Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

Thread: Flashing a newer image - is everything deleted?

Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Thanks

Flashing a newer image - is everything deleted?

I updated my Openvix image in early September and saw a message telling me that the update to 5.2. something-or-other would be the last of that 5.2 series. It's been running fine until a few days ago when the blue spinner began appearing. The only two add-ons I have are DreamPlex and XTreamTV. XTreamTV is now not working any more, i.e. it will not validate.
    But before I flash my VU+ Duo2 with Openvix 5.3. something-or-other (I have never done such a flash before), and after making a backup using dreamboxEdit), I would like to know whether - after flashing 5.3 from the USB stick - I will then have to get my dear son-in-law to set up DreamPlex and XTreamTV for me again, or are they kept in place? Or is all the necessary information and plugins etc in the backup I make using dreamboxEdit ?

Or could the XTreamTV problem be caused by something else ? My son-in-law also uses it with the same type VU+ and from the provider and his is working fine.

Title
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,925 Times in 3,259 Posts
    Make a backup using OpenViX backup manager.

menu > setup > vix > backup manager.

Now when you flash the new image the first screen you will see should say restore from backup. Select your backup and press ok. Box should restart and immediately be configured how it was previously.
    Help keep OpenViX servers online.Please donate!

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

Helvetica (17-11-19),Sicilian (16-11-19)

Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Thanks