Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 56 of 56

Thread: Gigablue Unicable problem. 12 March 2020 drivers

  1. #46
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    8,849
    Thanks
    1,674
    Thanked 3,303 Times in 2,172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    One question for my own education
    In a unicable tuner mode do the STB boxes with multiple satellite input sockets produce the voltage on all these socket inputs all the time when the box is switched on or only when a tuner (or tuners connected to the socket by various internal means) is required for watching/recording?
    That is the crux of this thread. It would seem that the people writing the closed source drivers don't understand when voltage should or should not be sent to the LNB... or there is not sufficient flow of data from enigma to the driver to be able to work this out... or just coding incompetence.

    In the case of the GB, voltage is being switched on/off on the root tuners irrespective of whether one of the link tuners is in use.

    In the case of the VU, voltage is always present on socket A (but according to Sicillian's testing it is not clear what is going on at socket B).

    As we haven't got access to the closed source code the only way for us to know what is really going on is to test the voltage supplied by each socket with a multimeter.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    adm (21-07-20),scouse645 (22-07-20)

  3. #47
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,285
    Thanks
    23,131
    Thanked 25,709 Times in 7,514 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    The output voltage is controlled by drivers. The "externally powered" is just so Unicable power up delay can be ignored.

    @Sicillian, do you know if that inserter block lets voltage through from the STB. e.g. if you remove the power source from the inserter does the VU+ FBC tuner "A" still work?
    I've got this connected feeding into a splitter, then to a receiver, but I'll check.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, AX HD61 COMBO, ZGEMMA H9 TWIN, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  4. #48
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,756
    Thanks
    5,507
    Thanked 8,170 Times in 5,494 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    In the case of the GB, voltage is being switched on/off on the root tuners irrespective of whether one of the link tuners is in use.
    The voltage is being switched off when a Root tuner is not in use. A leaf/link tuner can't function without the root tuner unless LNB has independent power supply. If it does not have an independent supply, root tuner/s should remain powered. But there is no way of telling it to power or not power going by the comments.

  5. #49
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    8,849
    Thanks
    1,674
    Thanked 3,303 Times in 2,172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    The voltage is being switched off when a Root tuner is not in use. A leaf/link tuner can't function without the root tuner unless LNB has independent power supply. If it does not have an independent supply, root tuner/s should remain powered. But there is no way of telling it to power or not power going by the comments.
    Yes, beyond the control of the user as far as I can see.

  6. #50
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,911
    Thanks
    770
    Thanked 2,064 Times in 1,574 Posts
    ....... force lnb power on driver change..............

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/oe-al...580024d7d20d9c
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (26-07-20),Sicilian (26-07-20)

  8. #51
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,756
    Thanks
    5,507
    Thanked 8,170 Times in 5,494 Posts

    Gigablue Unicable problem. 12 March 2020 dri

    The issue is solved for me on a GB UE 4K.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    scouse645 (27-07-20),Sicilian (27-07-20)

  10. #52

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    ....... force lnb power on driver change..............

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/oe-al...580024d7d20d9c
    And what does one do with all that please?? Seems to be 4 files and 2 machines??

  11. #53

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,169
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 772 Times in 654 Posts
    .... wait until they are released in the next image. (Or build your own.)

  12. #54

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Think I'll wait. Meanwhile, have just received a Vision V5-033 DC inserter to power LNB. So will fit that instead of my home made one.
    June 2020 - GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K, 2Tb internal HDD, OpenVix 5.0.35. GigaBlue Ultra SCR-LNB 24 SCR - 2 Legacy UHD 4K LNB. Inverto DC Power Injector. Splitter to feed both Tuners. 3 FBC channels of each tuner, total 8.

  13. #55
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,756
    Thanks
    5,507
    Thanked 8,170 Times in 5,494 Posts
    I have moved posts relating to the DIY power inserter issue to their own thread, please continue there for discusssions pertaining to the power inserter.
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...Power-inserter

    The updated drivers will be in the next ViX image, probably just before middle of August.

    If you want to benefit from the drivers, you can flash OpenATV or any other image built after drivers were updated to resolve the issue.

  14. #56

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks. I'll wait for the next Vix image.
    And as Sicilian suggested earlier, I'll use a proper DC injector permanently, Vision unit going back for full refund.
    Overall, quite a learning curve just to watch TV!!
    June 2020 - GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K, 2Tb internal HDD, OpenVix 5.0.35. GigaBlue Ultra SCR-LNB 24 SCR - 2 Legacy UHD 4K LNB. Inverto DC Power Injector. Splitter to feed both Tuners. 3 FBC channels of each tuner, total 8.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.