Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: usb lte modem huawei 3372 directly into engima2 box

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    usb lte modem huawei 3372 directly into engima2 box

    is it possible to connect directly the huawei 3372 into my box? and if yes, what i have to do, to make it actually work?

  2. #2
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,604
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 1,220 Times in 973 Posts
    Have you tried plugging it in?

    It apparently is supported on Linux, but it may depend on what kernel release you are running.

    If it's anything like my 'phone it will show up as a usb0 network device. That might be an issue, as Vix may not be looking for a network device named in that manner (I'm not sure...).
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  3. #3

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,220
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 413 Times in 329 Posts
    Its doubtful it will work. The usual way is to get a router that supports 3g dongles or a 3g/4g router that takes an internal sim card.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  4. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    Have you tried plugging it in?

    It apparently is supported on Linux, but it may depend on what kernel release you are running.

    If it's anything like my 'phone it will show up as a usb0 network device. That might be an issue, as Vix may not be looking for a network device named in that manner (I'm not sure...).
    its a hilink device, which apparently acts like an usb network card, and it shows up in windows as such (after auto installing a driver), it also has microsd slot which i just noticed, after using it for a year lol

    and yes i tried plugging it in, but it didnt show up on enigma box at all, or at least i couldnt find it

    Quote Originally Posted by ronand View Post
    Its doubtful it will work. The usual way is to get a router that supports 3g dongles or a 3g/4g router that takes an internal sim card.
    ive been using it like that for a year, but the router broke, so i thought i might ask about it again before getting new router, it would be nice to get rid of one more box on my tv shelf, draining power
    Last edited by Szelest; 17-07-20 at 10:50.

  5. #5
    BrianTheTechHead's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Reading, England, UK
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
    There is probably a way to do it but it's likely it requires experimentation and quite intimate knowledge of Linux, packages, and drivers.
    Last time I tried to use a 3G dongle on desktop Linux it was quite complicated and I had to install the same stuff as dial up internet uses. That was maybe 10 years ago though.
    Zgemma H7S, 2 x single 28.2E, 1 x Freeview Hannington. Running OpenVIX (normally latest stable) with "Magic-FHD" skin.

  6. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianTheTechHead View Post
    There is probably a way to do it but it's likely it requires experimentation and quite intimate knowledge of Linux, packages, and drivers.
    Last time I tried to use a 3G dongle on desktop Linux it was quite complicated and I had to install the same stuff as dial up internet uses. That was maybe 10 years ago though.
    honestly, its pretty easy on openwrt (linux for routers), also i installed it on debian with no problem, but im not rly skilled linux user, so i cant find the way to make it work on enigma

  7. #7
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,604
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 1,220 Times in 973 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianTheTechHead View Post
    Last time I tried to use a 3G dongle on desktop Linux it was quite complicated and I had to install the same stuff as dial up internet uses. That was maybe 10 years ago though.
    When I plug my Android 'phone into my Ubuntu systems and select "USB tethering" on the 'phone as the USB mode it turns into a functioning network interface on my PC.

    I can't get the interface to show up on OpenVix though, even if I load the rndis kernel module by hand (which is what it needs).
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  8. #8

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    When I plug my Android 'phone into my Ubuntu systems and select "USB tethering" on the 'phone as the USB mode it turns into a functioning network interface on my PC.

    I can't get the interface to show up on OpenVix though, even if I load the rndis kernel module by hand (which is what it needs).


    is there a way to install kmod-usb-net-cdc-ether on opnevix? and if yes, how can i get it?

  9. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    cant edit,

    i found in openvix repository "kernel-module-huawei-cdc-ncm"
    i have installed it, cause according to google, its literally driver for huawei 4g dongles, but the dongle doesnt show anywhere, in log it shows only "new high-speed USB device number 4 using xhci-hcd"

  10. #10

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well i guess im giving up on the idea, i found 3gmodemmanager in the feed, it gave me few more options and possibilities, but in the end, there was always something that made it not work unfortunetly

  11. #11
    BrianTheTechHead's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Reading, England, UK
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
    You might be able to do make it work if you SSH in and do things from the command line.
    Zgemma H7S, 2 x single 28.2E, 1 x Freeview Hannington. Running OpenVIX (normally latest stable) with "Magic-FHD" skin.

  12. #12

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianTheTechHead View Post
    You might be able to do make it work if you SSH in and do things from the command line.
    i was doing literally evertyhing from command line

    its not the matter of not working gui, its the matter of wrong/outdated modules which dont support newer (if u can call a 4 year old 4g modem new) devices, and i doubt it still has support or anyone who develops it
    Last edited by Szelest; 24-07-20 at 23:54.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.