Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: VU+ Solo2 - manual way to reset to factory defaults?

  1. #1
    Grinnders's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    VU+ Solo2 - manual way to reset to factory defaults?

    Hi guys,

    Have a Solo2 that won't go beyond UBIFS Update before shutting itself down. I have another thread running for suggested replacements but I thought there may be some value in getting a few pennies by selling as spares & repairs.

    However I have a few "personal settings" on there I would like to clean up before posting for sale.

    On the basis that I cannot reflash successfully and the box doesn't stay up long enough for network access for me to issue commands. I've removed the HDD used for recordings but I am presuming the OS is held on internal memory somewhere.

    Is there a way to hold a button for so many seconds or use in combination with the remote to reset? OR does the UBIFS process wipe all that.. in which case are the backups of OS and Images also stored internally rather than the HDD by default?

    Thanks for any guidance.
    Resurrected Vu+Solo2 /1.2Mdish/TM2600/PannyGT50
    Vu+ Zero/1.2M dishslave/28.2/EpsonTW5300
    Firmware version: OpenViX 5.3.035 (2020-06-21) Driver date: 20190429 Kernel version: 3.13.5

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,083
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 760 Times in 646 Posts
    Apparently, cloned receivers have a habit of doing this. If not, try reflashing with a different usb stick.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Grinnders (27-06-20)

  4. #3

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,193
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 405 Times in 321 Posts
    If you do manage to flash it again all contents will be erased so you don't have much to worry about there
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  5. #4
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,653
    Thanks
    5,466
    Thanked 8,134 Times in 5,469 Posts
    Can you connect to it with "telnet"

  6. #5
    Grinnders's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Apparently, cloned receivers have a habit of doing this. If not, try reflashing with a different usb stick.
    Not cloned. Purchased new from GW in 2013. I've tried 2 image versions ... I think its ok with read the stick as it can get as afar as UBIFS update stage and then hangs.

    ... updated: just tried a different USB stick (that successfully flashed another VU box) and it has got me much further..... thank you.. will wait and see if I can recover it completely
    Last edited by Grinnders; 27-06-20 at 12:40.
    Resurrected Vu+Solo2 /1.2Mdish/TM2600/PannyGT50
    Vu+ Zero/1.2M dishslave/28.2/EpsonTW5300
    Firmware version: OpenViX 5.3.035 (2020-06-21) Driver date: 20190429 Kernel version: 3.13.5

  7. #6
    Grinnders's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Can you connect to it with "telnet"
    Nope. Can't even ping it.. Visually it loads the Vu+ logo... then it loads the OpenVix Logo and I get the loading spinner in the top left corner (Slyk UI).. but its a big spinner.. then I think it used to reload the OpenVix splash screen and the spinner went smaller. (as if it flicked to HD???).

    Now it stays large and the spinner freezes and then it decides to shut itself off.
    If I try and reflash its gets to UBIFS update and stalls.

    So I am suspecting its not even loading the network drivers or if it is it shuts down so quickly there is no window of oppoetunity to issue some telnet commands?

    Thanks for caring.
    Resurrected Vu+Solo2 /1.2Mdish/TM2600/PannyGT50
    Vu+ Zero/1.2M dishslave/28.2/EpsonTW5300
    Firmware version: OpenViX 5.3.035 (2020-06-21) Driver date: 20190429 Kernel version: 3.13.5

  8. #7
    Grinnders's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ronand View Post
    If you do manage to flash it again all contents will be erased so you don't have much to worry about there
    but won't my backups still be there?
    Resurrected Vu+Solo2 /1.2Mdish/TM2600/PannyGT50
    Vu+ Zero/1.2M dishslave/28.2/EpsonTW5300
    Firmware version: OpenViX 5.3.035 (2020-06-21) Driver date: 20190429 Kernel version: 3.13.5

  9. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,193
    Thanks
    238
    Thanked 405 Times in 321 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Grinnders View Post
    but won't my backups still be there?
    Settings backups will be on the hard drive. If you cant boot the receiver there is no easy way to access anything on the flash memory. removing the chip and putting it in a programmer is beyond most people and why would anyone bother??
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ronand For This Useful Post:

    Grinnders (27-06-20)

  11. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,083
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 760 Times in 646 Posts
    Backups are on hdd, your only worry is /etc/enigma2/settings which ideally needs deleting (same as factory reset), but highly unlikely anyone will get to it.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Grinnders (27-06-20)

  13. #10
    bellejt's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,427
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 258 Times in 220 Posts
    VU+ DUO2 quad tuner with HDD 1 TB + Latest Openvix and VU+ DUO2 FB tuner + Octagon SF8008 FB tuner
    Triax 88 cm rotor single LNB 30 E- 40 W
    1 Gibertini 1.00 m fixed - 3 quad LNB 19E-23.5E-28.2E

  14. #11
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,653
    Thanks
    5,466
    Thanked 8,134 Times in 5,469 Posts
    The settings file won't have anything sensitive in it. Only email/username if he set it in the log manager section. It is sealion or IPTV details elsewhere that will be important.

    If you persevere, you should be able to connect to the box. it is a matter of timing. Once logged in, quickly issue an "init 4" command to stop the restart.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Grinnders (27-06-20)

  16. #12
    Grinnders's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Thanks guys... Case closed for the time being. Switching to the proven to have done it before USB stick made the difference even though the zip images were identically downloaded and I could see the stick was recognised.. but there was clearly some glitch somewhere. The points go to CCS Have to try and cancel my order with WoS for the new AX HD61 :|
    Resurrected Vu+Solo2 /1.2Mdish/TM2600/PannyGT50
    Vu+ Zero/1.2M dishslave/28.2/EpsonTW5300
    Firmware version: OpenViX 5.3.035 (2020-06-21) Driver date: 20190429 Kernel version: 3.13.5

  17. #13

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,083
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 760 Times in 646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Grinnders View Post
    Thanks guys... Case closed for the time being. Switching to the proven to have done it before USB stick made the difference even though the zip images were identically downloaded and I could see the stick was recognised.. but there was clearly some glitch somewhere. The points go to CCS Have to try and cancel my order with WoS for the new AX HD61 :|
    ... although I wasn't quite right about the settings file!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.