View Entry Info: 5.3.030 crashing. Fixed in 5.3 032

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.3.030 .........FIXED IN 5.3.032........
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
Yes
Attachments
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55

Thread: 5.3.030 crashing. Fixed in 5.3 032

  1. #1

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts

    5.3.030 crashing. Fixed in 5.3 032

    Nasty looking crash after couch flashing 5.3.030 and restoring settings from 5.3.029

    The box boots up ok until the programme info bar appears and then crashes before live tv is shown.

    The GUI restarts and the box is ok, but if I reboot it crashes again with the same sequence. Same crash starting from deep standby.

    ET10K couch flashed ok.

    Tried re-flashing, no better.

    Code:
    <    30.6001> 15:08:41.5856 [Avahi] timeout elapsed
    <    30.6003> 15:08:41.5858 [Avahi] client state: 2
    <    30.6005> 15:08:41.5859 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6022> 15:08:41.5877 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6025> 15:08:41.5880 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6040> 15:08:41.5895 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6043> 15:08:41.5898 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6056> 15:08:41.5910 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6062> 15:08:41.5917 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6079> 15:08:41.5934 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6081> 15:08:41.5935 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6088> 15:08:41.5943 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6089> 15:08:41.5943 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_update
    <    30.6089> 15:08:41.5944 [Avahi] Registered vuultimo4k (_e2stream._tcp) on vuultimo4k:8001
    <    30.6090> 15:08:41.5945 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6114> 15:08:41.5969 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6116> 15:08:41.5971 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_new
    <    30.6127> 15:08:41.5982 [Avahi] avahi_timeout_free
    <    30.6135> 15:08:41.5990 Backtrace:
    <    30.6137> 15:08:41.5992 /usr/bin/enigma2(_Z17handleFatalSignaliP9siginfo_tPv) [0x1853A4]
    <    30.6138> 15:08:41.5993 /lib/libc.so.6(__default_rt_sa_restorer) [0xB6CACE20]
    <    30.6139> 15:08:41.5993 /lib/libc.so.6(gsignal) [0xB6CABFB4]
    <    30.6139> 15:08:41.5994 /lib/libc.so.6(abort) [0xB6C9A200]
    <    30.6139> 15:08:41.5994 -------FATAL SIGNAL (6)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 19-05-20 at 05:04. Reason: Crash snippet

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Same problem with no settings restored.

    Exits the wizard ok, but a reboot crashes.

    Need to repeat to get hold of the crash log, not stored on hdd by default.

  3. #3
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,833
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,551 Posts
    Kind of indicates hardware error, its really early in initialisation - but maybe if the settings backup was from 029, re- flash and don't restore settings as 029 had some incorrect information in SystemInfo.

    .... you beat me to it!
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  4. #4
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,833
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,551 Posts
    Go back to 028/029 and see what happens ....... there are only 3 changes between 029 & 030
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  5. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Post #2, continued.

    Couch flashed 5.3.029 + settings restore, all fine.

    Crash and debug logs now attached.... maybe a clue?



    Code:
    dbus[1703]: arguments to dbus_message_iter_append_basic() were incorrect, assertion "_dbus_check_is_valid_utf8 (*string_p)" failed in file ../../dbus-1.12.10/dbus/dbus-message.c line 2754.
    This is normally a bug in some application using the D-Bus library.
    
      D-Bus not built with -rdynamic so unable to print a backtrace
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,833
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,551 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Post #2, continued.

    Couch flashed 5.3.029 + settings restore, all fine.

    Crash and debug logs now attached.... maybe a clue?



    Code:
    dbus[1703]: arguments to dbus_message_iter_append_basic() were incorrect, assertion "_dbus_check_is_valid_utf8 (*string_p)" failed in file ../../dbus-1.12.10/dbus/dbus-message.c line 2754.
    This is normally a bug in some application using the D-Bus library.
    
      D-Bus not built with -rdynamic so unable to print a backtrace
    Cannot see anything in OE-A that could cause this - (its a pity you don't have a multiboot box!)
    Try this: save these 3 modules: /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/InfobarGenerics.pyo and separately /usr/lib/enigma2/python/RecordTimer.pyo and /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListGrid.pyo

    Then reflash and see if problem re -occurs. If it does 1st copy over teh InforbarGenerics.pyo (rename the existing one) and reboot. ANy difference??
    If not copy over the other 2(having renamed the old ones) and reboot .
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  7. #7

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    OK - I'll have to restore settings to get networking up quickly, but it shouldn't affect the outcome.

  8. #8
    BrianTheTechHead's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Reading, England, UK
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Same here.

    Upgrade from 5.3.029 to 5.3.030 and after reboot device crashes and recovers (automatically restarts GUI maybe, not sure).

    Reboot again - same crash and recover after boot.

    restore image of 5.3.029 - back to normal.

    I didn't investigate yet whether anything wasn't working after crash and recover.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to BrianTheTechHead For This Useful Post:

    ccs (18-05-20)

  10. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Cannot see anything in OE-A that could cause this - (its a pity you don't have a multiboot box!)
    Try this: save these 3 modules: /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Screens/InfobarGenerics.pyo and separately /usr/lib/enigma2/python/RecordTimer.pyo and /usr/lib/enigma2/python/Components/EpgListGrid.pyo

    Then reflash and see if problem re -occurs. If it does 1st copy over teh InforbarGenerics.pyo (rename the existing one) and reboot. ANy difference??
    If not copy over the other 2(having renamed the old ones) and reboot .
    Changing all 3 has made no difference, still crashes the same.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (18-05-20),twol (18-05-20)

  12. #10
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,833
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,551 Posts
    Have to say I am bemused - so few changes between the 2 releases 029/030
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  13. #11

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    Have to say I am bemused - so few changes between the 2 releases 029/030
    Fortunately, I'm not the only one (with the same problem).

  14. #12
    dsayers's Avatar
    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1,244
    Thanks
    359
    Thanked 438 Times in 317 Posts
    I use openmultiboot plugin on my uno4k when testing images.

    Added vix 5.3.030 to openmultiboot with no restore no crash then restored settings and still fine.

    So switched to my flash image that had vix 5.2.029 and did a software update to 5.3.030 and no issues with crashes.

    Possibly box issues? Any specific driver updates between images?

  15. #13

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dsayers View Post

    Possibly box issues? Any specific driver updates between images?
    Very unlikely, drivers are over a year old, and I'm assuming @BrianTheTechHead's box is a zgemma, so no.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    dsayers (18-05-20)

  17. #14

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,175
    Thanks
    509
    Thanked 380 Times in 242 Posts
    Solo2 did online update from 29 to 30 and no issues noticed yet.

    I've had a Fatal signal before but it's been a very, very long time (touch wood) and wasn't, at least for me, easily creatable again (so more of a one-off).
    Last edited by bbbuk; 18-05-20 at 18:47.

  18. #15

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,980
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 724 Times in 616 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    Solo2 did online update from 29 to 30 and no issues noticed yet.
    My ET10K was ok as well, couch flashed like the Ultimo4K, which crashes (just the once, the GUI restart doesn't see it again, which might be a clue?)

    This crash happens ever time.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.