Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question Google Assistant / Alexa support on OpenViX / Enigma2?

    Hi,

    Just wanted to find whether there are any plans to support Google Assistant and/or Alexa to control Enigma2 satellite boxes?

    I know it's possible to control enigma2 satellite boxes via the and it seems only natural to support the Google Assistant/Alexa services (as well as improving marketability).

    We're at the point now where everything from cheap sensors to air conditioning units having some form of voice assistant support that it seems unusual for an a/v device to still have no support for them despite having a strong use case for it.

    Would be great to find out if anything is in the pipeline?

    Thanks
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 29-12-19 at 15:09.

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,780
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,335 Times in 1,056 Posts
    Hi,
    I do not think that there will be general voice support in the near future. For 4K-VU boxes there is Alexa support but only if you use VTi or ATV image.

    Another options are:
    1. Logitech Harmony with hub then you can control complete home entertainment. Possibilities are limited to what Logitech wants.
    2. Home automation software with Google/Amazon support there you have a lot more freedom than with skills bound to certain brands.

    I use option 2 for 6 month now and I can do almost everything you can imagine.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  3. #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
    Much better to get out of your armchair to change channels on the TV. I press a button for any channel from 1 to 4. it keeps me fit.

  4. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,096
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 341 Times in 272 Posts
    I don't think zapping using alexa would be much fun.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  5. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
    Program would have finished all the lights would be turning on and off , By the time Alexa had managed to select the channel you wanted

  6. #6
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,780
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,335 Times in 1,056 Posts
    Hi,
    I cannot complain. "Alexa BBC on" is all with my home automation software.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Trial For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (29-12-19)

  8. #7
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    2,686
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 614 Times in 531 Posts
    Only my opinion, of course, but I can't think of anything worse than talking to devices.

    Another awful gimmick which seems to be catching people out left, right and centre.
    Last edited by ccs; 29-12-19 at 19:09.

  9. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,096
    Thanks
    217
    Thanked 341 Times in 272 Posts
    It feeds info to google/amazon for them to sell and the sheep are falling for it everywhere. There are enough ways to control an e2 receiver without talking to it.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, VU+ Solo2 running OpenVIX 5.2, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  10. #9
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,703
    Thanks
    5,106
    Thanked 7,761 Times in 5,217 Posts
    If it's so bad, it wouldn't be a selling feature in commercial devices.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (29-12-19)

  12. #10
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    I cannot complain. "Alexa BBC on" is all with my home automation software.

    Ralf
    I use mine all the time but it blanks my Mrs and when she does use it I keep changing what Alexa says when Mrs turns lights on and off she thinks shes going mad

  13. #11
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,703
    Thanks
    5,106
    Thanked 7,761 Times in 5,217 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by v8rick View Post
    I use mine all the time but it blanks my Mrs and when she does use it I keep changing what Alexa says when Mrs turns lights on and off she thinks shes going mad
    Does she have lots of headaches at the wrong time? If so, you know why.

  14. #12
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Does she have lots of headaches at the wrong time? If so, you know why.
    Yea, But her sisters don't LOL (joke)
    Last edited by v8rick; 01-01-20 at 11:39. Reason: Thoght best put joke at end PC world

  15. #13
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    can i ask what automation software you use for your e2? I have been reading into openhab and the http binding setup for openwebif? I've only glossed over some translated German info, could you explain how you have achieved this? p.s. Google is prevalent in my household, not alexa, if this makes a difference??

  16. #14
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 75 Times in 58 Posts
    Can I ask how you've integrated the assistant? I have skimmed over some documents regarding openhab, translated from German, but cant get the general jist of it? could you please explain how you have managed it.

    p.s. "hey google" is dominant in my household, not alexa.

    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    I cannot complain. "Alexa BBC on" is all with my home automation software.

    Ralf

  17. #15
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,780
    Thanks
    104
    Thanked 1,335 Times in 1,056 Posts
    Hi,
    I use a commercial software called IP Symcon.

    There are several free versions like OpenHAB2, FHEM, HA-Bridge, Node-RED and last but not least IO-Broker which can be used to control several devices. I do not know which support Google Home. I think IOBroker might be worth the first look. Advantage of all systems is that you have complete freedom.

    Ralf
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2/Ultimo
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, Elite, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.