Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: tuner set up advise

  1. #1

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    tuner set up advise

    current setup et8500 with 4 satellite tuners.
    tuner A motorised
    tuner b wave fronter
    tuners c & d fixed 28.2e

    with new gigablue receiver looking to get maximum recording options on 28.2e
    & have use of motorised & wave fronter as previous setup

    please advise what tuner/lnb setup is required.

    thanks in advance

    te5

  2. #2
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    2,517
    Thanked 2,051 Times in 1,685 Posts

    tuner set up advise

    Tuner A >> Single feed to a new Unicable II/JESS LNB (the higher the SCR output the better) to utilise the FBC tuner & 28.2e satellite
    Tuner B >> Motorised Dish
    Additional Tuner for your other needs (Wave fronter)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Andy_Hazza; 02-06-20 at 14:06.
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @Andy_Hazza

    Many thanks for fast reply.

    Would you consider "Inverto 5434 Idlu – QUDL42 – UNR2L – 1PP Unicable LNB Black" to be a good choice?

    te5

  4. #4
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,081
    Thanks
    2,517
    Thanked 2,051 Times in 1,685 Posts
    Not got that LNB personally, but the reviews are favourable. It has a Unicable II Port and 2x Hybrid ports so looks good to me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  5. #5
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts
    Will you buy an additional tuner module or just the on-board FBC one? How many LNBs on your toroidal dish? Apart from 28.2 which satellite do you view most and how frequently?

  6. #6

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @Andy_Hazza

    thanks again.

    @abu baniaz

    yes, twin dvbs
    8 lnb's
    30w,0.8w,4.8e,13e,16e,19.2e,28.2e,39e
    none frequently, but sometimes all to see whats still decodable.

    te5

  7. #7
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts

    tuner set up advise

    That unicable LNB has got 4 SCR from what I can see. Better to get a 24 SCR LNB from the sponsor if you are spending over 40.

    I am going on the assumption you have one diseqc switch and one signal wire to your receiver from the T90 dish.

    One option is:

    Hook up the motor to tuner I, do not enable 28.2 on it. J = loop-through to I.

    Your diseqc switch hooked up to tuner B of FBC module.

    Unicable LNB hooked up to tuner A of FBC module.


    Decide how many tuners (c-h) you want to access unicable LNB. Set those with unique SCR and connected to A. Leave the rest as FBC automatic, they will be internal loop-through to your diseqc switch.

  8. #8
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts
    Another option is to use a splitter and supply signal from unicable LNB to tuners A & B of FBC module. C-H will be same sat as A/B but will have unique SCR.

    I or J = Motorised
    J or I = Disecq switch

  9. #9

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @all
    I can't get any output from unicable LNB output, both standard outputs work fine.
    should the unicable output also work without extra settings?
    any advise welcome.

    te5

  10. #10
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts
    What do you mean by "output"?

    Whether universal or unicable, the tuner has to be set to match the hardware hooked up to it.

    Draw a diagram of your setup to avoid confusion. Also show a screenshot of tuner configuration.

  11. #11

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @abu baniaz

    to test, I have taken a cable direct from the unicable port of the lnb to tuner 'A' of gigablue quad & setup as simple, single, 28.2e.
    can you please advise what settings are required, i have openpli 7.2 installed & have tried many of the tuner options available, but none give a signal.
    thanks again

    te5

  12. #12
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts
    That is the wrong software setup for the hardware setup you have. You have to use advanced. Please refer to the unicable guide. Adjust to match your LNB make and model. Link on next line
    https://www.world-of-satellite.com/s...-configuration

    "Connected to" means internally looped/shared in the receiver/tuner. Not to do with wire "connected to" tuner.

    If you still have issues, I strongly suggest you draw a diagram of your LNB/dish/tuner setup. You will be going round in circles with people deducing one thing and offering advice to suit what they deduce instead of what hardware setup you have actually got. There are several methods to arrange the hardware you have.

  13. #13

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @abu baniaz

    openpli do not list my lnb, so your advise in post 7 holds good. i will try all options available.
    what is the advantage of the splitter & feeding tuners a & b ?

    te5

  14. #14
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts

    tuner set up advise

    What LNB is it?

    Post 7 has options for you to consider. please say exactly how you have setup the hardware, so no guesswork is required when talking about software. Golden rule of tuner configuration is that it must match what you have hooked up to the tuners.

    The advantages is posted in Unicable guide. out and about so can' copy and paste it for you.

  15. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,662
    Thanks
    5,463
    Thanked 8,129 Times in 5,467 Posts

    tuner set up advise

    If LNB is not listed in XML file, you will have to select the SCR manually. There is a user defined option. You will have to look at the LNB document for SCR.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.