Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 41 of 41

Thread: Unicable and dropped recordings

  1. #31

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    Disabled tuner B, rebooted, no change.

    Huevos - should the value be increased or decreased ?

  2. #32

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redrobin View Post
    Disabled tuner B, rebooted, no change.

    Huevos - should the value be increased or decreased ?
    I've just changed mine from 0200 to 0800, and my initial impression is that it has solved my problem as far as Unicable is concerned. Channel changes from one Unicable service to another now take less than one second. Switching from Unicable to a channel on an ordinary DVB tuner takes a couple of seconds -- but switching back to a Unicable channel takes much longer -- eight or nine seconds -- and the "Tune failed" message pops up briefly just before the picture appears. But at least it gets there. I'm now hoping that this will have solved my problem with dropped recordings.

    Much thanks to Huevos!
    GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K (Unicable + multiswitch DiSEqC 1.1/1.0 system); Octagon SF4008; Vu+ Solo4K; Edision OS mio 4K; Inverto Multibox SAT>IP; Wavefrontier toroidal dish

  3. #33
    Huevos's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    8,663
    Thanks
    1,662
    Thanked 3,226 Times in 2,127 Posts
    If you still get the message switching back to the Unicable LNB, add some more delay. You should never get a tune failed message.

  4. #34

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    I've doubled my 'Unicable delay after enable voltage before switch command' to 1600, and it simply increases the delay before the 'Tune failed!' message appears. So it doesn't seem to have helped. My other Satellite equipment setup parameters are all at the default values.

    The delay is not a major nuisance, since the selected channel does appear at the end of it. But I wonder there's some other setting that might have an influence on it.
    GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K (Unicable + multiswitch DiSEqC 1.1/1.0 system); Octagon SF4008; Vu+ Solo4K; Edision OS mio 4K; Inverto Multibox SAT>IP; Wavefrontier toroidal dish

  5. #35

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    In my case, switching between Unicable channels hasn't been a problem, its only switching from the motor back to a unicable channel which causes the 'Tuner failed' message before displaying the channel.
    Changing the parameter doesn't seem to be having any change.

    This has only occured since updating the VIX version (as per my original post).
    Gigablue Ultra UE 4K - GT-Sat GT-dLNB1DY Unicable LNB

  6. #36

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redrobin View Post
    In my case, switching between Unicable channels hasn't been a problem, its only switching from the motor back to a unicable channel which causes the 'Tuner failed' message before displaying the channel.
    That makes two of us, then.
    GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K (Unicable + multiswitch DiSEqC 1.1/1.0 system); Octagon SF4008; Vu+ Solo4K; Edision OS mio 4K; Inverto Multibox SAT>IP; Wavefrontier toroidal dish

  7. #37
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,001
    Thanks
    5,195
    Thanked 7,896 Times in 5,305 Posts
    Try using 2700 value. When you are using the motor, i.e not using unicable LNB, the Unicable LNB goes to sleep. Needs more time to wake up.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Arcy (31-01-20)

  9. #38

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
    2700 has stopped the tune fail message, takes a while to display channel but it's acceptable.

  10. #39

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    Looks like I gave up increasing the value a bit too soon. I've now found that with a value of 1700 I still get the long delay and the 'Tune failed!" message. But with 1800, the message no longer appears and the delay on switching back to Unicable is roughly halved :-) So I've set it to 2000 to allow a bit of a margin.
    GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K (Unicable + multiswitch DiSEqC 1.1/1.0 system); Octagon SF4008; Vu+ Solo4K; Edision OS mio 4K; Inverto Multibox SAT>IP; Wavefrontier toroidal dish

  11. #40

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    As a postscript to the above, I decided to disconnect everything and start all over again, using an Inverto 32-band Unicable II multiswitch (IDLU-UWT110-CUO10-32P). This now feeds 28.2E to all three receivers (GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K, Vu+ Solo 4K and Inverto Multibox SAT>IP server, connected via a three-way Dur-line splitter with power pass) -- which occupy 20 User Bands in all. And I was thrilled to find that they all worked straight away, with (so far) no tuning problems or other interactions, and no interrupted recordings. I am powering the Unicable switch over the downlead, using the supplied PSU and injector, to avoid uncertainty over relying on the receivers for power.

    I don't know what was causing the problems I had earlier, though it can't have been any of the receivers or the Spaun Unicable I switch. Misconfiguration seems the most likely explanation, though I checked my settings no end of times. My thanks to posters in this thread for their advice.
    GigaBlue UHD Quad 4K (Unicable + multiswitch DiSEqC 1.1/1.0 system); Octagon SF4008; Vu+ Solo4K; Edision OS mio 4K; Inverto Multibox SAT>IP; Wavefrontier toroidal dish

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Arcy For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (26-02-20),Huevos (27-02-20)

  13. #41
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,001
    Thanks
    5,195
    Thanked 7,896 Times in 5,305 Posts
    Just for reference, the devices now have the wake time coded into the image. I've been meaning to post updates to the threads.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Arcy (27-02-20)

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.