ Uno 4kSE won't accept the wifi dongle.
    The option for choosing Device, doesn't exist under Menu->Setup->Network->Device.
    But it exist on my other boxoes.

    Why? And how to solve this?
    My ethernet dongle is as shown in pictureIMG_20200731_155611.jpg

  2. #2
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,128
    Thanks
    2,576
    Thanked 2,062 Times in 1,696 Posts

    Missing support for WiFi dongle

    You installed the vu+ wifi drivers from the plugin feeds?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,128
    Thanks
    2,576
    Thanked 2,062 Times in 1,696 Posts
    Or maybe after inserting the vu+ wifi dongle do a reboot?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  4. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I tried both downloading all drivers as shown in screenshots, and rebooting after inserting the device.
    Nothing helped.
    The reason for multiple downloads of drivers, are cause I don't know the name of the wifi-dongle as shown above.
    screenshot_20200731212908.jpgscreenshot_20200731212928.jpgscreenshot_20200731212940.jpg

  5. #5
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,128
    Thanks
    2,576
    Thanked 2,062 Times in 1,696 Posts
    The Vu+ drivers for their Wifi dongle must already come pre-installed. Personally I would flash the latest ViX image (5.3.039) and start again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  6. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    For me, it seems like the driver doesn't exist in the builds for Vu+ Uno 4k SE and Vu+ Solo2.
    Neither in the image or under plugin download menu.
    Both are now running 5.3.039

    I tried the older WiFi-dongle that was in the Solo2, and now the WiFi works in Uno 4k SE. but not the newer dongle in the Solo2.
    This is the one that works on both Vu+ Solo2 and Vu+ Uno 4k SE:
    IMG_20200801_134328.jpgIMG_20200801_134559~2.jpg

    Update; I didn't notice the issue also included the Solo2, since it had the older WiFi-dongle.
    Last edited by stunt; 01-08-20 at 12:58. Reason: Updated info

  7. #7

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 419 Times in 333 Posts
    The RT5572 drivers should work with the new dongle if it is original. However there are a lot of fakes on the market. The original VU adapter has the RT8192CU chipset
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to ronand For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (01-08-20)

  9. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ronand View Post
    The RT5572 drivers should work with the new dongle if it is original. However there are a lot of fakes on the market. The original VU adapter has the RT8192CU chipset
    But how come when the dongle (if it's fake) works well on Vu+zero 4k, but not on my uno 4k se?
    Both are running latest build of the openvix image. 5.3.039
    I have 2 of the latest dongle. Neither of them are working on uno 4k se, but does on zero 4k.
    And I doubt it's fake since I got it when I ordered the uno 4k se and my zero 4k

  10. #9

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 419 Times in 333 Posts
    If it doesn't work its because the drivers are not installed - not because it is real or fake. As to what chipset is in it there are several ways to identify it. If there is an FCC ID on it then you can easily find out online (the old dongle is made by edimax). You could open it up and you will definitely see the chipset. Or you could ask your seller what drivers it requires. Have you tried the RT5572 drivers?
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to ronand For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (01-08-20)

  12. #10
    BrianTheTechieSnail's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Reading, England, UK
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 26 Times in 21 Posts
    Another way to identify it is to plug it in to a PC that's running Windows.
    Then, using device manager, you will either be able to see what drivers get loaded for it or what it's hardware ID is. They look like this kind of thing: USB\VID_1D2E&PID_612E&REV_0100

    Then you can search Google for it's hardware ID.

    I bet if you SSH into your box there is also a way to get the Linux to tell you the hardware IDs.
    I don't know how off hand though.
    Zgemma H7S, 2 x single 28.2E, 1 x Freeview Hannington. Running OpenVIX (normally latest stable) with "Magic-FHD" skin.

  13. #11
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,758
    Thanks
    778
    Thanked 758 Times in 587 Posts
    Yes - if you ssh into your box and type lsusb you will get the IDs of all the USB devices attached. Thereafter you can do an internet search on the ID and it will give you details of the device and on-board chip etc. Here is a sample from my desktop:

    Code:
    joe@joe-desktop:~$ lsusb
    Bus 002 Device 003: ID 051d:0002 American Power Conversion Uninterruptible Power Supply
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c00e Logitech, Inc. M-BJ58/M-BJ69 Optical Wheel Mouse
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0c45:7603 Microdia 
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0781:5567 SanDisk Corp. Cruzer Blade
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    I've bolded the device id of the mouse
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  14. #12

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you for tips for finding model numbers

    Quote Originally Posted by ronand
    If it doesn't work its because the drivers are not installed - not because it is real or fake. As to what chipset is in it there are several ways to identify it. If there is an FCC ID on it then you can easily find out online (the old dongle is made by edimax). You could open it up and you will definitely see the chipset. Or you could ask your seller what drivers it requires. Have you tried the RT5572 drivers? .
    Yes. I did install the RT5572

    Quote Originally Posted by BrianTheTechHead View Post
    Another way to identify it is to plug it in to a PC that's running Windows.
    Then, using device manager, you will either be able to see what drivers get loaded for it or what it's hardware ID is. They look like this kind of thing: USB\VID_1D2E&PID_612E&REV_0100

    Then you can search Google for it's hardware ID.

    I bet if you SSH into your box there is also a way to get the Linux to tell you the hardware IDs.
    I don't know how off hand though.
    The black new one that i'm struggling with:
    USB\VID_148F&PID_5372\9&32ac2f53&0&1

    The old one that works:
    USB\VID_0BDA&PID_8178\00e04c000001

  15. #13

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 419 Times in 333 Posts
    Thats a Ralink 5372 - the RT3070 driver is the correct one
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to ronand For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (02-08-20)

  17. #14

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ronand View Post
    Thats a Ralink 5372 - the RT3070 driver is the correct one
    I installed it on both solo 2 and uno 4k se. Neither of them worked.

  18. #15
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,758
    Thanks
    778
    Thanked 758 Times in 587 Posts
    According to Debian the RT2800 driver should support that Ralink device -
    Code:
    https://wiki.debian.org/rt2800usb
    Now, it may need some additional kernel driver. I use a no-name wireless dongle that supposedly is an RTL8812 which is in the image builds, but it needs the RTL8814 kernel driver which is not, so I end up having to manually install it each time I flash a new release.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.