Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Self Created Terrestrial Provider - allows multiple timers with only one tuner

  1. #1

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Self Created Terrestrial Provider - allows multiple timers with only one tuner

    Hi,

    I live in an area where I have to use a "Booster" transmitter so proceeded to create a custom provider (named "South West Terrestrial"). All seems to be working well - I select this provider in the providers section as well as my SKY UK provider for the satellite FTA bouquets but there is some odd behavior with the terrestrial channels when it comes to setting a timer in the resulting EPG.

    I have the Zgemma H7S with 2x sat tuners and 1x T2 tuner. when I try to set multiple recordings on the sat channels the Timer Conflict checker does its job fine and finds that I don't have enough tuners and throws the expected error.

    With the "custom" freeview bouquets "South West Terrestrial" it allows me to add multiple timers (in the future) for multiple channels at the same time even though I only have the one tuner and it will surely fail. It is as though it is not recognizing that all the freeview channels are all being served by the one tuner. True to form; when the timer is reached and the system tried to record multiple freeview T2 channels it fails with a NIT error.

    I am thinking that the custom part of ABM may be not populating part of the service ID so that the timer conflict checker logic cannot know that they are all the same tuner.

    Is this something that anyone has come across before?

    Thanks
    Paul

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,764
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    With one T2 tuner, recording consecutive programs on different mux's fails - eg program 1 ends at 19:00, the same time that program 2 starts. (The tuner is still busy when prog 2 starts).

    If you're using pre and post padding, this should be picked up by the sanity checker, but I'm not sure if it will be if pre and post are set to zero.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (09-03-20)

  4. #3

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, I do have some padding but this is programs set to record ar the same time. e.g. BBC1 HD + BBC2 HD + ITV HD all set to record at 18:00hrs. rather than consecutive programs on same channel / differnet channels. So is this the case then that if this is done on Sat Tuners then a conflict is detected but if its a T2 tuner then it lets them go on the planner and then "barfs" when it comes to acctual recording time.

    Its okay if it is (the same for all and the intended "modus operandi". It seems to be a bit of a shame if it is though as a person with a single T2 tuner essentially cannot take advantage of the timer logic.

    Just double checking :-)

    thanks
    Paul

  5. #4

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just to make sure - with the MUXes etc. I double checked my transmitter MUX's and tried to set a recording of BBC1 HD at 18:30 ("This is BBC One HD") and the local SD BBC1 "Spotlight" at the same time. BBC1 HD is on MUX BBCB CH22 and BBC One SD is on Mux BBCA CH28 so in theory there should be a conflict with my single tuner and recording at the same time on two different MUX's - If T2 tuners work the same as Sat Tuners that is.

    BBC1 SD Terrestrial Timer data is <timer begin="1583778480" end="1583780520" serviceref="1:0:1:1042:1042:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="Spotlight" description="The latest news, sport, weather and features from the South West of England. [S]" afterevent="auto" eit="9946" tags="" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="1">


    BBC1 HD Terrestrial Timer data is <timer begin="1583778480" end="1583780520" serviceref="1:0:19:4484:4082:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:: BBC ONE HD (T)" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="This Is BBC One HD" description="Please switch over to BBC One for the latest news from your area. Programming will resume on BBC One HD after the bulletin. [HD]" afterevent="auto" eit="10061" tags="This_Is_BBC_One_HD" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="0">
    Last edited by smipx; 09-03-20 at 18:11.

  6. #5

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,764
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    BBC1 HD + BBC2 HD + ITV HD are all on the same mux, along with plenty of others.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (09-03-20)

  8. #6
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,473
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 1,182 Times in 942 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by smipx View Post
    Hi, I do have some padding but this is programs set to record ar the same time. e.g. BBC1 HD + BBC2 HD + ITV HD all set to record at 18:00hrs. rather than consecutive programs on same channel / differnet channels. So is this the case then that if this is done on Sat Tuners then a conflict is detected but if its a T2 tuner then it lets them go on the planner and then "barfs" when it comes to acctual recording time. l
    Those services are all on the same Mux, so you can record all of them at the same time with one tuner.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  9. #7

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi css and birdman. I realised that after my original post which is why I did a second test with services that are specifically on different MUX's
    Sorry for the confusion :-)

    Paul


    Quote Originally Posted by smipx View Post
    Just to make sure - with the MUXes etc. I double checked my transmitter MUX's and tried to set a recording of BBC1 HD at 18:30 ("This is BBC One HD") and the local SD BBC1 "Spotlight" at the same time. BBC1 HD is on MUX BBCB CH22 and BBC One SD is on Mux BBCA CH28 so in theory there should be a conflict with my single tuner and recording at the same time on two different MUX's - If T2 tuners work the same as Sat Tuners that is.

    BBC1 SD Terrestrial Timer data is <timer begin="1583778480" end="1583780520" serviceref="1:0:1:1042:1042:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="Spotlight" description="The latest news, sport, weather and features from the South West of England. [S]" afterevent="auto" eit="9946" tags="" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="1">


    BBC1 HD Terrestrial Timer data is <timer begin="1583778480" end="1583780520" serviceref="1:0:19:4484:4082:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:: BBC ONE HD (T)" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="This Is BBC One HD" description="Please switch over to BBC One for the latest news from your area. Programming will resume on BBC One HD after the bulletin. [HD]" afterevent="auto" eit="10061" tags="This_Is_BBC_One_HD" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="0">

  10. #8

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    could it possibly be the service ref 1:0:1 versus 1:0:19 ???

    I know 1:0:1 is for 1:0:1:... DVB-stream:0:TV
    but ... what is 1:0:19 ?? and why would it be different for two services on the same tuner - would this lead the conflict checker to belive the services are on different tuners.,

    Just guessing here be is that a clue perhaps?

    cheers,
    Paul

  11. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,764
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    1:0:1:1042:1042 is bbc1 sd (set by an autotimer, I think)

    1:0:19:4484:4082 is bbc1 hd, a different mux.

  12. #10

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    So I did another test and the recording failed (thus proving different MUX's:

    2020-03-09 19_22_57-Zgemma H7 - OpenWebif.png

    But... the recordings conflict checker allowed them through and allowed them to be set.

    Recording 1: <timer begin="1583780280" end="1583782320" serviceref="1:0:1:1042:1042:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0::B BC ONE S West (T)" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="The One Show" description="Actors and good mates Ashley Walters and Noel Clarke join Matt Baker and Alex Jones on the sofa. Matt Allwright investigates whether or not coronavirus is making people panic-buy. Also in HD. [S]" afterevent="auto" eit="9948" tags="The_One_Show" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="0">
    <log code="2" time="1583781691">&apos;prepare&apos; failed: error -6</log>
    <log code="10" time="1583781691">backoff: retry in 5 seconds</log>
    <log code="7" time="1583781691">prepare failed</log>
    <log code="8" time="1583781691">currently no PIP active... so we dont need to stop it</log>
    <log code="8" time="1583781691">currently no pseudo recordings active... so we dont need to stop it</log>
    <log code="8" time="1583781691">currently no streaming active... so we dont need to stop it</log>
    <log code="9" time="1583781691">zap without asking</log>
    <log code="13" time="1583781691">ok, zapped away</log>

    Recording 2:<timer begin="1583782080" end="1583784120" serviceref="1:0:19:4484:4082:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:: BBC ONE HD (T)" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="Inside Out" description="The latest eyes on the road. Is dashcam a force for good in catching rogue drivers? And a Tyneside man searching to cure a rare and debilitating condition. [S] [HD]" afterevent="auto" eit="10063" tags="" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="0">


    Recording 3: <timer begin="1583780280" end="1583784120" serviceref="1:0:19:4500:4082:233A:EEEE0000:0:0:0:: Channel 4 HD (T)" repeated="0" rename_repeat="1" name="Channel 4 News " description="Including sport and weather. [S]" afterevent="auto" eit="13218" tags="" disabled="0" justplay="0" always_zap="0" descramble="1" record_ecm="0" isAutoTimer="0">
    <log code="11" time="1583781668">start recording</log>

    This represents 3x seperate MUX's at the same time.:

    2020-03-09 19_30_59-Westward Ho (Devon, England) Freeview Light transmitter _ free and easy.jpg

  13. #11

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,764
    Thanks
    244
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    I'm pretty sure you could disable the sanity check once upon a time, but I can't find how.

    All I've seen is an option to create an autotimer timer as disabled if there's a conflict.

    EDIT: Found it....

    Autotimers/setup/ Show notification on conflicts, defaults to yes.
    Last edited by ccs; 09-03-20 at 20:53.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (09-03-20)

  15. #12

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, Got that. Problem for me though is that the conflict checker is failing to recognise the conflict. I actually want it turned on (which it is in that setting) but rather than miss the conflict, recognise it and flag it up.

    Looks like it will not work for the terrestrial tuner unfortunately. What I wanted to know is whether it was because of the tuner type or if it was because of the custom service profile in abm.

    Thanks for the info though 😊

  16. #13
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    ViX Beta Tester
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,473
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 1,182 Times in 942 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by smipx View Post
    Looks like it will not work for the terrestrial tuner unfortunately.
    It should work.
    I remember debugging it a few years ago when it was incorrectly flagging conflicts (all because python has no block scope) and also a few weeks ago I disabled some tuners while testing something and got quite a few conflicts displayed as a result.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  17. #14

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Birdman, Thanks for that. I decided to start again with ABM; deleted all the bouquets, did a fresh scan of my custom provider and ran a new ABM scan. Then ran a fresh EPG refresh.

    Guess what - the conflict checker works now!! Go Figure.
    Something must have failed on the first round of setting up/scanning that did not fail this time round.
    Very odd but I am relieved :-)

    thanks to all for their inputs and help.

    Paul

  18. #15
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,954
    Thanks
    5,179
    Thanked 7,884 Times in 5,295 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    With one T2 tuner, recording consecutive programs on different mux's fails - eg program 1 ends at 19:00, the same time that program 2 starts. (The tuner is still busy when prog 2 starts).
    Provided there is no overlap, we fixed this some time ago, or at least we did for satellite. Are you 100% sure?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.