Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts

    Universal / Legacy Setup to UniCable

    I'm in the process of switching from a Legacy setup to UniCable, however I'm finding it a lot of trouble finding a satellite installer who knows anything about UniCable and are saying to me they "can switch the LNB, but if it doesn't work they still want to get fully paid". Therefore I a wondering if someone can confirm that switching from a "Legacy" setup to UniCable is simply a matter of the following:

    • Having a UniCable LNB
    • Having a compatible UniCable splitter
    • Having a satellite receiver with FBC tuners to fully take advantage of UniCable


    If it is simply a matter of the above I'm tempted to just replace the LNB myself unless anyone can foresee potential problems.

  2. #2
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,713
    Thanks
    5,112
    Thanked 7,765 Times in 5,221 Posts

    Universal / Legacy Setup to UniCable

    FBC tuners are not a requirement.You can use unicable with ordinary tuners on Enigma2 receivers. Some non-enigma2 receivers support them too. But yes, full usage is with both technologies.


    The only thing to be aware of is that the unicable LNB needs an adapter to fit on a Sky mini dish.

  3. #3
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    The only thing to be aware of is that the unicable LNB needs an adapter to fit on a Sky mini dish.
    I take it this only applies if you are using a Sky Zone 1/2 dish? If you are using a "universal" dish no adapter is required, correct?

  4. #4
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,713
    Thanks
    5,112
    Thanked 7,765 Times in 5,221 Posts
    Yes. Sky uses a 38mm collar. Unicable LNBs are 40mm wide. If you are not using a Sky mini dish, the unicable LNB will fit.

  5. #5
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks...I'm set to go.

  6. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If your current setup involves a Quattro LNB and multiswitch, another option is to just change the multiswitch to a Unicable one.

  7. #7
    Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Managed to get this done, but I keep getting the tuned failed message.

    I've read the sticky and changed "Delay after enable voltage before switch command" to 9900, but still no luck. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    Moderator Huevos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    8,588
    Thanks
    1,654
    Thanked 3,200 Times in 2,108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KuchKuch View Post
    Managed to get this done, but I keep getting the tuned failed message.

    I've read the sticky and changed "Delay after enable voltage before switch command" to 9900, but still no luck. Any suggestions?
    "Delay after enable voltage before switch command" -> "Unicable delay after enable voltage before switch command"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.