Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: VUULTIMO4K/Harddisk File Sharing Server

  1. #1
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts

    VUULTIMO4K/Harddisk File Sharing Server

    While on ViX 5.3.06 (last week) I discovered to my delight that my TV (Panasonic) had an icon pop up in devices called VUULTIMO4K/Harddisk File Sharing Server. I entered root and a space and was able to watch all the files on the HHD even 4K files which the VU Ultimo doesn't normally handle. The TV automatically handled screen resolutiion/frame rates etc.

    I just updated the software to 5.3.07 and although it appears it logs me in, I cannot see any files.

    Is there something I need to do to enable the newer image to share HDD files as before?

    Please help!
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  2. #2
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    I've been switching between the 2 images and in VIX 5.3.06 I see under Network, Utilities that SAMBA is running, but in VIX 5.3.07 it is not. I can't get it to run either. Could this be the problem?
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  3. #3
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,763
    Thanks
    5,510
    Thanked 8,176 Times in 5,498 Posts
    Yes .

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  5. #4

    Title
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Same problem on Vu+Uno 4k cannot get Samba to start on 5.3.007

  6. #5
    abu baniaz's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    20,763
    Thanks
    5,510
    Thanked 8,176 Times in 5,498 Posts
    have you installed it?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  8. #6
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    Yes, installed and rebooted. Still not working.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  9. #7
    Sicilian's Avatar
    Title
    The Boss
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29,285
    Thanks
    23,131
    Thanked 25,709 Times in 7,514 Posts
    Fine here.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    GIGABLUE UHD QUAD 4K, AX HD61 COMBO, ZGEMMA H9 TWIN, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  11. #8

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,173
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 776 Times in 657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecaretaker View Post
    Yes, installed and rebooted. Still not working.
    This problem crops up from time to time.

    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    The last time it happened to me (probably 2 years ago), a telnet session command opkg update followed by starting/installing samba from the gui worked ok.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  13. #9
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    This problem crops up from time to time.
    Alas, I'm not familiar with how to use Telnet. Do I need to install Putty on my PC to send that command?

    I've re-flashed all versions from 5.3.01 to 5.3.6 (I'm sad I always keep backups of my working setup) and all versions are working apart from 5.3.07. I have noticed that with 5.3.07 there is no /usr/share/samba folder after the install, so guess you are on the right track.

    Any chance of a dummies guide to how to Telnet into the box and initiate the install manually?
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  14. #10

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,173
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 776 Times in 657 Posts
    …. see abu's signature.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  16. #11
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    OK, I ran putty and it produced this:

    Annotation 2019-10-19 154233.jpg

    I went to Network/Utilities/SAMBA and pressed start (green button). The VU+ said it needed to install the packages. I said YES and the Vu+ rebooted.

    I went back to Network/Utilities/SAMBA and the service said it was stopped. I pressed start but nothing happens.

    1_0_19_521C_812_2_11A0000_0_0_0_20191019154421.jpg

    I FTP to the Vu+ and looked for the SAMBA folder in user/shares, but it is still missing.

    Annotation 2019-10-19 154610.jpg

    Checked the shares folder file permission and that is set to 755

    Annotation 2019-10-19 155336.png

    What am I doing wrong?
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  17. #12
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    Just re-flashed 5.3.06 and there is definitely a SAMBA folder in the user/share folder. So why won't it install on 5.3.07?

    06.jpg

    PS: I tried changing the share folder permission to 777 and used putty and start/install and still nothing
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  18. #13

    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3,173
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 776 Times in 657 Posts
    I've just couch flashed 5.3.007 with a settings restore of 5.3.006, and Samba is working ok.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to ccs For This Useful Post:

    thecaretaker (19-10-19)

  20. #14
    thecaretaker's Avatar
    Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern UK
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 94 Times in 48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    I've just couch flashed 5.3.007 with a settings restore of 5.3.006, and Samba is working ok.
    I can't believe I didn't try that... Just did the couch flash, restored settings and all is working fine again. It must be a problem with the upgrade file when you do an update through the box.

    Thank you. I spent more time on this issue than is healthy
    VU+ Ultimo 4K

  21. #15
    twol's Avatar
    Title
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5,911
    Thanks
    770
    Thanked 2,064 Times in 1,574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecaretaker View Post
    I can't believe I didn't try that... Just did the couch flash, restored settings and all is working fine again. It must be a problem with the upgrade file when you do an update through the box.

    Thank you. I spent more time on this issue than is healthy
    I never do a software update —- doing an online image flash and settings restore takes no time - and at the end you have a clean system
    ... but people just believe that software updates are the way to go........(personal view!!)
    Gigablue Quad 4K & UE 4K
    .........FBC Tuners:
    ------------------> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch to 1.5M dish(28.2E)
    ------------------> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 80 cm dish(19.2E)
    .......................> FBC & DVB-S2X into 90cm dish (27.5W) Opticum robust Unicable LNB
    AX HD61, Edision Osmio 4K+, Zgemma H9Combo, Octagon SF8008 using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Zgemma H9 C/S into Giga4K

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.