Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts

    Tuner B on 28.2E no longer recognised VU Duo Open Vix 5.3.011

    A strange problem started today, my tuner B ( fixed to 28.2E is no longer recognised (tuner Error). I first thought it was the static sky dish maybe the problem, but then I realised my motorised dish on Tuner A was also not able to get a signal on this satellite. So it cannot be a dish issue, but either hardware or software-related.

    I have done a re-flash with backup so the channel list has been replaced, holding back on a full re-install at this stage.

    Has anyone had this issue or any suggestions that may resolve this problem.

    Any help would be much appreciated

    My details:-

    V U Duo 2
    Fixed Sky Dish on 28.2E
    Motorised 1m Dish
    OpenViX 5.3.011 (2019-11-21)
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  2. #2
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    What is the problem?
    Module (card)
    or
    second tuner on a module.

    Please post a screenshot of Menu > Information> devices to cut to the chase

  3. #3
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi, thanks for the response. I did forget to mention that I am using a one twin tuner module. I have tried removing the coax on both input A and B and the problem is still there, the motorised dish is fine even when coax is removed for input A, but zero signal on (B) which is the 28E satellite.

    B input is configured as simple single.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  4. #4
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi, thanks for the response. I did forget to mention that I am using a one twin tuner module. I have tried removing the coax on both input A and B and the problem is still there, the motorised dish is fine even when coax is removed for input A, but zero signal on (B) which is the 28E satellite.

    B input is configured as simple single.

    Tuner A Vuplus DVB-S NIM(AVL6222) (DVB-S2)
    Tuner B Vuplus DVB-S NIM(AVL6222) (DVB-S2)

    In all cases, 28E on both motorised and single dish is a zero signal.
    Last edited by psionguy; 01-12-19 at 14:12.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  5. #5
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    I am not fully following what you are saying. Are you saying?
    You have only one module. This one module has two connections. Bottom connection is not working.

    If so, have you tried to swap cables and reconfigure based on what is connected to it. Note "and reconfigure". Your post does not say you reconfigured, just that you swapped and problem remained. In any case, the receiver will always select the tuner with fewest satellites.

    My test method would be to enable and configure only one at a time.

  6. #6
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    Here is my screenshot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    Correct it is the configured (B) input which is simple single setup which is a fixed dish for 28E. But interesting if I remove coax from B, the motorised dish on A also gives a zero signal on all channels on 28E as well, but good on all other satellites. The problem is no signall on either the motorised dish or fixed on 28E.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  8. #8
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by psionguy View Post
    Correct it is the configured (B) input which is simple single setup which is a fixed dish for 28E. But interesting if I remove coax from B, the motorised dish on A also gives a zero signal on all channels on 28E as well, but good on all other satellites.
    Did you disable tuner B (set as not configued/nothing connected) when you removed the cable? If you have not, receiver will still try to use it.

    And are you sure you are using Tuner A and motorised when you are doing these tests? Post a picture.

  9. #9
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    Correct it is the configured (B) input which is simple single setup which is a fixed dish for 28E. But interesting if I remove coax from B, the motorised dish on A also gives a zero signal on all channels on 28E as well, but good on all other satellites.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  10. #10
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    Fundamental/basic rule of tuner configuration is that you must configure based on what is currently connected to the tuner. You are not very clear on what you tests method is. People always post on what they had set before, not what they have connected and set.

    Please do the following:
    Label the wire that has the motorised dish. Label the wire that has 28.2 only.
    Disconnect all cables. Disable all tuners. (I am calling this zero stage)

    Test 1.
    Put 28.2 cable in top slot.
    Set tuner A as simple, single 28.2
    Tuner B still disabled

    Do you have a problem receiving 28.2?


    Test 2.
    Zero stage
    Put cable in bottom slot
    Set tuner B as simple, single 28.2
    Tuner A still disabled

    Do you have a problem receiving 28.2?

  11. #11
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    Test 3.
    Zero stage
    Put motorised cable in top slot.
    Set tuner A as motorsied
    Tuner B still disabled

    Do you have problems receiving 19.2e?
    Do you have a problem receiving 28.2?


    Test 4.
    Zero stage
    Put motorised in bottom slot
    Set tuner B as motorised
    Tuner A still disabled

    Do you have problems receiving 19.2e?
    Do you have a problem receiving 28.2?
    Do you have a problem receiving 28.2?

  12. #12
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    Ok, I have disabled the tuner on B (simple single) and now my motorised dish moves to 28E and I now have my channels back, but only one tuner. Do you think there is something wrong with my settings on tuner B, although it has been fine for years on that setting?

    Test 1 fail
    Test 2 Fail
    Test 3 is a pass

    Will Try Test 4
    Last edited by psionguy; 01-12-19 at 14:51.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

  13. #13
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    As mentioned already, tuner config must match what is currently attached to it. Removing a cable and not changing tuner config is wrong.

    Please perform test above exactly as I have listed them and respond. We will know what the problem is instead of assuming. I have invested my time in posting to help you. If you do not wish to conduct the tests as listed, please say so.

  14. #14
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,528
    Thanks
    5,055
    Thanked 7,704 Times in 5,171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by psionguy View Post
    Test 1 fail
    Test 2 Fail
    Test 3 is a pass

    Will Try Test 4
    Sorry to ask, please confirm if you are doing the zero stage between these.

  15. #15
    Senior Member psionguy's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
    I will re-do all test again, can you explain what you mean by zero stage?

    Your help is much appreciated, this issue is new to me, and I have been using V U Duo's for many years and this has never happened before. Steep learning curve on this one.
    Panasonic GT50 TV, Onkyo 626 AV Amp, VU Duo2, fixed dish for Freesat, 1m motorised dish

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.