Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Problem initialing Hard Drive

  1. #1

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts

    Problem initialing Hard Drive

    I'm trying to setup my Giga Blue satellite receiver and get the following error message whenever I try to initialise the hard drive:
    Error Writing inode tables: 0/14905 done
    Mkfs ext4: input/output error while writing out and closing file system.

    Any suggestions on how to resolve?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by KuchKuch; 16-12-19 at 09:05.

  2. #2
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,160
    Thanks
    2,614
    Thanked 2,074 Times in 1,708 Posts
    You are best initialising the disk straight after the FIW on a fresh install of image (with no restores).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    I'm not trying to do a restore.

    Shall I just do factory reset and try again?

  4. #4
    Andy_Hazza's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    7,160
    Thanks
    2,614
    Thanked 2,074 Times in 1,708 Posts
    Not a factory reset no. Use Image Manager to download the latest image and the flash that, also using Image Manager. Once you’ve completed the FIW and you are presented with the Menu, proceed to Storage and Initialise your HDD.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  5. #5
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,805
    Thanks
    812
    Thanked 774 Times in 601 Posts
    Looks like a hardware issue to me. Have you used this HDD before or did it come pre-installed in the box ?
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  6. #6

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    I haven't used the HDD before. Bought it last week from Scan

  7. #7

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Just tried Image manager and have no luck. It says " Device None available; Press Menu to select storage device". I can't seem to select Downloads or Flash either.

  8. #8

    Title
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,257
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 428 Times in 339 Posts
    You cant use image manager if you don't have a correctly mounted storage device attached. If you cant initialise a new hard drive send it back.
    Octagon SF8008 running OpenVIX 5.3, Darkmotor, Triax TD110 dish, Inverto Black Ultra dual lnb
    LG 50UM7450 4K TV, Pioneer VSX-534 AVR , LG UBK80 4K Bluray & a Playstation 4.

  9. #9
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,977
    Thanks
    776
    Thanked 2,096 Times in 1,598 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KuchKuch View Post
    I haven't used the HDD before. Bought it last week from Scan
    As Ronand has mentioned, its probably not initialised - so use the Windows storage services or in linux gparted to initilise the disk.
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  10. #10
    fat-tony's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,805
    Thanks
    812
    Thanked 774 Times in 601 Posts
    Is the drive spinning up when you power up the receiver? Making clicking noises? Apart from a faulty power or data cable connection to the drive, I would assume it's "dead on arrival" and return it as faulty. Have you used a HDD in the receiver before? You need to isolate whether it's the box or the drive with the problem.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to fat-tony For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (17-12-19)

  12. #11

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twol View Post
    As Ronand has mentioned, its probably not initialised - so use the Windows storage services or in linux gparted to initilise the disk.
    Will give this a shot - What's the best file system to format to for use on OpenVix? Fat32?

  13. #12

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fat-tony View Post
    Is the drive spinning up when you power up the receiver? Making clicking noises? Apart from a faulty power or data cable connection to the drive, I would assume it's "dead on arrival" and return it as faulty. Have you used a HDD in the receiver before? You need to isolate whether it's the box or the drive with the problem.
    I'm gonna connect the HDD to my PC, which will hopefully tell me if it is DOA or not.

  14. #13

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    I can't find my HDD docking station or screwdrivers, so I don't know how to test the HDD at the moment.

    I did find that on Mount Manager the Size, Mount and Type of my HDD is listed as None or Unavailable.

    Should that mean anything?

  15. #14

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    I had a problem with a HDD today getting stuck at 51 percent when initialising.
    I think it was previously formatted to NTFS.

    I used a Windows application called MiniTool Partition Wizard to format it to EXT4 and the problem went away.
    I'd give that a go before sending it back

  16. #15

    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Also, you can download Vix to a USB key to flash a new image

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.