View Entry Info: No autostart for Samba

Category:
Possible Bug
What ViX Image build number are you using?
Please provide your ViX Team image build number. Menu > Information > About > Build number > ENTER THIS NUMBER e.g. 4.2.028
5.3.018
Have you tried a flash WITHOUT settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Have you tried a flash WITH settings restore?
Have you tried this? PLEASE SELECT YES OR NO.
No
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: No autostart for Samba

  1. #1
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    837
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 302 Times in 240 Posts

    No autostart for Samba

    In menu -> setup -> network -> utilities -> samba

    After the (couch) update to 5.3.18 I found that samba was stopped and autostart was disabled.

    I can manually start and stop samba and when running I can see the box/HDD over the network on my Windows 10 laptop which indicates taht samba is actually working.

    What I cannot do is to get samba to autostart - it remains in the disabled state. Pressing Yellow to enable autostart has no effect on the setting. A (spinning) VIX symbol is seen for a small fraction of a second.

    The box has been re-booted and also has had a cold boot by removing the mains power for a couple of minutes with no change to autostarting samba. After the re-boot samba is again stopped but can be manually started.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  2. #2

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    I'm still on 5.3.17, and samba autostarts ok. I'll have a try with 018 later today if I get time.

    I have noticed over the last few weeks that samba is sometimes "stopped" (maybe once a week), but always starts again with the yellow button.

    I've been double checking it's running before doing a settings backup + couch flash, I know how awkward it can be to get going again.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (29-02-20)

  4. #3

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    I've couch flashed 5.3.018 (ET10K), and restored settings from 017, having manually stopped samba before taking the settings backup.

    Samba autostarted ok and is running.

    If I spot Samba not running (as opposed to me stopping it) I'll try that process again.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (29-02-20)

  6. #4

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    Just for completeness, I'm now running 5.3.018 with a settings restore from 017 when samba was running ok.

    No problems after a couple of reboots.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (29-02-20)

  8. #5
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    837
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 302 Times in 240 Posts
    Solved.

    Restored .016 from my backup and samba autostart enable/disable working.

    Couch flashed again to .018 and autostart enable again stuck in the disabled state.

    Then restored settings from my .016 backup (menu/setup/backup manager)
    Now both samba manual enable and autostart can be changed.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  9. #6

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    ..... duplicate.
    Last edited by ccs; 29-02-20 at 20:11.

  10. #7

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    Your solution kind of rings a bell, what's odd is that you needed it, but I didn't.

    This one...

    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Flash image without a settings/plugins restore. Start Samba, and then do the settings/plugins restore via backup manager.

    That usually works.


  11. #8
    adm's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    837
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 302 Times in 240 Posts
    As seen before, a couch flash followed by a restore of settings means that all my power timers are duplicated.
    Xtrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  12. #9

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    If I spot Samba not running (as opposed to me stopping it) I'll try that process again.
    Took a settings backup when I noticed Samba had stopped for some unknown reason, flashed 5.3.018 and restored the settings - Samba running ok.

  13. #10

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    Samba was reported stopped again and this is what I've found when I restarted it at 18:27.....

    Code:
    root@et10000:~# cat /var/log/messages|grep mbd 
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]: [2020/03/19 18:21:54.603631,  0] ../source3/nmbd/nmbd_become_lmb.c:397(become_local_master_stage2)        
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]:   *****
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]: 
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]:   Samba name server ET10000 is now a local master browser for workgroup WORKGROUP on subnet 192.168.1.119 
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]:  
    Mar 19 18:21:54 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[620]:   *****
    
    Mar 19 18:27:19 et10000 daemon.err smbd[1073]: [2020/03/19 18:27:19.353513,  0] ../lib/util/become_daemon.c:138(daemon_ready) 
    Mar 19 18:27:19 et10000 daemon.err smbd[1073]:   daemon_ready: STATUS=daemon 'smbd' finished starting up and ready to serve connections   
    Mar 19 18:27:20 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[1082]: [2020/03/19 18:27:20.502235,  0] ../lib/util/pidfile.c:197(pidfile_create)                 
    Mar 19 18:27:20 et10000 daemon.err nmbd[1082]:   ERROR: nmbd is already running. File /var/run/samba/nmbd.pid exists and process id 620 is running.

  14. #11

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    Way OT, but lots of these every minute as well.....

    Code:
    root@et10000:~# cat /var/log/messages|grep ORPHAN |head                                                                                   
    Mar 18 22:15:18 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:22:16 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:23:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:24:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:25:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:26:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:27:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:28:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:29:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 18:30:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    root@et10000:~# cat /var/log/messages|grep ORPHAN |tail                                                                                   
    Mar 19 19:07:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:08:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:09:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:10:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:11:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:12:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:13:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:14:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:15:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    Mar 19 19:16:01 et10000 cron.info crond[656]: (readme.txt) ORPHAN (no passwd entry)                                                       
    root@et10000:~#
    Is this right/should it be there......??

    Code:
    root@et10000:/var/spool/cron/crontabs# cat /var/spool/cron/crontabs/readme.txt                                                            
    To use crontabs, please use the cron manager to setup your crontabs. Alternatively, manually create a file called 'root' and place your required items in there.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              # * * * * *  command to execute                                                                                                           
    #                                                                                                                                         
    #                                                                                                                                         
    #                                                                                                                             
    #      day of week (0 - 7) (0 to 6 are Sunday to Saturday, or use names; 7 is Sunday, the same as 0)       
    #     month (1 - 12)                                                                            
    #    day of month (1 - 31)                                                         
    #   hour (0 - 23)                                                       
    #  min (0 - 59)
    Last edited by ccs; 19-03-20 at 20:34.

  15. #12
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,602
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 706 Times in 547 Posts
    At a guess I'd say that samba is complaining about a user without password being set up on the box. If you use samba server (as opposed to samba client) on the box it expects to work with a list of users (with passwords) if you have user level security set. Also, I noticed that your ET10000 is set to be a local master browser on your WORKGROUP domain. If you have a Windows PC hosting shares on the same workgroup it may cause clashes as Windows boxes like to be the master
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  16. #13
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,478
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 944 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    Way OT, but lots of these every minute as well.....
    Yes, the readme.txt is in the wrong place. But, apart from the log messages, it doesn't affect anything.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to birdman For This Useful Post:

    ccs (20-03-20)

  18. #14

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 638 Times in 553 Posts
    There's another copy of readme.txt in.....

    Quote Originally Posted by birdman View Post
    ...
    ...

    Or read the readme.txt file in /etc/cron/crontabs/.
    ...
    ...
    Post was dated 5 years ago.

    Is enigma likely to use these files (eg via the GUI), or is it safe to get rid of the one in /var/spool/cron/crontabs ?

    I guess it will be recreated after every update.

  19. #15
    birdman's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    5,478
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 944 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I guess it will be recreated after every update.
    It's part of the packaging for whatever cron is in.

    The actual original bug report is:
    Code:
     https://www.world-of-satellite.com/showthread.php?60001-Misplaced-readme-txt-taken-as-a-crontab-file
    (which might have limited access...)
    Last edited by birdman; 20-03-20 at 18:28.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 5(incl. 2 different USBs)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.