Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36
  1. #16
    Senior Member bluepassat's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    i have done all of that..... it doesn`t like the rear sata connection but works fine via the rear USB
    Xtrend ET8000 Latest Openvix Image
    Fire TV Stick side loaded Kodi
    Xtrend ET8500 Latest Openvix Image 4.2
    Apple TV silver Openelec
    HTPC Windows 7 Kodi

  2. #17
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,522
    Thanks
    5,054
    Thanked 7,702 Times in 5,169 Posts
    Just to clarify, are we talking about esata or sata?

  3. #18
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,856
    Thanks
    22,824
    Thanked 25,411 Times in 7,361 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    Just to clarify, are we talking about esata or sata?
    SATA, this model has a rear slot to slot in a SATA HDD.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (29-11-19)

  5. #19
    Senior Member bluepassat's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    Guys its a normal sata 2.5 7mm hard drive. and yest its the one that goes in the back of the box at the rear
    Xtrend ET8000 Latest Openvix Image
    Fire TV Stick side loaded Kodi
    Xtrend ET8500 Latest Openvix Image 4.2
    Apple TV silver Openelec
    HTPC Windows 7 Kodi

  6. #20
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 50 Times in 39 Posts
    Glad i came across this thread.

    I own a zgemma twin and installed a sata drive in the back but I have had to re-initialise drive a few times becuae VIX seems to lose it's mount settings.
    I dont' know whether it is after an update. I'm still trying to do more tests as I'm not sure what was happening.
    I'm sure it will happen again so will monitor.

  7. #21
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    19,522
    Thanks
    5,054
    Thanked 7,702 Times in 5,169 Posts
    You don't need to initialise if it is not mounted. You need to remount it.

    Initialise = Format

  8. #22
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 50 Times in 39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    You don't need to initialise if it is not mounted. You need to remount it.

    Initialise = Format
    I tried to but received an eror message 'mount failed'. The ony resort i had was to re-initialise.

  9. #23
    Senior Member bluepassat's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    i have tried the hard drive in my xtrend et8500 running openvix and it formated fine....so it must be the zegemma box
    Xtrend ET8000 Latest Openvix Image
    Fire TV Stick side loaded Kodi
    Xtrend ET8500 Latest Openvix Image 4.2
    Apple TV silver Openelec
    HTPC Windows 7 Kodi

  10. #24
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,360
    Thanks
    704
    Thanked 1,825 Times in 1,401 Posts
    If people are prepared to wait until Sunday (my wife is then away on business) ——> I have been in the process of making changes in this area and have some extensive debug code installed .... my last step is to do some tests with sata drives ...... so will try with my boxes including the H9 Twin and see what it shows
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .........DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) (GB UE 4K)
    Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo+Twin, Octagon SF8008, Multibox using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

  11. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    Andy_Hazza (29-11-19),danlou (30-11-19),Sicilian (30-11-19),widar (30-11-19),Willo3092 (29-11-19)

  12. #25
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,856
    Thanks
    22,824
    Thanked 25,411 Times in 7,361 Posts
    Can't see an issue here, have one on test.

    USB stick in rear USB port mounted to /media/usb.

    Internal SATA mounted to /media/hdd.

    Picons on USB.

    Timeshift enabled to HDD.

    I'll monitor it.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  13. #26
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,856
    Thanks
    22,824
    Thanked 25,411 Times in 7,361 Posts
    Also when initialising you need to make sure theres not a service writing to the HDD, if there is it will fail.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  14. #27
    Senior Member bluepassat's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    ive given up, just going to use the USB
    Xtrend ET8000 Latest Openvix Image
    Fire TV Stick side loaded Kodi
    Xtrend ET8500 Latest Openvix Image 4.2
    Apple TV silver Openelec
    HTPC Windows 7 Kodi

  15. #28
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28,856
    Thanks
    22,824
    Thanked 25,411 Times in 7,361 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluepassat View Post
    so it must be the zegemma box
    Could be or could be the HDD itself or your setup.

    If purchased from WoS contact them, they'll resolve it for you.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, GIGABLUE UHD UE 4K, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  16. #29
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 50 Times in 39 Posts
    when it happens to me next time, i will try and rember what i last did but it has been two occaisons at least where i have had to reinitialise the HDD because it had become unrecognised as media/hdd - it had become just a dev1/sda drive when i went into information. And when i tried to mount it i had the 'mount failed' message. I also tried to select 'use as HDD' but when the zgemma box rebooted it was still as a unrecognised (unmounted) drive.

  17. #30
    Senior Member bluepassat's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    i have a xtrend et8500 and the sata works fine in that box and its never lost its mount
    Xtrend ET8000 Latest Openvix Image
    Fire TV Stick side loaded Kodi
    Xtrend ET8500 Latest Openvix Image 4.2
    Apple TV silver Openelec
    HTPC Windows 7 Kodi

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.